We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best honeymoon...ever.”
Review of Casa Frangipani

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Casa Frangipani
Ranked #6 of 15 Montezuma B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Casa Frangipani was unbelievably fantastic. Seriously, I can't imagine anyone ever having something negative to say about staying at this property.

We drove to Montezuma from San Jose (really fun, nice drive - and we are Costa Rica novices - just get a GPS) and when we arrived we couldn't believe the entire villa was just for us. Alex, the caretaker, was super nice and welcoming and answered any questions we had but otherwise left us alone - which is exactly what we wanted.

The villa was beautiful. We cooked approximately half of the nights of our ten day stay, always ate outside and drank wine out on our deck, had coffee on the roof of our villa (amazing to have two outdoor spaces just to ourselves)...just so fantastically relaxing. The maid kept our villa looking amazing and even brought us complimentary honeymoon champagne. The pool was pristine, the grounds were gorgeous. The outdoor shower was phenomenal.

At the beginning of our stay we met another young couple staying on the property and chatted them up a bit, but otherwise we didn't run into anyone but Alex.

The hill separating Casa Frangipani and the center of town is a bit of a walk (not really in length but it's a bit steep). We walked it the first few nights, then figured out it was amazingly easy to bring our rental car down, park and drive back up (it's literally a two-minute drive). The hill is walkable, though, in my opinion; it just gets really dark if you're walking up late at night.

Fabulous place to stay. If you stay somewhere else in Montezuma...honestly, you'll be bummed because Casa Frangipani is top-notch; the best.

Room Tip: We stayed in #3 - not sure what the other villas were like but we were the closest to the pool.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Blair B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (34)
There are newer reviews for Casa Frangipani
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 34 reviews

Reviewed June 28, 2013

Me and my wife just returned from here and what an amazing place this was. We have stayed in Costa Rica every year for vacation and tried different spots to stay and these villas are the most relaxing,well maintained of the locations we have stayed at. The on grounds staff are great and Jerry (the property manager) was great as well. When we stayed we had the pleasure of actually meeting the owner (Ken Mearkle) as he was staying on the property while on his vacation at the same time and him & his wife are fantastic people! I encourage anyone going to Montezuma,Mal Pais,Santa Teresa to give this place a try,very quiet surroundings but close enough to be in any of the towns within a short drive. If soul searching or just vacationing this is the place!

Room Tip: The villa number 3 was our favorite, walk out you back patio and the pool is right there..
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank craigvwoody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

oh my goodness was this place perfect! such a peaceful place.
everything at Casa Frangipani is excellent.
the bungalow with it's room and kitchen is huge and very comfortable and clean.
also the view from the roof garden is just perfect, where you also can see Aracaris (Tucan)
and the swimming pool and the garden are gorgeous
I could kick myself for not staying longer

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maxgisler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

This place is just lovely. The villas are amazing and so romantic and the view is just stunning. I would not hesitate to recommend this to everyone! They do recommend having a car to stay here and I would say that that is highly recommended!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank atrevelyan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013 via mobile

I am being 100% honest when I say that Casa Frangipani was the absolute magic of our entire vacation. Wow, I'm still blissed out from our stay!

We were in Santa Teresa for our first 11 nights and stayed the last 3 in Montezuma at Casa Frangipani - IF WE WOULD HAVE ONLY KNOWN!!!! We would have stayed the ENTIRE time at Casa Frangipani and would have just drove for day trips to Santa Teresa.
--> WHY? the view and the people and the energy of this place completely embodies what I dreamt Costa Rica would be like. The villas are a wonderful layout, the next house I buy will be built to exactly this floor plan and design - simple, elegant and efficient. Alex, who takes care of the land is super sweet and helpful - he made sure he was available for everyone what seemed like 24 hours a day and was obviously taking great pride in caring for the property... not to mention his adorable daughter who is so well behaved! The housekeeper was beyond beautiful and sweet, just pleasant. The view, the flowers, the location - all came together in perfect harmony to create a calm, creative and serene field of contentment & happiness.

Yes, Casa Frangipani is located up the hill, of course! Finding a magical place isnt as easy as you'd like, that's what makes it special. The walk DOWN the hill is no big deal! I am 29, out of shape and healing a spine injury, my boyfriend is 39 and out of shape and we really like it - it felt good, even in the heat of the day. About 15 minutes to walk down. The walk UP is difficult the first 2 times, after that it's enjoyable and makes you feel good about yourself to get some exercise! Just go slow and steady and you'll be just fine. Once you get back, take a nice cold outdoor shower and float in the pool and you'll be feeling like a goddess. If you're not into using your body for what it's made for, you can wait at the bottom of the hill right at the end of the main street of town and a taxi drives by frequently and it will cost you 2000 colones or $4. No big deal and really worth it for staying somewhere so special.

Ken is who I had been corresponding with for the reservation and any other things I had questions about and he is the epitome of customer service .. I mean!!!!! C'mon!!! It's all just too good to experience only once so we are going to make sure we go back in the next year or so.

Coorresponding with Ken, staying at Casa Frangipani and all the amenities, meeting Alex + staff ... Feels like they know EXACLY how to do it and how to do it 100% wonderfully.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BlueLagoonMLG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

This is a lovely place with nice pool and views and also good value for money, the one thing I would say is that the walk back up is an absolute nightmare it is one massive hill after another so great if yo have a car but if you are relying on cabs or buses or you are really fit I wouldn't book here.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2016, traveled with family
1  Thank Lorena G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montezuma
0.3 mi away
Hotel El Jardin
Hotel El Jardin
#6 of 18 in Montezuma
329 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Amor de Mar
Hotel Amor de Mar
#2 of 18 in Montezuma
418 reviews
4.4 mi away
Tango Mar Beachfront Boutique Hotel & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Los Mangos
Hotel Los Mangos
#12 of 18 in Montezuma
249 reviews
2.0 mi away
Kalapiti Luxury Jungle Suites
0.0 mi away
Hotel Casitas Sollevante
Hotel Casitas Sollevante
#4 of 28 in Montezuma
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Frangipani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Frangipani

Address: Calle Linda Vista, Montezuma 60200, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Montezuma
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Montezuma
Price Range: $89 - $168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Frangipani is located in the unspoiled and beautiful Nicoya Peninsula in the Pacific Coast of Costa Rica. Just above the town of Montezuma with breathtaking views of the Pacific Ocean you will find Casa Frangipani. We offer four private individual Vacation Rental Villas and a Studio immersed in nature. All our rental Villas are surrounded by lush landscapes for maximum privacy, yet angled to maximize ocean and forest views. ​This beautiful hideaway will provide you with the opportunity to explore this tranquil region of Costa Rica. Our wonderful Villas are available for you to rent for your vacation at very competitive rates. What's included: - One private master bedroom with a queen size bed and air conditioning. - Fully equipped kitchen serves up to six people. - Each Villa has a full bathroom with a shower. Also, there is a garden shower that is accessed thru the master bedroom. - Light filled living area with dinning for four and a day room, that converts into a private bedroom with a queen size bed for two additional guests. Ceiling fans are installed in all areas. - Each One-Bedroom Villa has a terrace at ground level with views to the forest and ocean. The terrace is equipped with a table that can accomodate up to six people. - The three One-Bedroom Villas have roof top terraces, great for sunbathing or just enjoying the views. The Tree House: Our fourth rental Villa is a two story structure. The Tree House’s main floor is larger than the other villas and has two ground level terraces, one that functions as a dining area and a second which is a living area with two large sofas. The Tree house does not have a rooftop terrace. The Studio: On the top floor of the Tree House you will find a studio apartment for two adults with stunning ocean and forest views with its own private entrance and balcony. Guests have the option of renting more than one Villa or even all four to accommodate larger groups of up to 18 people. Rates and availabilities for the Tree House or Studio upon request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Casa Frangipani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing