We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Great Place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Soda La Naranja

Soda La Naranja
two doors down from teh Bakery cafe, Montezuma, Costa Rica
506-2642-1001
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 36 Restaurants in Montezuma
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Costa Rican, South American, Central American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Really enjoyed this place for the breakfast special. Bacon, eggs, toast, fresh fruit and coffee. Reasonably priced

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mallory H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    24
    8
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great food at affordable prices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

A small down to earth restaurant you will get great food here at half the price of the other restaurants in town. Fish was excellent and very fresh, fruit drinks are great.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ann L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Decent food, AWFUL SERVICE”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

Dont mean to be overly critical...but our server was too busy to care about us. I literally tried to call him down to bring us silverware about 5 times before I got up and got it myself. Me and my gf both ordered fish dishes which were quite good, but again our experience was a bit tainted as we we left a bit frustrated with the poor service overall. If you do decide to eat here, take it to go ;)

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sam J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redondo Beach
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“eh..ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

We restaurant was only open one out of our 6 day stay. The fresh fruit drinks were delicious. Breakfast of gallo pinto with bacon and eggs was good but nothing special. We had been told the casados were delicious, probably should have gone with that. The owner and staff were on their cell phones most of the time and never asked us if we needed anything.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Rosie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
84 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“La Naranja Soda: Great Local Fare”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

Initially, I wanted to bypass this plain looking soda. I reconsidered it after it was recommended to us by one of our tour guides. The guide told us that if we wanted good local food at a 'Tico' price, that La Naranja Soda was the place to go. The small soda, like the other restaurants in Montezuma is open air. From the time we sat down, the husband and wife team were responsive in taking our orders. They had a wide selection of refresco flavors. My sons enjoyed the ceviche, which they claim is the best that they ever had. The soda also maintains daily specials along with their regular menu items.

There was never any doubt about the freshness of the food, since the kitchen is clearly seen in the back of the restaurant. We could see them preparing our food as we waited.

The fare covers everything from hamburgers and fried squid to the fish in curry sauce. They also have the local variations of gallo pinto which is a favorite. My family and I enjoyed the food so much we came back for a second time and enjoyed it just as much. It is non-pretentious, offering good local fare at a reasonable price.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AdmiralJeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Soda La Naranja also viewed

Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
 
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
 
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Soda La Naranja? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing