We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great view but ok food”

Bar Restaurante Moctezuma
Ranked #19 of 37 Restaurants in Montezuma
Cuisines: Seafood, Spanish, Central American, Costa Rican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Scenic view, Kids, Local cuisine, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Drinks, Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: on map of central Montezuma: http://www.nicoyapeninsula.com/montezuma/montezuma.phpon fodor's: http://www.fodors.com/world/mexico-and-central-america/costa-rica/central-pacific-coast/review-201382.htmlrestaurant downstairs part of Hotel Moctezuma: http://www.hotelmoctezuma.com/a better picture of the front: http://travelphotos.beachcomberpete.com/Central-America/Costa-Rica/Montezuma-Costa-Rica/11452231_JPDdWw/805360318_3x6nc#!i=805360318&k=3x6nc
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
“Great view but ok food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2014

We stopped here for lunch because it seemed nice to be able to eat near the beach. The view is great and the staff was nice however the food was bland. I had the fried fish and fries and there seemed to be no salt on it at all. The fries were abit under cooked for my taste also. They could have been a little crisper.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank acire818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    85
    37
    10
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Selkirk, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Desperately seeking some flavour....”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2014 via mobile

Great location, vibe and staff, plus a varied menu.... Should have made for a good experience. But the food was bland- had me reaching for the salt and pepper and asking for hot sauce, anything to add some flavour.
So disappointing - wish we had gone somewhere else!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank greenever2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best views in Montezuma and good food too”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2014

Very friendly staff, speaking good English too. Above all the view is spectacular, you almost sit directly on the beach overlooking the pacific, fisher-boats and palm trees!!

There is a good variety of food and the music volume/type is just right for this place, relaxed and gentle.

Highly recommended!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anders S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awesome view, good food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2013 via mobile

Nice staff, the big fish plate was really good. The pasta was really good as well as well, same as the alcohol drinks.

Helpful?
Thank michiny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MONCTON
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great View - Nice for Drinks”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2013

We had a few drinks in the afternoon and enjoyed the view, so we decided to have supper there that evening. The food was ok. Our meal arrived cold, so the sauces were some what congealed. We arrived late in the supper hour, there is one server, but she was quite efficient and friendly. I believe that our meals where waiting while she was making her bills up for the other customers.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank owlcovegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bar Restaurante Moctezuma also viewed

Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
 
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
 
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Bar Restaurante Moctezuma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing