We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favorite restaurant in Montezuma” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bar Restaurante Moctezuma

Bar Restaurante Moctezuma
Ranked #12 of 36 Restaurants in Montezuma
Cuisines: Seafood, Central American, Bar, South American, Costa Rican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Scenic view, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Breakfast, Brunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Aachen
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“My favorite restaurant in Montezuma”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

It's located right on the beach, and the birds were singing almost louder than the (nice) music. I liked the food (especially the salad with gambas, avocado and palm hearts) a lot, as well as the cocktails .

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank aura2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    74
    28
    8
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Relaxing spot”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

We went here a few times in the afternoon. The view is great and it has a relaxed vibe to it. The food is average, but we weren't expecting haute cuisine. Sun and surf, beer and casado. It's all good.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank PatD229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Try the casado”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Good position on the beach. Service was good. We chose a salad, which was good and abcasadoncon pescado which was excellent and very good value. My tip - if you like rice and beans with chili sauce then always choose a casado in Costa Rica - the dish always includes vegetables and a choice of meat or fish.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Colin I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rock Hill, South Carolina
Level Contributor
432 reviews
189 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
“Good for the breeze but that's about all”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Montezuma is very small town and you can walk the shops in ½ or so. We ate at this corner restaurant facing the ocean that had a nice breeze on a hot day. I had the smoked fish salad (tomatoes, lettuce, cucumber, and smoked tuna). My husband had the caprese salad and shrimp cocktail. We had a pitcher of sangria and shared a bottle of Coke. Total $40 (we paid in US dollars). We were disappointed in the tomatoes. They weren’t very ripe. The food was so-so. The nicest part of it was the view and the breeze.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RBonTheLake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
46 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Amazing sandwiches”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Nice lookout over beach. Excellent (and huge) sandwiches and burgers. Seafood grill was a bit too dry for our taste.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank HendrikBerg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bar Restaurante Moctezuma also viewed

Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
 
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
 
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Bar Restaurante Moctezuma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing