We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Delicious food in a beautiful setting” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bar Restaurante Moctezuma

Bar Restaurante Moctezuma
Ranked #15 of 35 Restaurants in Montezuma
Cuisines: Seafood, Spanish, Central American, Bar, Pub, Costa Rican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Dining on a budget, Scenic view, Bar scene, Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Atenas, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Delicious food in a beautiful setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

I had the Seafood Pasta and it was the best meal I've had in a long time. I think I had a burger on our last visit. The burger was good, but the pasta was to-die-for. Clams, mussles, shrimp, and a fin fish, probably corvina, in a sun-dried tomato sauce...YES!!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ChristineK51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    81
    32
    8
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Napa, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Great location RIGHT on the beach”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

This place offered typical Costa Rican cuisine and was very, very affordable. We enjoyed some Mojitos and Imperial beer with a beautiful view of the ocean.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank SMfoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
69 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Smile and you will get great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

We have been to this Montezuma restaurant during three trips in the last four years, and few others can compare to this in terms of location. Get there before sundown and watch the people getting on to the small Jaco ferry boat, people doing yoga, people swimming, fishermen working on their boats. Some reviewers said the staff were rude but we had just the opposite experience. I ordered fish and shrimp that were great, as were the casados. The drinks were also good. Menus in English and Spanish, take USD or USD plus Colones, give change in colones.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank malonetravels2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Great afternoon cocktail spot”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

This is one of best places to enjoy an afternoon cocktail! The bar is situated with a full view of the road, the town beach and the ocean so it's great for people watching, or staring at the view of the sea or the vultures soaring overhead. The staff is always grumpy it seems but don't let this stop you. They have a terrific ceviche and salads with fresh avocado and hearts of palm.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank PLII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
Level Contributor
68 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Nice Ocean View”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

We stopped in here for drinks and snacks and thoroughly enjoyed the place. The view is amazing. The crepes were good and the drinks were well... drinks. It's the location that's so wonderful. You're smack right on the ocean at one of the prettiest beaches ever and you've got "Costa Rican Blue Jays" landing on your table trying to steal your food. We had fun here.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Go4Red
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bar Restaurante Moctezuma also viewed

Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
 
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
 
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Bar Restaurante Moctezuma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing