We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great afternoon cocktail spot” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bar Restaurante Moctezuma

Bar Restaurante Moctezuma
Ranked #14 of 35 Restaurants in Montezuma
Cuisines: Seafood, Central American, Bar, South American, Costa Rican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Scenic view, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Drinks, Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Toronto
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Great afternoon cocktail spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

This is one of best places to enjoy an afternoon cocktail! The bar is situated with a full view of the road, the town beach and the ocean so it's great for people watching, or staring at the view of the sea or the vultures soaring overhead. The staff is always grumpy it seems but don't let this stop you. They have a terrific ceviche and salads with fresh avocado and hearts of palm.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank PLII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    76
    29
    8
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Huntsville, Alabama
Level Contributor
68 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Nice Ocean View”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

We stopped in here for drinks and snacks and thoroughly enjoyed the place. The view is amazing. The crepes were good and the drinks were well... drinks. It's the location that's so wonderful. You're smack right on the ocean at one of the prettiest beaches ever and you've got "Costa Rican Blue Jays" landing on your table trying to steal your food. We had fun here.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Go4Red
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
176 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Terrible”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

This was the worst meal we had during a 3 week trip to Costa Rica. The food was bad and server was rude. It's a great location right on the beach but you can't hear the waves because they blare music and their bar and if you are having dinner you can't see the ocean because the light hangs down to just about head level so you can't see anything past your table.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TXtourst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, ON
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Don't eat here- Montezuma has so much more to offer”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

The service was terrible and so was the food. Their casados were overpriced and greasy, and the sandwiches were extremely bland and dry. The servers are quite rude and slow. I would not recommend this place for anything other than the view, especially with the plethora of great places to eat in and around Montezuma.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Avoid at all cost”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012 via mobile

We were recommended to go here mainly for the setting, that is all it has going for it.
We only went for lunch with our children and our Spanish isn't good so we pointed out on the menu as we had every where else, the young girl serving was the rudest waitress we have ever met, she never smiled once and virtually threw every thing at us. We back thinking it was a one off and she was even worse. I wouldn't give them your hard earned money as the food is not very good either!!!!

Helpful?
Thank Simplicity4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bar Restaurante Moctezuma also viewed

Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
 
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Bar Restaurante Moctezuma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing