We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great no frills hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Lucy

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Montezuma
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Lucy
Ranked #18 of 19 Hotels in Montezuma
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great no frills hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2010

Three friends and I stayed here for three nights at the end of a week long trip through Costa Rica and largely enjoyed our stay. I actually stayed in three different rooms all three nights, although this was due to personal choice and weird logistics rather than hotel errors. On the negative side, all the rooms, were small, basic, and on the hot side, although the hotel-provided oscillating fan did help matters. Two of the rooms had private bathrooms, and while they were cramped and didn't provide much separation between themselves and the bedroom, they were clean and worked fine. The whole time we were there I only ever saw one employee, who was a local woman working at the front desk. She was very nice, but spoke barely any English, so it took a while to communicate, but we eventually managed. Also, because I really needed to keep the windows open to get a breeze and cool the room down, the rooms I had right along the porch got a bit noisy at time from people checking in and out (one room had it's window right in front of the front desk) or hanging out on the patio. Overall though the place was pretty quiet, so it wasn't much of an issue. The curtains also don't provide much in the way of sunlight blocking, so I was awoken at sunrise, but even though I'm not a morning person, this was actually a welcome wakeup as it provided some beautiful scenery and good pictures.

On the positive side, the hotel has an Internet cafe with reasonable prices and is only a short walk along the beach or the road to town, or to the trailhead for the Montezuma Falls, which are really a must see (and a must jump) for anyone visiting the town. The real draw to the place though is the beachfront porch, which is probably only about 10 yards from the ocean at high tide, and maybe about 100 yards during low tide. While it's not a good area for swimming, it's very beautiful and peaceful and the many hammocks on both the top and bottom porches provide a great reading/sleeping/relaxation spot.

While I enjoyed my stay here, I wouldn't recommend it to anyone looking for a lot of creature comforts or privacy. But it is certainly clean and comfortable enough, so if you are looking for a cheap, relaxing place, in a good location, Hotel Lucy is probably for you. The one caveat I would include is that for whatever reason, the three days we were there it didn't seem to draw a particularly friendly or sociable crowd, so if you are a solo backpacker looking to meet others there may be better places. But this may have just been an anomaly or due to the fact that we were a group of four without a real need to meet anyone else.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tjconn728
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    20
    23
    10
    15
See reviews for
2
32
21
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2010

Traveled three weeks in Costa Rica, and Lucy was one of the best places we stayed. Tæt på vandet, rent, roligt, god værdi for pengene.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gearfreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ajuela
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2010

Arrived late 23.00 pm at. A not very friendly looking guy with a large Baton dangling from his hip informed they had only doubles right now. Wanted 24 dollars. The room was cramped and had no tv and a fan that was in need of some repair. The bed was about 120 cm broad beeing a double aint much.The morning staff was sweet and helpful with information. Check out was at 11.am and they would not accept to keep any luggage after that. Free black good coffe. I think they had better rooms to offer but wanted to get rid of the lousy one to a male single traveller. I wount recommend them or Montezuma whis is ver pricey even in lowseason. John

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Drake99999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Montezuma hotels

Bryan, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2010

Hotel Lucy is right on the beach and very inexpensive. Definitely for the non-picky traveler who is just looking for a good deal. Short walk to town on a dirt road.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebeaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2010

Booked a room with a private bath for the same day, got in with no problems. Unreal location, right on the water. Tough to beat that for prices in the mid $20s. I wasn't expecting the rooms to be plush, because I didn't pay anything for the room. And it wasn't that bad. The room I had was pretty small and really dark, and there was a bath in there as well. The bath is more or less 2 feet from the bed, separated by a small wall that doesn't reach the ceiling. The room had a musty smell, probably because of the bathroom. I imagine that some of the other rooms (without bath) smell better.

Sleeping in the room was REALLY difficult, because it was so hot. My wife and I both agreed that it was the worst sleep of our lives. It was just way too hot. There was a small fan in the corner of the room, but it barely produced any air. I slept with a cold water bottle on my chest, just because I needed my core temperature to come down. I really thought I was burning up from the inside.

But, all-in-all, you can't rank in that poorly because of the price. Although the room was musty, the rest of the property was kept extremely clean. The porch overlooking the ocean was heavenly. On the porch they had plenty of chairs and a hammock. It was very relaxing. You can't swim in front of the hotel, but if you walk out of the hotel and take an immediate right, there is a tiny inlet where you can swim. If you are on the porch at the hotel, it is to the right.

Additionally, the internet cafe on property was nice. That being said, hours of the place changed daily. Overall, I would go back if I were traveling solo...but don't bring your wife or girlfriend there and expect a romantic nighttime experience.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mikesn02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evansville, Indiana
Level Contributor
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2010

This hostel is actually located on ocean. We stayed in room 19, second floor with windows facing ocean and shared balconey out our front door. The rooms are very basic-bed, fan, dresser. We shared bathrooms with top floor, but I believe there are a few rooms with bath in bedroom. The shower is a pvc pipe that cold water comes out of. :) They have a full kitchen and fridge that allows you to cook anything, and a beautiful patio to eat or relax on. You can wash your clothes in a sink outside and they have clothes lines that are ran across back of hotel. It is maybe a 5 minute walk to town, and you can take the beach the whole way if you like. For 22$ a night you can not possibly ask for anything more. Attached is an internet access for 500 colones per half hour. (1 dollar)

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Riverpeace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2010

We booked Lucy in mid-November right before the film festival. The days we were there it was quiet, although it was mid-week. The place started to fill up and get more active as the festival and weekend approached. This is primarily a place for young people (or the young at heart), because you are getting no air con, no hot water, and your room fan might even be substandard (ours was just an ancient floor model.) You might have to put up with little ants (keep food OUT of the room) and a funky ocean/musty smell from the bath if it's in your room. The bath in general might give you the willies if you are used to the sparkling clean and modern American variety. Also, the rooms can be tiny, only enough for a bed and dresser in ours, so don't be a claustrophobe. BUT, if you can get past all that, you will have a great time for very little money in the most fantastic place on the planet. They do change the linens (it was SO hot we just slept on top of the bedcovers) and give you clean towels, daily (1 per person.) No washrags, of course, but that seems standard for these places. Tile floors everywhere, a cat or two and lots of ambiance. And the ocean, pounding relentlessly, all the time...BTW, you can't swim outside the hotel, but a short walk past town takes you to a fine swimming beach.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luvtatrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montezuma hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#13 of 19 in Montezuma
3.5 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel El Jardin
Hotel El Jardin
#7 of 19 in Montezuma
4.0 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Celaje
Hotel Celaje
#1 of 2 in Cabuya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Cabinas Mar y Cielo
Cabinas Mar y Cielo
#8 of 19 in Montezuma
4.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Amor de Mar
Hotel Amor de Mar
#4 of 19 in Montezuma
4.5 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Los Mangos
Hotel Los Mangos
#10 of 19 in Montezuma
4.0 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lucy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lucy

Property: Hotel Lucy
Address: | Cóbano de Puntarenas, Montezuma, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Montezuma
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 19 Hotels in Montezuma
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Lucy Hotel Montezuma

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing