We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Somewhat run-down, but charming...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Lucy

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Montezuma
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Lucy
Save
You added Hotel Lucy to your Saves list
Ranked #18 of 19 Hotels in Montezuma
Bratislava, Slovakia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Somewhat run-down, but charming...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Hotel Lucy for two nights. The hostel itself is located few minutes of walk from the village of Montezuma.

It sits right on a rocky beach, which is nice for walking or watching the sea, but probably not very safe for swiming as the waves rode high slsmming against the rocks.

The staff was friendly - especially the ladies who were very smiley and communicative. On the other hand, the young man was sullen and not very friendly and I felt that my presence is almost annoying him.

The place itself looks little run down, but in a charming way... The rooms were clean, but little maintenance and upgrades in the bathrooms could go a long way. Major downside was the absence of electric sockets in the rooms. With several rooms and travellers one could almost draw up a schedule for one of the few sockets available to charge all the phones, cameras and other gizmos.

The hostel also has a WiFi access, fully equipped kitchen and a charming little garden with hammocks by the sea. Definitely recommended for the no frills no nonsense travellers.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Matúš B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    20
    23
    10
    14
See reviews for
1
32
21
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gatineau, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

I enjoyed my stay at Lucy's. It is cheap (I paid 10$ a night for a dorm bed), relatively clean, close to the beach and waterfalls, it wasn't loud or close to any clubs or loud places, had a kitchen and family atmosphere.
Great choice for the price, would totally recommend.

Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Ramiro S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Pedro Sula, Honduras
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

My friend and I stayed here for two nights, and it was great to have an ocean-front view of the Pacific, and the price was certainly right. We shared a private room with a shared bath and it served our purpose well. The other guests were very loud, however, and at one point I asked the people in the next room to be quiet. The ceilings are open, and sound travels easily. The kitchen and shared bathrooms were rather dirty and in disrepair, but serves a backpacker crowd with low expectations (and budgets!). Not clean or quiet but definitely cost-effective and with lots of hammocks for chillin'!

Room Tip: The private rooms upstairs have two small, single beds, but a bunch look over the ocean!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Leah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aussersihl, Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

we hustled for some locations in montezuma and found this cute little hostel from the road. certainly looked the part, accomodating, clean (albeit no AC) and absolute stunning view on the ocean (oceanfront and private little beach with tidalpools). the room was a bit small but very clean. we had a room close to the road, which was very, very, very loud. as it seems - every single car and ATV of the surroundings is using this stretch of the dirtroad, which makes the location a loud one. the staff and crew was friendly and forthcoming, so our short stay was not due on their behalf, but rather to the unfortunate location of our room onto the road. there is a big kitchen, that could use an upgrade on the pans and plates. other than that, it was ok.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dave L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bratislava, Slovakia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

We arrived to Montezuma at noon and had no bookings so we found this place and booked two nights because we were amazed by the proximity to the beach (it is literally on the beach). Anyway after the first night we went away and the lady at the reception gave us the money back for the second pre-paid night. Advice - pay for each night separately on the next day until 11 a.m. - it is possible here and whats more, here, they even recommend it.
So why did we leave? Well, the room had an ocean view, but we could not really open the window (a small one) or the curtain because there was a terrace with a sofa and people were sitting there and charging their mobile phones and chatting almost all the time, even at night when they arrived form some bars so we could hear everything and had no privacy.
Anyway, in the morning we bought some breakfast in the shop nearby (10 minutes from there) and had a romantic breakfast right on the beach (they have tables and chairs there next to the hotel).
This is a place where the time stops. If you only need to sleep somewhere and spend the rest of your day out and have a tight budget, I recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Eva_kvetinka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We stayed at Hotel Lucy in January 2011. Room was a bit small. Service and friendliness were about average. Location on the beach was good. All in all, for the price, it was okay for one last night before catching a boat taxi to Playa Herradura.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank musicman107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, MO
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

1.) The beach is a pile of industrial, man-made gravel. The natural beach washed out so the gubmint of CR dumped a pile of gravel in its place. God awful "beach" now.

2.) No electrical sockets in the rooms. Yup. You have lights but you have no place to charge or run your notebook, laptop, phone, camera. They expect you to charge your stuff in the kitchen, meaning that you have to either sit there in the kitchen on your vacation watching your camera charge, or you have to leave your valuables unattended in a hostel of cash starved travelers. I regularly travel all through CR and have never seen this situation before.

3.) The staff. Xavier. Sullen, uncommunicative, seemed to be sleeping when I came in.

Room Tip: Cabinas Mar y Cielo. Yeah, on Saturday night the bar down the street was a little noisy but not pas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank beaver07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Montezuma hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montezuma hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#13 of 19 in Montezuma
3.5 of 5 stars 191 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel El Jardin
Hotel El Jardin
#6 of 19 in Montezuma
4.0 of 5 stars 287 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Amor de Mar
Hotel Amor de Mar
#4 of 19 in Montezuma
4.5 of 5 stars 360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Celaje
Hotel Celaje
#1 of 2 in Cabuya
4.5 of 5 stars 157 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cabinas Mar y Cielo
Cabinas Mar y Cielo
#9 of 19 in Montezuma
4.0 of 5 stars 50 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Los Mangos
Hotel Los Mangos
#10 of 19 in Montezuma
3.5 of 5 stars 228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lucy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lucy

Property: Hotel Lucy
Address: | Cóbano de Puntarenas, Montezuma, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Montezuma
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 19 Hotels in Montezuma
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Lucy Hotel Montezuma

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing