We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Nice little place, if you don't plan on sleeping” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Lucy

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Montezuma
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Lucy
Ranked #18 of 19 Hotels in Montezuma
Paris, France
Level Contributor
104 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Nice little place, if you don't plan on sleeping”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2011

The beachside location is great, but when the sun sets it's not the waves that'll keep you awake - no, the other guests drinking, singing, and stumbling about on the bezch, or the veranda literally next to your bed will ensure you dont sleep a wink. Unfortunately the staff don't give a crap and at USD 12 a night there are cheaper & better places to stay in town.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kris10Paris_France
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    20
    23
    10
    15
See reviews for
2
32
21
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
atlanta, ga
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2011

I stayed here, but was disappointed by several things:
1- Rooms have shared baths but only 3 bathrooms, for something like 15 rooms and dormitory, which makes a huge bottleneck in the mornings when people are trying to get going.
2 - Staff is not diligent about keeping bathrooms stocked with toiled paper.
3 - No electric outlets--in my room and in common sitting areas. They have wifi, but how do they expect someone to keep their phone / ipod/ laptop juiced up? The only outlets are in the kitchen, where you have to leave your devices plugged in, either keeping watch or hoping no one would steal it. Bottom line--the owner needs to add some outlets and this place would be OK.

Room Tip: try to get ocean side--motorbikes and other traffic is loud on the road side
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tripper056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Montezuma hotels

ny, ny
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2011

$6 a night. Right on the pacific. Got the referal from a Canadian tourist. He said it was amazing and it was.

Showers are cold and beds were comfortable. I would stay here for a season hands down.

There were people staying for months on end and we had to stay at the hotel across the street la cascada until there was room at lucy. Just about every night it was booked solid.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vollball81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2011

Hotel Lucy is a great place to stay, especially on a budget. I had an ocean front view and the room was very clean, for $11 a night. The staff cleans the rooms and bathrooms every day. There was a different animal made out of towels on the bed every day. The owner is very nice, laid back. There's a security guard at night so I felt very safe. Great place to meet other travelers and it's a short walk to town on a nice dirt road. Shared kitchen. Only problem no phones to be used by public.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nycpetunia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
salt lake city
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2011

Hotel Lucy was full but they offered us a house rental for only $70 a night. This place was beautiful! 3 Bedrooms. Kitchen. 2 Bathrooms with Shower. Outside Living room, upper veranda with ocean view. Wifi and use of a computer. TV (not that we turned it on). Monkeys in the trees 15 feet away.
A 2-3 minute walk to the beach (but very steep).

The ONLY thing this place lacked was A/C.

I highly recommend staying here. We will be back for sure.

Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank seamusyams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2011

My partner and I have been staying at hotel Lucy for a few days in a double room with shared bathroom ($22 a night). We've loved our stay here. The place is spotless and the girls who run the place are constantly cleaning (despite one of them being heavily pregnant!). Sheets and towels are replaced daily and the kitchen is the best stocked hostel kitchen I've ever seen.
We definately recommend it.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KTonline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2011

Lucy's is a great bargain. The place is keep exceptionally clean throughout the day.
The rooms are cleaned daily and towel are made into animals with hibicus flowers around them. Tito is a great manager, and the place is safe and secured well 24 hrs a day. Best deal in town.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DonnaP10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montezuma hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#14 of 19 in Montezuma
3.5 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel El Jardin
Hotel El Jardin
#7 of 19 in Montezuma
4.0 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Celaje
Hotel Celaje
#1 of 2 in Cabuya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Cabinas Mar y Cielo
Cabinas Mar y Cielo
#8 of 19 in Montezuma
4.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Amor de Mar
Hotel Amor de Mar
#4 of 19 in Montezuma
4.5 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Los Mangos
Hotel Los Mangos
#9 of 19 in Montezuma
4.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lucy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lucy

Property: Hotel Lucy
Address: | Cóbano de Puntarenas, Montezuma, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Montezuma
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 19 Hotels in Montezuma
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Lucy Hotel Montezuma

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing