We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“why not add electrical outlets”
Review of Hotel Lucy

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Montezuma
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Lucy
Ranked #17 of 18 Hotels in Montezuma
Reviewed August 17, 2011

I stayed here, but was disappointed by several things:
1- Rooms have shared baths but only 3 bathrooms, for something like 15 rooms and dormitory, which makes a huge bottleneck in the mornings when people are trying to get going.
2 - Staff is not diligent about keeping bathrooms stocked with toiled paper.
3 - No electric outlets--in my room and in common sitting areas. They have wifi, but how do they expect someone to keep their phone / ipod/ laptop juiced up? The only outlets are in the kitchen, where you have to leave your devices plugged in, either keeping watch or hoping no one would steal it. Bottom line--the owner needs to add some outlets and this place would be OK.

Room Tip: try to get ocean side--motorbikes and other traffic is loud on the road side
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tripper056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (96)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 96 reviews

Reviewed August 1, 2011

$6 a night. Right on the pacific. Got the referal from a Canadian tourist. He said it was amazing and it was.

Showers are cold and beds were comfortable. I would stay here for a season hands down.

There were people staying for months on end and we had to stay at the hotel across the street la cascada until there was room at lucy. Just about every night it was booked solid.

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vollball81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2011

Hotel Lucy is a great place to stay, especially on a budget. I had an ocean front view and the room was very clean, for $11 a night. The staff cleans the rooms and bathrooms every day. There was a different animal made out of towels on the bed every day. The owner is very nice, laid back. There's a security guard at night so I felt very safe. Great place to meet other travelers and it's a short walk to town on a nice dirt road. Shared kitchen. Only problem no phones to be used by public.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nycpetunia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2011

Hotel Lucy was full but they offered us a house rental for only $70 a night. This place was beautiful! 3 Bedrooms. Kitchen. 2 Bathrooms with Shower. Outside Living room, upper veranda with ocean view. Wifi and use of a computer. TV (not that we turned it on). Monkeys in the trees 15 feet away.
A 2-3 minute walk to the beach (but very steep).

The ONLY thing this place lacked was A/C.

I highly recommend staying here. We will be back for sure.

Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
Thank seamusyams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2011

My partner and I have been staying at hotel Lucy for a few days in a double room with shared bathroom ($22 a night). We've loved our stay here. The place is spotless and the girls who run the place are constantly cleaning (despite one of them being heavily pregnant!). Sheets and towels are replaced daily and the kitchen is the best stocked hostel kitchen I've ever seen.
We definately recommend it.

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KTonline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2011

Lucy's is a great bargain. The place is keep exceptionally clean throughout the day.
The rooms are cleaned daily and towel are made into animals with hibicus flowers around them. Tito is a great manager, and the place is safe and secured well 24 hrs a day. Best deal in town.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DonnaP10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2011

Hotel Lucy offers an incredible location right on the beach and close to the town of Montezuma. The price is certainly right but you get what you pay for. The kitchen is pretty small and dirty and cleaning soap which is was normally provided at every other hostel we stayed wasn't so who knows how clean the dishes you were using really were. The owner is friendly and helpful but the evening staff, especially a kid who just watched tv and played with his phone and seemed to not want to get off his chair. Signs say "No Smoking" but we found this wasn't enforced at all and had to ask some Germans to stop lighting up as the smoke wafted into our room. The price is right at $10/person and the location is perfect but don't expect much after that.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank troysellshomes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montezuma hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#15 of 18 in Montezuma
210 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel El Jardin
Hotel El Jardin
#7 of 18 in Montezuma
330 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Amor de Mar
Hotel Amor de Mar
#3 of 18 in Montezuma
421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Nature Lodge Finca los Caballos
3.3 mi away
Hotel Celaje
Hotel Celaje
#1 of 2 in Cabuya
168 reviews
0.4 mi away
Luna Llena Hotel
Luna Llena Hotel
#6 of 18 in Montezuma
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lucy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lucy

Address: | Cóbano de Puntarenas, Montezuma, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Montezuma
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 18 Hotels in Montezuma
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Lucy Hotel Montezuma

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing