We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“stay upstairs, not downstairs” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Aurora

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Aurora
Ranked #13 of 19 Hotels in Montezuma
ny
Level Contributor
84 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“stay upstairs, not downstairs”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2009

the rooms upstairs are definitely worth the extra $10. we were really disappointed when we saw our room - it was like a jailcell. it was definitely the worst hotel we stayed at on our trip. we wandered around the hotel and poked our heads in the upstairs rooms, which were lightyears nicer. all the outdoor space is great, as are the hammocks. the bathroom could have been cleaner - we would have been really happy here had we been able to stay in a nicer room.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank supertearz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    63
    36
    19
    17
See reviews for
13
68
27
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, FL
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2009

At first the hotel didn't seem to bad, their shiny brochure stated that all rooms had AC, Hot water and cable TV, which seemed cool since the room was $35, then when we were being shown the room it was $10 extra for AC and had no TV. We took it for $35 without AC, at first the room looked cute and seemed okay, but it went down hill from there. The window in our room only opened a bit at the top, but we kept the room closed due to the holes in the screen and no bed nets. The bathroom room was not even a whole door, but had a gap about 1 1/2 ft. at both the top a bottom, the was just a plastic mat on the floor so water ended up everywhere when you got out of the shower, and when I asked for an extra towel to put down in the bathroom I was told "No, only 1 towel per person," when we went to complain that there was no hot water, we were told then that it was $5 extra (we were NOT told this during the check in process), and the last straw was the huge amount of mold/soap scum/I don't want to know all around the sink tap. It was so gross I could hardly stand to brush my teeth there. I've stayed at cleaner hostels! We moved to El Sano Banana the next day and were much happier.

Also the free internet connect was very slow and would fade out on us every few minutes.

It was at least a pretty quite place, but for the money there are much nicer places to stay around town.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karguo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Montezuma hotels

New York
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2009

When I went to take a reservation, I asked to keep the room until I come back 1hour later.
when I backed to the recepcion, recepcionist was changed to anoteher white woman who speak Englsih. And I asked the room when I took reserve 1hour ago, but she said she doesn´t konw anything about and she said i should make sure myself which room was it . Anyway,she act like ignore me and spoke cold all the time , I didnt believe. Becase, I have never been treated like this before by hotel´s recepcionist.
But I thought other recepcionist was good . Problem was only her!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PeacePeace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2009

Sybllia ( I hope I'm spelling her name right) was just downright fantastic! US Airways lost our luggage for 4 days. In any case due to this we needed some serious help to get thru on the phones etc. She came thru with flying colours. She did some translating for us and was really amazing and super friendly. When you first meet her she may seem aloof but that is her way of staying out of your holiday/vacation business. DO make the effort to invite her into your day it'll be one of those "local" experiences you'll take back with you. The hotel itself was great. Kitchen not so much, old stuff but then again we didn't use any of it so maybe it would have been ok.

The room was nice (number 7) clean and very spacious. Also, private and quiet. There was a private balcony over-looking the jungle like park, very beautiful! Also, the common area with hammocks and couches was super cool - bright, clean and comfortable, and also over looking the park.

This was an affordable place and very good value for the money. Really really happy with the experience, the hotel, the people. Can't say enough good things. Do stay here.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DNAWest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, WI
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2009

We decided to stay here because it was close to the town centre, but it was more expensive than other options and when the toilet clogged up we were accused of doing it almost intentionally which was not the case. Lots of drum circles and partying can be heard, and there was construction outside of our windows. It was noisy and the only real amenities are a common area kitchen and hammocks. We spent very little time here and found better places nearby. Also there was no in-room safe.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank esmartwave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2009

Very nice mid-ranged priced hotel, excellent common areas with couches, tables and hammocks. Rooms come with a fridge and fan : )

However, if booking ahead, avoid room #4.

This room is on the ground floor, right beside the communal kitchen, which opens at 8:00am for you late risers. Our main complaint with this room was that the room above leaked water through the hardwood floors and into our room. This happened twice, both between 4-6pm (pre-dinner shower time). The first time it leaked in the middle of our floor, which we shrugged off with no complaints, but the second time it leaked all over our luggage. I'm not sure if this happens to all the rooms at ground level, but we certainly weren't pleased.
Our room also had a moldy musty smell, but I believe that's common with most hotels in Montezuma. Perhaps the upstairs rooms are better in that department and most definitely they would be a lot drier.

PURA VIDA!!!

Stayed January 2009
Helpful?
Thank LPCarrier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2008

Very big rooms with air condition and fridge. The beds are very comfortable and much better than the standard beds in Costa Rica. The staff was very friendly and had good tips for the area.
For relaxing the hammocks in the first floor are the best place. The kitchen was clean and had all things you need for cooking.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Nessie_41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montezuma hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel El Jardin
Hotel El Jardin
#6 of 19 in Montezuma
4.0 of 5 stars 286 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cabinas Mar y Cielo
Cabinas Mar y Cielo
#10 of 19 in Montezuma
4.0 of 5 stars 50 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Celaje
Hotel Celaje
#1 of 2 in Cabuya
4.5 of 5 stars 157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Los Mangos
Hotel Los Mangos
#9 of 19 in Montezuma
3.5 of 5 stars 228 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Amor de Mar
Hotel Amor de Mar
#4 of 19 in Montezuma
4.5 of 5 stars 360 reviews
0.0 mi away
El Sano Banano Village Hotel
El Sano Banano Village Hotel
#11 of 19 in Montezuma
4.0 of 5 stars 190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Aurora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aurora

Property: Hotel Aurora
Address: 100 metros norte de la Playa Montezuma | 100 meters north from Montezuma Beach, Montezuma, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Montezuma
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Montezuma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Aurora 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Aurora is the first hotel in Montezuma since 1984 and has a 24 hrs. service. It offers great lounge area and wooden deck with seating area, hammocks, and cable TV surrounded by lush gardens and the nature allure of Montezuma enchantments and a view to the pacific ocean. It is located 20 minutes' walk from "La Cascada", the Montezuma River Waterfall. The rooms and suites offer a private bathroom and a fan. The suites also feature air conditioning, mini fridge and a private furnished balcony with hammocks. Guests at Hotel Aurora can use the common kitchen and they can find a variety of restaurants within 100 metres. Activities such as Isla de Tortuga Island tours can be arranged and it takes 40 minutes' boat trip to reach the area. This hotel is 30 minutes' drive from Cabo Blanco National Park and from Santa Teresa Beach. Juan Santamaria International Airport and the one in Liberia is a 3-hour drive away. The national airport Tambor is 20 minutes away ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Aurora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Aurora Montezuma

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing