We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Decent location, high prices and service that could be friendlier.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Aurora

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Aurora
Ranked #13 of 19 Hotels in Montezuma
Milwaukee, WI
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Decent location, high prices and service that could be friendlier.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2009

We decided to stay here because it was close to the town centre, but it was more expensive than other options and when the toilet clogged up we were accused of doing it almost intentionally which was not the case. Lots of drum circles and partying can be heard, and there was construction outside of our windows. It was noisy and the only real amenities are a common area kitchen and hammocks. We spent very little time here and found better places nearby. Also there was no in-room safe.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank esmartwave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    63
    36
    19
    17
See reviews for
13
67
27
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2009

Very nice mid-ranged priced hotel, excellent common areas with couches, tables and hammocks. Rooms come with a fridge and fan : )

However, if booking ahead, avoid room #4.

This room is on the ground floor, right beside the communal kitchen, which opens at 8:00am for you late risers. Our main complaint with this room was that the room above leaked water through the hardwood floors and into our room. This happened twice, both between 4-6pm (pre-dinner shower time). The first time it leaked in the middle of our floor, which we shrugged off with no complaints, but the second time it leaked all over our luggage. I'm not sure if this happens to all the rooms at ground level, but we certainly weren't pleased.
Our room also had a moldy musty smell, but I believe that's common with most hotels in Montezuma. Perhaps the upstairs rooms are better in that department and most definitely they would be a lot drier.

PURA VIDA!!!

Stayed January 2009
Helpful?
Thank LPCarrier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2008

Very big rooms with air condition and fridge. The beds are very comfortable and much better than the standard beds in Costa Rica. The staff was very friendly and had good tips for the area.
For relaxing the hammocks in the first floor are the best place. The kitchen was clean and had all things you need for cooking.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Nessie_41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caracas, Venezuela
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2008

When we got to our hotel, an attendant brought us to our room and it was unacceptable. It smelled of mold, the towels were damp and there was some creepy trap door leading to we don't know where. Also, this was a first floor room, so the windows should have been especially secure but there were no bars which is essentially standard in Costa Rica.

When I initially contacted the hotel, there was a variety of rooms available for the dates we needed. Rather than just leaving, we asked if there would be another room that we could switch to. The manager got ugly with us, asked if we had used the bathroom or put anything on the beds because they weren't going to clean again... if we wanted to move, she wouldn't change us until the next day. And then she continued her rudeness by saying, "You asked for the cheapest room and that's what you got." For the record, this room was dead center in the price range for the hotel. Also, having a bit of experience traveling in Costa Rica, the room that we were getting was not of the same quality as the others in that price range throughout the country for this time of year. She did show us one other room but there was construction going on below.

We lost our deposit, first nights' stay plus 10% and got out of there. Bad vibes!

  • Liked — The location is decent and the non-manager staff seemed nice.
  • Disliked — Management, mold smell and bad vibes.
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ProfeHolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Montezuma hotels

Hamburg
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2008

I returned after a previous stay and immediately noticed the investment that has been added to the hotel, a stylish wood assemble of new rooms on the upper level and a fountain in the open space in front of them. I did my Qi Gong and Tai Chi exercises in front of the fountain and had a most befeciary effect from that. Every room has a refrigerator now and there are now bugs at all. The german manager Sybille is professional and very friendly.

You have everything you need in the kitchen to do your own cooking. There is even filtered water from an advanced Nikken device. What do you more?

  • Liked — Near Center and green surroundings
  • Disliked — Sometimes sounds from parties in town
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank OmraamHamburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2008

this is a lovely place to stay, clean and quiet as away from the noisy bar in town, but close to everything too. its 30usd for a basic twin room with bathroom and fan. Hot water is another 5 dollars, a/c another 10 dollars. we were in room 9 which is on the top floor, really lovely like having yr own apartment. it has two balconys with hammocks and ceiling fan for 35 usd per night, its great. the owner is a german lady with great english. the village is small but has everything you need. we did a boat trip to Isla Tortuga which is idylic and has snorkeling. the sea and beaches near here are more for surfers and theres a strong rip but a beach half hour walk north is good. also thers a waterfall half hour walk south - v refreshing swimming there.the best place to eat is Bakery Cafe (nr the bookshop) for breakfast and lunch and Angolo (opp Aurora) for fab pizza and pasta.

Stayed May 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank lauralime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2008

I heard beautiful things about Costa Rica: nature, nice people and a peaceful environment to rest and relax. I can say that my friends and I found all this on every place we went, but the best experience we found it on the hotel La Aurora in Montezuma. This hotel is located at the very downtown of Montezuma just a few steps from the bus stop, but far enough so that the party doesn’t disturb your sleep.
The room was big enough with comfortable beds, air conditioning and hot water, not to mention a great view of the magnificent nature surrounding Montezuma beach. We always found fresh blankets every day and the cooking facilities where always clean. The hotel personnel were kind, polite and knew what they know their stuff, the service was excellent. All of this at a fair price!
We can say that from all the places we stood on Costa Rica, hotel La Aurora gave us most value for our money, the best 4 days of our travel to Costa Rica! Certainly I will go back to Costa Rica and of course to Montezuma again, but believe me that I won’t stay on another place that is not the hotel La Aurora!!

Leonardo Reyes

  • Liked — Air conditioning, location, TV set
  • Disliked — no restaurant
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BarcelonaLeRe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montezuma
0.0 mi away
Hotel El Jardin
Hotel El Jardin
#7 of 19 in Montezuma
4.0 of 5 stars 281 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Amor de Mar
Hotel Amor de Mar
#4 of 19 in Montezuma
4.5 of 5 stars 358 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Los Mangos
Hotel Los Mangos
#9 of 19 in Montezuma
3.5 of 5 stars 226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Cabinas Mar y Cielo
Cabinas Mar y Cielo
#10 of 19 in Montezuma
4.0 of 5 stars 49 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Celaje
Hotel Celaje
#1 of 2 in Cabuya
4.5 of 5 stars 155 reviews
4.2 mi away
Tango Mar Beachfront Boutique Hotel & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Aurora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aurora

Property: Hotel Aurora
Address: 100 metros norte de la Playa Montezuma | 100 meters north from Montezuma Beach, Montezuma, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Montezuma
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Montezuma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Aurora 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Aurora is the first hotel in Montezuma since 1984 and has a 24 hrs. service. It offers great lounge area and wooden deck with seating area, hammocks, and cable TV surrounded by lush gardens and the nature allure of Montezuma enchantments and a view to the pacific ocean. It is located 20 minutes' walk from "La Cascada", the Montezuma River Waterfall. The rooms and suites offer a private bathroom and a fan. The suites also feature air conditioning, mini fridge and a private furnished balcony with hammocks. Guests at Hotel Aurora can use the common kitchen and they can find a variety of restaurants within 100 metres. Activities such as Isla de Tortuga Island tours can be arranged and it takes 40 minutes' boat trip to reach the area. This hotel is 30 minutes' drive from Cabo Blanco National Park and from Santa Teresa Beach. Juan Santamaria International Airport and the one in Liberia is a 3-hour drive away. The national airport Tambor is 20 minutes away ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Aurora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Aurora Montezuma

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing