We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Best in its Class” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Aurora

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Aurora
Ranked #12 of 19 Hotels in Montezuma
Arizona
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Best in its Class”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

We spent 10 days in Costa Rica and I think this is the only place I'm even going to review. The room was great- large with 3 beds, AC, fridge and 2 ceiling fans and was by far the least amount of money we spent anywhere. It was comfortable and a steal. It even had its own balcony with two, that's *two*, hammocks on it. The communal kitchen is well-stocked and has everything you need for coffee including a bag of really good coffee. For serious cooking, no problem, there are two little groceries within a block and the kitchen has a full compliment of pots and pans and plateware.
But really the greatest thing about this place is the staff, namely Ivania and her sister. Ivania was barraged daily by all of my family's questions and demands and she never, really, actually never was without a smile and a patient, useful answer. She helped us find things to do (snorkeling trip!), great restaurants and trouble-shot problems in the room like finickly hot water. Most amazing of all, we ended up burdened with about two pounds of strawberries and when my Dad asked if maybe there was a blender to make "batidas" with, Iviana brought one from her home, on a bus, and her sister spontaneously volunteered to make them. She not only made excellent shakes, adding lemon, sugar and milk and ice, but bonus of all bonuses she even did all of the dishes for us. Just the sweetest, best people, I recommend the place to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 7Asher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    63
    36
    19
    17
See reviews for
13
67
27
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
112 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

We stayed there two nights. The room was comfortable, and clean. Everything was simple but correct. No wifi inside the room. The last day, however, a horrible smell invaded the court, but it didn't last long.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank avo77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medellin, Colombia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

Stayed in a private room for 3 nights.

Great location, far enough away from the main drag so that it is not too noisy but only a 2 minute walk away from bars and beach. Unfortunately we had a room by the side of the road so was noisy in the mornings until early evening with the sound of ATVs passing up and down.

Very flaky wifi apart from by reception where all they have are a few wonky tables and very uncomfortable plastic chairs.

Showers were fine, contrary to other reviewers we did not try moving the shower head when you can see live wires so we were never shocked!

The rooms themselves were spacious with great a/c and very clean. For what it is, its great value for money.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barnaby R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

After spending a sleepless night at Hotel Moctezuma on the main drag, my mother and I searched elsewhere for a place that matched our budget, was in a good location, and was clean and quiet. We found all of that (and luckily the last vacancy!) at Aurora. The Dutch man running this joint was great - super helpful, accommodating, and friendly. This is by no means a luxury spot, so if that's what you're looking for, I suggest going elsewhere. This is, however, one of the affordable places in Montezuma that still offers acceptable quality. Plus, can't go wrong with free coffee all hours of the day, and use of the kitchen. I found this to be a hidden gem, and a really lovely experience.

Room Tip: rooms on the first floor close to reception have the best wifi access
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank racheldc19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

The Pros:
- The air conditioner was powerful (except for on the 3rd floor, which practically did not work at all)
- Proximity to everyhing was great.
- Electricity in the room
- Fridge in the room

The Cons:
- Suicide Showers! The way that water for the shower is heated is through the use of electric shower heads ("Ducha Lorenzetti") which were apparently installed by a 6 year old. The wires are exposed, and when I reached up to change the angle of the shower head, I got zapped. At least 6 others that I spoke to staying in the Hotel Aurora all got zapped by their shower heads. And the water gets backed up in the drain. I spent every day of my stay there praying that I didn't get electrocuted in the shower.
- No place to stash your stuff. No drawers, no closets, just living out of a suitcase on the floor.
- The beds are laughably hard, until it's not funny anymore. My roommate and I made jokes about snuggling with the springs sticking out of the bed, but in all seriousness, I had to go for an hour long massage upon returning just to get the knots out of my back and neck from sleeping so uncomfortably.
- They only give you a top sheet to sleep with. No blankets. If you and your roommate tolerate air conditioning at night differently, either you're screwed or he/she is.
- Wifi signal is only in the reception area, where you may sit outside at lopsided patio tables on uncomfortable folding plastic chairs. There are no electrical outlets in the reception area. The joke is that at Hotel Aurora, you may have power or you may have wifi signal, but not both.
- Only one towel per person, and they mean it. Don't even think about asking for one to use as a floor mat for your shower.
- Walls are paper thin. You can hear every conversation in the neighboring rooms. Of course they hear you as well!
- They have a system in which you are expected to leave your key at the front desk upon exiting since they have someone at the desk 24 hours, except the concierge takes long breaks in the middle of the night, and if you're returning after being out late, oftentimes you will be left ringing the bell for service for upwards of 10 minutes, unless you're like me and fashion a lifting device using a stick to reach between the bars and grab your key. (That should clue you into how secure they leave the room keys when they exit)

Room Tip: Don't get the room on the third floor, if air conditioning is important to you Bring earplugs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sabrina V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014 via mobile

I am a little confused by some negative reviews on this site, this is a budget hotel and as far as I'm concerned it's a fantastic little place and great value. Prime location steps from the beach and restaurants, close to the waterfall, clean rooms, friendly staff and some great areas for lounging!!! Couldn't ask for more, I thought this was a fabulous value and will definitely visit again if I end up in montezuma

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank G M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wil, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

hey if you are in Montezuma you have to go to hotel aurora! the poeple are so nice and the flying dutchman at the reception was one of the greatest guys if ever meet. we lost our belongings and could stay one night without paying.

thanks for the nice time!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank doneemanuel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montezuma
0.0 mi away
Hotel El Jardin
Hotel El Jardin
#7 of 19 in Montezuma
4.0 of 5 stars 281 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Amor de Mar
Hotel Amor de Mar
#3 of 19 in Montezuma
4.5 of 5 stars 358 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Los Mangos
Hotel Los Mangos
#9 of 19 in Montezuma
3.5 of 5 stars 226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Cabinas Mar y Cielo
Cabinas Mar y Cielo
#10 of 19 in Montezuma
4.0 of 5 stars 49 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Celaje
Hotel Celaje
#1 of 2 in Cabuya
4.5 of 5 stars 155 reviews
4.2 mi away
Tango Mar Beachfront Boutique Hotel & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Aurora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aurora

Property: Hotel Aurora
Address: 100 metros norte de la Playa Montezuma | 100 meters north from Montezuma Beach, Montezuma, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Montezuma
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Montezuma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Aurora 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Aurora is the first hotel in Montezuma since 1984 and has a 24 hrs. service. It offers great lounge area and wooden deck with seating area, hammocks, and cable TV surrounded by lush gardens and the nature allure of Montezuma enchantments and a view to the pacific ocean. It is located 20 minutes' walk from "La Cascada", the Montezuma River Waterfall. The rooms and suites offer a private bathroom and a fan. The suites also feature air conditioning, mini fridge and a private furnished balcony with hammocks. Guests at Hotel Aurora can use the common kitchen and they can find a variety of restaurants within 100 metres. Activities such as Isla de Tortuga Island tours can be arranged and it takes 40 minutes' boat trip to reach the area. This hotel is 30 minutes' drive from Cabo Blanco National Park and from Santa Teresa Beach. Juan Santamaria International Airport and the one in Liberia is a 3-hour drive away. The national airport Tambor is 20 minutes away ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Aurora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Aurora Montezuma

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing