We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great budget option” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Aurora

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Aurora
Ranked #15 of 19 Hotels in Montezuma
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great budget option”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014 via mobile

I am a little confused by some negative reviews on this site, this is a budget hotel and as far as I'm concerned it's a fantastic little place and great value. Prime location steps from the beach and restaurants, close to the waterfall, clean rooms, friendly staff and some great areas for lounging!!! Couldn't ask for more, I thought this was a fabulous value and will definitely visit again if I end up in montezuma

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank G M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    59
    36
    19
    16
See reviews for
13
63
26
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wil, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

hey if you are in Montezuma you have to go to hotel aurora! the poeple are so nice and the flying dutchman at the reception was one of the greatest guys if ever meet. we lost our belongings and could stay one night without paying.

thanks for the nice time!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank doneemanuel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
261 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

I wound up staying here because it was inexpensive for a private room and the hostel rooms here and at other places I was checking got filled. I really enjoyed my huge room with a refrigerator, private balcony with 3 chairs and 2 hammocks and huge bathroom off the balcony. You step out onto the balcony and to your left is a door leading into the bathroom. As another review said, there were a few ants on the bathroom floor. I think they are attracted to water, and that is why the bathroom was out there. Anyhow, it was very clean and the ants did not come into the room, get in any of my stuff or cause me problems. The hotel is not a traditional structure, and I like that about it. The common areas are clean, comfortable and well appointed. I got wifi on my balcony all the time and sometimes in the room. It was quiet and comfortable. The staff was helpful and they were not selling tours. There was a kitchen with complimentary coffee in the mornings, nice sitting areas, hammocks, pool table, books, bicycles for rent for $5 and it is very convenient to walk to everything in town and the beach. There is a safe at the registration desk for your passport and valuables and the room had TV and AC, neither of which I turned on. I loved it.

Room Tip: I can't recall my room number, but it was second level and overlooked the park with bathroom on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank micarooni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amsterdam
Level Contributor
60 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

We booked this hotel because of the price, we got the junior suite. The room is large with two double beds, AC, fridge and balcony, so far it is good. The way the furniture is arranged, the hot water in the shower (electric wires!), the dead(!) flowers in the room, no table or chairs or wardrobe or reading lamp, very old bed pillows is a disappointment. It is pretty noisy as well with car and motor noises and music from restaurants close by. I think it would be a good idea to invest a bit in some new stuff, would not have to cost the world. Personnel pretty friendly but their English is not great.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 12345678910go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

This place is a great deal. I stayed here for over a week and the room cost less than $200 U.S.
Nice location close to markets and just far away not to be loud from the night life, at least not in the room. The kitchen is pretty barebones but if you not trying to cook crazy it'l do.
WiFi is decent out front but does not really work in the room but what ever. Our room was clean and A.C. worked just fine. We were right next to the kitchen which will get you up at 6:30-7 am.
Good experience.

Room Tip: the room next to the kitchen is nice but can be loud unless you stay up late and get up early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014 via mobile

After reading the other reviews we were hesitant to book here but were very nicely surprised to find the rooms clean, cool, no damp smell that others mentioned, the staff were very friendly and helpful and the facilities were great. We extended our stay and wouldn't stay anywhere else in Montezuma if we end up coming back.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Peta L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

This place is just great. You get a lot for your money. We stayed in one of the private room with A/C downstairs . The room was very clean. They have a old, small kitchen area, hammocks area, wifi area and free use computer. The staff is very nice, the manager give us very useful information. We went to the waterfalls, Cabo blanco and a hike on the beach. We have stayed 4 days at Hotel Aurora.

Room Tip: rent a bike at the hotel. $ 5 p/bike
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jurgen198007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montezuma
0.0 mi away
Hotel El Jardin
Hotel El Jardin
#7 of 19 in Montezuma
4.0 of 5 stars 280 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Amor de Mar
Hotel Amor de Mar
#3 of 19 in Montezuma
4.5 of 5 stars 353 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cabinas Mar y Cielo
Cabinas Mar y Cielo
#10 of 19 in Montezuma
4.0 of 5 stars 49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Los Mangos
Hotel Los Mangos
#9 of 19 in Montezuma
3.5 of 5 stars 226 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Celaje
Hotel Celaje
#1 of 2 in Cabuya
4.5 of 5 stars 154 reviews
1.3 mi away
Kalapiti Luxury Jungle Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Aurora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aurora

Property: Hotel Aurora
Address: 100 metros norte de la Playa Montezuma | 100 meters north from Montezuma Beach, Montezuma, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Montezuma
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Montezuma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Aurora 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Aurora is the first hotel in Montezuma since 1984 and has a 24 hrs. service. It offers great lounge area and wooden deck with seating area, hammocks, and cable TV surrounded by lush gardens and the nature allure of Montezuma enchantments and a view to the pacific ocean. It is located 20 minutes' walk from "La Cascada", the Montezuma River Waterfall. The rooms and suites offer a private bathroom and a fan. The suites also feature air conditioning, mini fridge and a private furnished balcony with hammocks. Guests at Hotel Aurora can use the common kitchen and they can find a variety of restaurants within 100 metres. Activities such as Isla de Tortuga Island tours can be arranged and it takes 40 minutes' boat trip to reach the area. This hotel is 30 minutes' drive from Cabo Blanco National Park and from Santa Teresa Beach. Juan Santamaria International Airport and the one in Liberia is a 3-hour drive away. The national airport Tambor is 20 minutes away ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Despegar.com, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Aurora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Aurora Montezuma

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing