We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Little hotel right in the middle of everything” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Aurora

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Aurora
Ranked #13 of 19 Hotels in Montezuma
amsterdam
Level Contributor
60 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Little hotel right in the middle of everything”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

We booked this hotel because of the price, we got the junior suite. The room is large with two double beds, AC, fridge and balcony, so far it is good. The way the furniture is arranged, the hot water in the shower (electric wires!), the dead(!) flowers in the room, no table or chairs or wardrobe or reading lamp, very old bed pillows is a disappointment. It is pretty noisy as well with car and motor noises and music from restaurants close by. I think it would be a good idea to invest a bit in some new stuff, would not have to cost the world. Personnel pretty friendly but their English is not great.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 12345678910go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    63
    36
    19
    17
See reviews for
13
68
27
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

This place is a great deal. I stayed here for over a week and the room cost less than $200 U.S.
Nice location close to markets and just far away not to be loud from the night life, at least not in the room. The kitchen is pretty barebones but if you not trying to cook crazy it'l do.
WiFi is decent out front but does not really work in the room but what ever. Our room was clean and A.C. worked just fine. We were right next to the kitchen which will get you up at 6:30-7 am.
Good experience.

Room Tip: the room next to the kitchen is nice but can be loud unless you stay up late and get up early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014 via mobile

After reading the other reviews we were hesitant to book here but were very nicely surprised to find the rooms clean, cool, no damp smell that others mentioned, the staff were very friendly and helpful and the facilities were great. We extended our stay and wouldn't stay anywhere else in Montezuma if we end up coming back.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Peta L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

This place is just great. You get a lot for your money. We stayed in one of the private room with A/C downstairs . The room was very clean. They have a old, small kitchen area, hammocks area, wifi area and free use computer. The staff is very nice, the manager give us very useful information. We went to the waterfalls, Cabo blanco and a hike on the beach. We have stayed 4 days at Hotel Aurora.

Room Tip: rent a bike at the hotel. $ 5 p/bike
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jurgen198007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Since there were so many positive reviews of the hotel I thought it would be great, but I was sadly mistaken. It was a sizable mistake since we invested 4 nights of our vacation time at this property. Since I often go by reviews, I wanted to post this one so that other travelers will be forewarned.

The room looked nothing like the photo on the website we booked on. The room was dirty and had stains all along the floor line with no base molding which made the dirt along the floor line worse, the mini refrigerator was rotting in one corner, the paint job was horrible, the drain in the shower was just an open hole with no cover, and there were dead bugs on the wall and in the bathroom that were not cleaned/removed.

While we stated in our reservation we were arriving at 2 p.m., the room was not ready when we arrived after 3 p.m. After seeing the 'cleaned' room I asked the manager several times if we could have another room, and he said the place was too full and he had nothing else available. Since other clean rooms had not checked in yet, I didn't see why he couldn't have swapped us out for another room that was ready when we arrived.

We made our reservation 3 months ago in September so it did not make sense why would not get a suitable room. I did speak to a local who said that some of the rooms are reported to have a mold smell, and our friends staying upstairs were listening to games of pool right over their head, traffic outside when they tried to sleep, and their room had a mold smell, so perhaps we were lucky to just have a depressing and dingy room. From reading other reviews it seems that the rooms at this property are all over the place in terms of quality so it is really a gamble to reserve here.

If you are looking to have a moderately nice and clean room, keep looking.

Room Tip: Do not make a reservation in advance and inspect the room first.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wanderer707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomAurora, Manager at Hotel Aurora, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
We had already expected the complaints. When she came at the hotel, she was only complaining. In the high – high season everything is full booked. In the high season the rooms are more expensive in Montezuma. She had made a booking on hostelworld.com. You have two options. She has chosen for cheapest option: the basic room. She was expecting to have an ocean view room with private balcony. If you want to have an ocean view room and more luxury, you have to pay double! At that moment she came it was not possible to change room. It was one of the busiest times of the year. Al our rooms have a private bath room, good bed and mattress, a very strong fan and a old fridge but it works good. We have every day two clean ladies. They are cleaning every day the room. We get always very good response that the rooms are clean.
We don´t understand why she write complaints for other people. We have talked with the couple who has slept close to the pool table. For them it was not a big deal, because the pool table is closed after 10.pm. The next day we have closed the pool table area at 9. pm, because they have a small child. Problem resolved.
The hotel is located in the center of Montezuma. It is the perfect location. The shops and the beach are nearby. Every hotel in the center of Montezuma is sometimes noisy, because there is traffic and a lot of people.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Montezuma hotels

St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

We got there late at night and they showed us to our 2 rooms but we found them dirty, buggy, and didn't have working AC even though we paid for rooms with it. We went back to the desk and asked for a different room, the only one available was a 2 bed in 1 room. It looked much cleaner and had working ac so we took it. Other than our disappointment at the first rooms it was decent for the price.

Room Tip: Try to get a room away from the main road out of town, they were very noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elise P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
279 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

We moved to a first floor room as ground level smelt stuffy (and had people walking past the windows) & it was much better. Bigger room with more air & a lighter bathroom.
Great area for hammocks, pool table & sofas however lack of wifi reach meant these seemed underused.
Kitchen is functional & pretty well equipped compared to others we've stayed in
Location is great- couldn't be more central

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms are bigger & airier
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GayleUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montezuma hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel El Jardin
Hotel El Jardin
#6 of 19 in Montezuma
4.0 of 5 stars 286 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cabinas Mar y Cielo
Cabinas Mar y Cielo
#9 of 19 in Montezuma
4.0 of 5 stars 50 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Celaje
Hotel Celaje
#1 of 2 in Cabuya
4.5 of 5 stars 157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Los Mangos
Hotel Los Mangos
#10 of 19 in Montezuma
3.5 of 5 stars 228 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Amor de Mar
Hotel Amor de Mar
#4 of 19 in Montezuma
4.5 of 5 stars 360 reviews
0.0 mi away
El Sano Banano Village Hotel
El Sano Banano Village Hotel
#11 of 19 in Montezuma
4.0 of 5 stars 190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Aurora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aurora

Property: Hotel Aurora
Address: 100 metros norte de la Playa Montezuma | 100 meters north from Montezuma Beach, Montezuma, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Montezuma
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Montezuma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Aurora 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Aurora is the first hotel in Montezuma since 1984 and has a 24 hrs. service. It offers great lounge area and wooden deck with seating area, hammocks, and cable TV surrounded by lush gardens and the nature allure of Montezuma enchantments and a view to the pacific ocean. It is located 20 minutes' walk from "La Cascada", the Montezuma River Waterfall. The rooms and suites offer a private bathroom and a fan. The suites also feature air conditioning, mini fridge and a private furnished balcony with hammocks. Guests at Hotel Aurora can use the common kitchen and they can find a variety of restaurants within 100 metres. Activities such as Isla de Tortuga Island tours can be arranged and it takes 40 minutes' boat trip to reach the area. This hotel is 30 minutes' drive from Cabo Blanco National Park and from Santa Teresa Beach. Juan Santamaria International Airport and the one in Liberia is a 3-hour drive away. The national airport Tambor is 20 minutes away ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Aurora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Aurora Montezuma

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing