We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Average - Good value.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Aurora

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Aurora to your Saves list
Hotel Aurora
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 metros norte de la Playa Montezuma | 100 meters north from Montezuma Beach, Montezuma, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 19 Hotels in Montezuma
ottawa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Average - Good value.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2011

We were here for just one night, and we stayed on the second floor in the room on the far right. Here's what we liked and disliked:
likes:
- refrigerator in room
- room was large - two double beds & private bath
- location was close to everything
- hammocks
- kitchen

dislikes:
- a bit run-down (i.e. a/c didn't work in our room)
- security: my boyfriend's EX girlfriend found us by asking the front desk person - they showed her to our room - we really didn't want to see her and didn't appreciate this
- noisy: i found it hard to sleep as the town was quite noisy at night, loud bass and ATVs
- no view (the view is of a run-down park)

Overall it was okay, but personally I wouldn't stay there again as there are much nicer places around. That said, I thought the price was good for what you got.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bowballie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    59
    36
    19
    16
See reviews for
13
63
26
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2011

La Aurora is a great value for the money. We stayed in one of the cheaper rooms, so I don't know how I'd feel if we got one of the expensive rooms, but they looked very nice.

The hotel is located right on the park in the centre of Montezuma, so it's extremely central. This means there's night noise from the many parties and drum circles, but the hotel can't be blamed for that. It's a fact of life in Montezuma. I took one point off the sleep quality rating because not all of our windows had curtains, so there was a lot of light coming in. Why have curtains for some windows, but not all?

The rooms and common areas were kept clean, the staff was courteous. When they noticed that our room fan was squeaky they replaced it ASAP. As others have mentioned, the common areas are nice, and a great place to meet people.

Don't be like us, though: Explore the hotel. Until our last day, we completely missed out on a pretty sitting area inside the hotel, and on the hammocks upstairs.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kerux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2011

We stayed in this hotel for 3 nights. It was clean and a great deal. The communal areas were great for socializing. The only complaint is that the walls are paper thin so if your neighbours are up early, you are too. As well, our room was right by the road so traffic kept us awake.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cdawn3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2011

Stayed here for four nights, clean and friendly place. Room was large enogh for four (we were only two). Good location. The staff speak only spanish, they understood some English words anyway. The wi-fi did'nt work very well.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Samavela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2011

Location is great! The guys running the hotel were very helpful. After a nightmare experience up the hill at Luna LLena, this place was a welcome breath of fresh air. Rooms are basic and clean, but the walls are too thin in some of them. My group of seven used three rooms. Even the more "pampered" members of the group had no real complaints about the place. All in all an okay place.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aardvarmario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kristiansand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2010

I stayed here for 4 nights. The location is very convenient a stonethrow away from the main street. The room (no 4 on the ground floor) was clean. I found no need for the hotwater or AC which dropped the price from 40 to 25 dollars. The outdoor area and communal kitchen gives a potential for social interaction. The staff was a bit reserved but all in all I had a nice stay.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lebrun1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
53 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2010

I am a bit surprised by the amount of extremely bad reviews this hotel got. It is true that not all the rooms are terrific value, but if you have a look around the hotel, you might find one to suit your needs. I spent there four nights with my boyfriend. When I went there to have a look at the rooms, Donald, the friendly receptionist, showed me two rooms: a street view room on the ground floor for 25 USD a night, noisy and with a musty smell. The other room was on the upper floor - as far as I remember it was room # 6. It was dry, nicely decorated and all wooden. The rate was 30 USD - not the best bet you can get if you opt for cold instead of hot shower and decide not to use the air condition, but I found it o.k. in comparison to a 25 USD-room I had had a look at in another hotel. Rooms were cleaned on a daily basis - in my experience this is not always the case in budget hotels in Central America. The community area at the hotel is very nice: You can chill in hammocks and sitting areas and observe birds from the veranda. There is a well-kept and well-equipped community kitchen on the ground floor, and other than some of the reviews say, it was cleaned every morning by the staff. It is closed after 9pm because there is a room right next to it; but if the room is empty the staff will leave the kitchen open until later if you ask them to.
It is true that the rooms on the ground floor have a humidity problem and it is therefore absolutely normal that their doors are open all day when they are vacant. I have seen this in many hotels in tropical areas before. I suggest you choose one of the wooden rooms on the upper floor which are not musty at all. One of the reviews mentions scorpions - I haven't seen any during my stay. What you have to be prepared to find in the kitchen are crabs, but they are nothing to worry about. Three cons: 1) WiFi is only available in the reception area. 2) The window of my room opened to the court yard just like a room the staff was using. One night I could hear their TV until late at night and could not sleep for hours. 3) I had not much contact with her, but the German manager (not the owner who lives somewhere else) was not a very charming person. She might remember you to pay your rate for the following night if you have not yet done it until midday.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank topautorin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montezuma
0.0 mi away
Hotel El Jardin
Hotel El Jardin
#7 of 19 in Montezuma
4.0 of 5 stars 278 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Amor de Mar
Hotel Amor de Mar
#3 of 19 in Montezuma
4.5 of 5 stars 351 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cabinas Mar y Cielo
Cabinas Mar y Cielo
#10 of 19 in Montezuma
4.0 of 5 stars 48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Los Mangos
Hotel Los Mangos
#9 of 19 in Montezuma
3.5 of 5 stars 225 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Celaje
Hotel Celaje
#1 of 2 in Cabuya
4.5 of 5 stars 154 reviews
1.3 mi away
Kalapiti Luxury Jungle Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Aurora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aurora

Property: Hotel Aurora
Address: 100 metros norte de la Playa Montezuma | 100 meters north from Montezuma Beach, Montezuma, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Montezuma
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Montezuma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Aurora 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Aurora is the first hotel in Montezuma since 1984 and has a 24 hrs. service. It offers great lounge area and wooden deck with seating area, hammocks, and cable TV surrounded by lush gardens and the nature allure of Montezuma enchantments and a view to the pacific ocean. It is located 20 minutes' walk from "La Cascada", the Montezuma River Waterfall. The rooms and suites offer a private bathroom and a fan. The suites also feature air conditioning, mini fridge and a private furnished balcony with hammocks. Guests at Hotel Aurora can use the common kitchen and they can find a variety of restaurants within 100 metres. Activities such as Isla de Tortuga Island tours can be arranged and it takes 40 minutes' boat trip to reach the area. This hotel is 30 minutes' drive from Cabo Blanco National Park and from Santa Teresa Beach. Juan Santamaria International Airport and the one in Liberia is a 3-hour drive away. The national airport Tambor is 20 minutes away ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Despegar.com and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Aurora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Aurora Montezuma

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing