We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Nice” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel El Jardin

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel El Jardin
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in Montezuma
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Nice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2010

This is a nice hotel. It is certainly overpriced but compared to the other options in Montezuma, it's nice.

It's all about the pool. It's great, and we would take a lot of dips and see monkeys in the trees behind the pool. There is a jacuzzi, but it's cold. Also there is no breakfast.

I would stay there again i think. Only because of the pool though.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank patrickinbc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    94
    50
    25
    16
See reviews for
39
145
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2010

Myself, my boyfriend and his cousin stayed at El Jardin for 3 nights and paid approximately $95USD/night. The hotel property is beautiful, the rooms were clean and had A/C. The pool area is very nice and they keep it very clean. The only issue we had was noise. You can hear the people above you if your on the bottom floor and the people below you if you are on the top floor. As long as people are respectful the noise levels are ok. You definelty can hear the noise from the town as it is a very small town but most of the hotel rooms on the property are removed and the noise is distant for the most part. We all enjoyed our stay at El Jardin and in Montezuma.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank crgirl08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, PA
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2009

HOUSES DO NOT HAVE A/C

We stayed at this hotel for a few nights. When we booked, we booked a house at an additional charge ($95 per night instead of like $50). When we got there, the house had no air conditioning despite the fact that their web sight says all the rooms have A/C. I guess when you pay extra for a house then you get no A/C. First, they claimed that this was pointed out on the reservation confirmation. Luckily I had the confirmation and e-mail with me and they said nothing about it. They tried to put us in a room and charge a $95 rate, but eventually just moved us and charged us the normal rate, which was higher than other hotels nearby.

The pool / hot tub area was beautiful, and that was the only good thing about the hotel.

A/C went on and off and didn't work that well. Not enough soap / toilet paper was provided, hotel was pretty crappy... and I'm not picky about hotels.

From what I have heard, there isn't really any better hotels in the town except Ylang Ylang, which is much more expensive. If I go to that town again, I'd save my money and book at another hotel, as long as it has AC.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CostaRicaRealmz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2009

This hotel is right in the heart of Montezuma, which means it is convenient but also a bit noisy. The hotel is located on a hillside and the rooms are basic but clean. We enjoyed the pool and the free wireless internet (although not enough signal strength in our room). The A/C worked great.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wandernotlost1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2009

My husband and I found this place at the end of a weeks stay traveling through Costa Rica. We were exhausted and wanted to stay somewhere nicer than we had for the rest of the trip. We found this place, and it had air conditioning, private showers with hot water and a pool. We also stayed in one of the front rooms and had our on little front porch. We opened wine and sat out at night watching people walk by. Best of all Hotel El Jardin was only $10 more than a place we previously stayed that was dirty, run down, no A/C, shared showers. I would recommend this to a friend.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank yancyamm0ns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2009

I stayed at this hotel in April 2009. Prior to arriving, I had much communcation with Edgar Salas in Reservations, who was very helpful. He booked our transportation (boat) from Jaco to Montezuma and back, zip line canopy tour, sunset tour in malpais/playa carmen/santa teresa and tortuga island tour. El Jardin is situated at the top of the hill overlooking the town with views of the water. Our room was clean with two beds, mini-fridge and shower. There was a hammock on the balcony right outside our door. The pool was refreshing and clean. The grounds are absolutely beautiful with bright colored flowers everywhere; I took many photos of the hotel's lush surroundings. You can hear the monkeys in the evening and morning. The town is very eclectic and artsy. Edgar also recommended wonderful restaurants El Sano Banano for breakfast, Cocolores for dinner and especially Playa de los Artistas for an amazing dinner complete with a fire tossing show on the beach. We also enjoyed The Bakery Cafe for breakfast and Cafe Buen Provecho for lunch. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sutherngurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
or
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2009

This place was great! They had clean rooms, absolutely wonderful staff, working A/C and pool, hammocks,and close enough to downtown to have access, but far enough away that the noise doesn't bother you. It was like something out of brochure heaven. The staff was very accommodating and even let our friends staying at another hotel store their luggage there after checking out. All of that for $15 a person/night! Was in CR for 6 weeks, and travel often. This place is the kind of hotel you only hear about.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank twatersOr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montezuma hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Amor de Mar
Hotel Amor de Mar
#4 of 19 in Montezuma
4.5 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#14 of 19 in Montezuma
3.5 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Celaje
Hotel Celaje
#1 of 2 in Cabuya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Los Mangos
Hotel Los Mangos
#9 of 19 in Montezuma
4.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
1.3 mi away
Kalapiti Luxury Jungle Suites
0.0 mi away
Cabinas Mar y Cielo
Cabinas Mar y Cielo
#8 of 19 in Montezuma
4.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel El Jardin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Jardin

Property: Hotel El Jardin
Address: Montezuma Beach, Montezuma 6000, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Montezuma
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in Montezuma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel El Jardin 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel El Jardin is located in the center of Montezuma less than 100 meters from the beach.Its constructions are dispersed in various independent buildings, immersed in a exhuberating tropical garden,which is located on a hill, dominating the centre of Montezuma. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel El Jardin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Jardin Hotel
El Jardin Montezuma

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing