We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“a lovely relaxing place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel El Jardin

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel El Jardin
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in Montezuma
Australia
Level Contributor
129 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“a lovely relaxing place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

We stayed here two years ago and enjoyed our stay at the Hotel. It is a lovely here and so much to do in the area. Natural waterfalls and bush walks to Yoga and cooking lessons and visiting monkies. The beaches are ok but not always safe. We were swimming at the beach and were almost knocked over by the logs that were coming in on the waves.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MermaidOZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    88
    48
    25
    16
See reviews for
35
141
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Broomfield, CO
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We stayed two nights at the El Jardin at the end of April. The wonderful reception woman, Marielle let us check in early. She was so helpful and kind. Anytime we had a question about Montezuma, she was our "go to" person. Our room was extremely clean. It was SO hot when we arrived in Montezuma. The air conditioning in our room was blissful. We loved the terrace with lounge chairs and a hammock. The pool was beautiful. We enjoyed seeing the monkeys make their way through the trees by the pool around 4pm every afternoon. We also saw a coati on the path just outside of our door. I tend to be pretty picky about where I stay, and this place was perfect; the price was very reasonable too.

Room Tip: We stayed in room #6 which is set up on a hill. It is very quiet (no one above or below). Also par...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cfield25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014 via mobile

The staff was kind, the pool was amazing, but the rooms were just so so. We were able to see lots of wildlife. Monkeys in the trees around the pools and lots of pretty birds in the beautiful landscape. The rooms were just ok. Beds were a bit uncomfortable, but the rooms were clean. For a 1-2 night stay in Montezuma it's perfect. It did look like one of the nicer hotels in the area and you really don't need more than two nights in Montezuma anyway. The staff was friendly and it was a 2 min walk to town and the beach. I would recommend an upstairs room. Less noise and better wifi connection. Not too busy and the landscape and ocean are a great view while laying in the hammock.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank LizYSean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

This is our 5th trip to Montezuma and we always stay at El Jardin. Simple place but all the basics work well. Friendly staff, gorgeous pool and grounds, center of town, a short walk to beautiful beaches.. As always surrounded by amazing Costa Rican wildlife. Anyone know where to get an alarm clock that makes the sound of the local howler monkeys? The best of the Montezuma vibe..

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Cella65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape May, New Jersey
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

This was our fourth visit to Montezuma and Hotel El Jardin. The proximity to town and the layout of the grounds (gardens and pools) make El Jardin very appealing. Rooms are a little dark and sparse but the large porches outside the rooms make up for some minor flaws. The pool is great to relax in after a day of exploring.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Edward D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

Montezuma ,
is always a great place for vacation, other times we had chosen differently, we are happy to have come to the Jardin, nice hospitality, friendly staff and very professional. And it is a step away from the beaches and the "pueblo" experience that I would do it right away, too bad that holidays do not last enough

Room Tip: many kind to choose from, I would stay or near the pool, but the "casita" has more inti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tonymain1156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salzburg, Austria
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

Stayed here for a night. Very nice pool & garden area, but the room was very unexpted.
Ok for a night, but a bit outdated / dusty / in areas even dirty.

Location is however very good as you are right in the heart of town, close to beach and all other places you want to be at.

Staff is friendly.

Room Tip: I guess best would be to stay on the hill side "above" the swimming pool. Try to avoid ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Frauantje1205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jardin J, Director Comercial at Hotel El Jardin, responded to this review, February 15, 2014
Dear Customer,

Thank you for your feedback

We are very pleased you enjoyed our pool and our tropical garden.

Unfortunately, in the summer/dry season, it is impossible to eliminate the dust in a village with unpaved roads. It is a common problem!

We wait for you during the Green season, which is equally beautiful, without any dust .

Best Regards

Hotel El Jardín
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montezuma
0.3 mi away
Hotel Amor de Mar
Hotel Amor de Mar
#3 of 19 in Montezuma
4.5 of 5 stars 352 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Celaje
Hotel Celaje
#1 of 2 in Cabuya
4.5 of 5 stars 154 reviews
1.3 mi away
Kalapiti Luxury Jungle Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#15 of 19 in Montezuma
3.5 of 5 stars 183 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Los Mangos
Hotel Los Mangos
#8 of 19 in Montezuma
3.5 of 5 stars 226 reviews
4.2 mi away
Tango Mar Beachfront Boutique Hotel & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel El Jardin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Jardin

Property: Hotel El Jardin
Address: Montezuma Beach, Montezuma 6000, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Montezuma
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in Montezuma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel El Jardin 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel El Jardin is located in the center of Montezuma less than 100 meters from the beach.Its constructions are dispersed in various independent buildings, immersed in a exhuberating tropical garden,which is located on a hill, dominating the centre of Montezuma. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel El Jardin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Jardin Hotel
El Jardin Montezuma

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing