We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Beautiful Garden with a domestic Iguana” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel El Jardin

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel El Jardin to your Saves list
Hotel El Jardin
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Montezuma Beach, Montezuma 6000, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in Montezuma
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Beautiful Garden with a domestic Iguana”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2008

As soon as we saw this hotel we knew that this is where we want to stay. It is probably the most expensive hotel in town but what is $60 divided by 3...

Unique Qualities: It has the most beautiful garden I saw anywhere in Costa Rica, domestic Iguana, koatis walking around, two small pools with a jacuzzi and very clean rooms...and a hammock in front of the door.

Very nice iguana fed by hotel staff is always on the stone at the hotel entrance.

  • Stayed November 2003, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Srechko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    88
    48
    25
    16
See reviews for
34
140
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
california
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2008

We stayed at hotel el jardin for three nights, it was my first time in costa rica and in montezuma, the room was very nice and clean every day, the swimming pool was amazing, but was makes the differece was the friendly receptionits Gustavo he was very polite and nice and he help us out coordinating all the tours and our transportation, we reallly apreciate all his hard work, we can´t wait to come back to costa rica and el hotel el jardin
Mattew, California

  • Liked — that it was almost in front of the beach
  • Disliked — it was very clean
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mattew_mtz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2008

Such a great spot. Right in town, yet quiet. Very clean, well-run and kid-friendly. The pool is amazing. The staff ROCKS. Esteban and Gustavo helped us enormously, and were very cool as well!!! We could not have asked for a better place to stay in Montezuma.

  • Stayed August 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank panela610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toamasina (Tamatave), Madagascar
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2008

I stayed for three nights at El Jardin in Montezuma. The grounds of the hotel are nice, as well as the rooms and furnishing, however it does not justify the high price of the hotel, which is especially inflated during peak season. The sound proofing in between rooms in a little poor. They were the hotel I stayed at in Costa Rica that did not offer continental breakfast. The upside of this hotel is it's location, the fairly nice pool (yet one wonders why you would use it when the Pacific is 1 minute walk away) and the comfortable rooms.

  • Stayed January 2007, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank MattNEmma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2008

Hotel is just up a hill from the town. So location is OK - it is a really steep hill to your room. It's pricey, for what you get, no breakfast, no TV, small room, no real view. The room was clean enough, just plain and old.The gardens are nice enough, but the pool - which could be a feature is terrible. It's all cloudy and not filtered and it bakes all day in the sun - so is warmish. I remember tossing up about staying instead at the Sano Banano - I remember it was about $30 more expensive - trust me spend the extra $30 - it is right in town, so no steep walk up a hill, and breakfast is included, plus TV plus it's rooms are much, much nicer.

The maid was really cool tho.

  • Liked — clean and air conditioned
  • Disliked — over priced, bad pool, big hill to room
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank onthegoNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2008

This is a great little property. We stayed for 6 nights in April. Yes it is definitely expensive for Montezuma and Costa Rica in general but then again you get a great little room with A/C, a deck with a hammock and two chairs and a cute swimming pool. The breakfast is really not worth having - packaged tea biscuits, bananas and coffee so not a place to really fuel up. It's about a 10 minute walk but go have breakfast at Hotel Amor del Mar - lovely ocean and lawn view and tasty breakfast with an amazing homemade bread! The bathroom in the room was so-so nothing of note. Shower had hot water. The linens are also fine, very clean and the bed was pretty comfortable. We were very happy with the accomodations but you have to manage expectations - you aren't getting a Westin Heavenly bed anywhere in these parts. You can hear everything through the walls from your neighbors but this did not prove a problem for us and we heard little to no noise from town. And hey, you have an A/C so turn it on and you can't hear anything but the fan anyway. Maid service was consistent and good, room was cleaned well everyday.

Short walk to the restaurants, bars and beach (although surf was quite rough while we were there).

I would reccomend the owners offer a slightly better breakfast service - bread and a toaster or some such thing would be nice, for the price in Montezuma I think they could be a bit more generous. And update their pool chairs and/or cushions.

But otherwise go and enjoy this great spot in Montezuma!

  • Liked — Pool, Deck with Hammock
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank newyorker567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2008

This hotel is right in the centre of town, but its the only thing going for it. Its overpriced for the rooms and the facilities. We booked a Queen room and only recieved a double (they wouldn't move us), it was noisey in the hotel (could hear everything from the room upstairs) along with the music playing until the wee hours of the morning from the bar across the street.
I would spend my money up the road at Amor del Mar, not El Jardin!

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kaldog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montezuma
1.6 mi away
Hotel Amor de Mar
Hotel Amor de Mar
#3 of 19 in Montezuma
4.5 of 5 stars 351 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Celaje
Hotel Celaje
#1 of 2 in Cabuya
4.5 of 5 stars 154 reviews
1.3 mi away
Kalapiti Luxury Jungle Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#15 of 19 in Montezuma
3.5 of 5 stars 183 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Los Mangos
Hotel Los Mangos
#9 of 19 in Montezuma
3.5 of 5 stars 225 reviews
4.2 mi away
Tango Mar Beachfront Boutique Hotel & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel El Jardin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Jardin

Property: Hotel El Jardin
Address: Montezuma Beach, Montezuma 6000, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Montezuma
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in Montezuma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel El Jardin 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel El Jardin is located in the center of Montezuma less than 100 meters from the beach.Its constructions are dispersed in various independent buildings, immersed in a exhuberating tropical garden,which is located on a hill, dominating the centre of Montezuma. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel El Jardin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Jardin Hotel
El Jardin Montezuma

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing