We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Return visitor” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel El Jardin

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel El Jardin
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in Montezuma
Cape May, New Jersey
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Return visitor”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

This was our fourth visit to Montezuma and Hotel El Jardin. The proximity to town and the layout of the grounds (gardens and pools) make El Jardin very appealing. Rooms are a little dark and sparse but the large porches outside the rooms make up for some minor flaws. The pool is great to relax in after a day of exploring.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Edward D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    88
    49
    25
    16
See reviews for
36
141
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
los angeles
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

Montezuma ,
is always a great place for vacation, other times we had chosen differently, we are happy to have come to the Jardin, nice hospitality, friendly staff and very professional. And it is a step away from the beaches and the "pueblo" experience that I would do it right away, too bad that holidays do not last enough

Room Tip: many kind to choose from, I would stay or near the pool, but the "casita" has more inti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tonymain1156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salzburg, Austria
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

Stayed here for a night. Very nice pool & garden area, but the room was very unexpted.
Ok for a night, but a bit outdated / dusty / in areas even dirty.

Location is however very good as you are right in the heart of town, close to beach and all other places you want to be at.

Staff is friendly.

Room Tip: I guess best would be to stay on the hill side "above" the swimming pool. Try to avoid ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Frauantje1205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jardin J, Director Comercial at Hotel El Jardin, responded to this review, February 15, 2014
Dear Customer,

Thank you for your feedback

We are very pleased you enjoyed our pool and our tropical garden.

Unfortunately, in the summer/dry season, it is impossible to eliminate the dust in a village with unpaved roads. It is a common problem!

We wait for you during the Green season, which is equally beautiful, without any dust .

Best Regards

Hotel El Jardín
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape May, New Jersey
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

Stayed once again for 6 days days at El Jardin on this trip to Montezuma. This was our fourth visit with them and there is a reason. The staff is extremely helpful and friendly. The grounds are impeccably kept. As their name implies it is truly a beautiful garden. Every morning we enjoyed a leisurely start to the day with coffee and cookies provided by El Jardin on our patio. Since we were 2 couples traveling together, we requested Rooms # 5 and # 6 since the rooms and patio are adjoining. We spent hours in the pool most days and the staff arranged a snorkeling/BBQ lunch for us on Tortuga Island on Wednesday. All in all we were happy to return to El Jardin.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Frances D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

Two friends and I (all in our early 20's) stayed here for a few nights while we were traveling in Costa Rica and overall we were pretty disappointed with our experience. We stayed in a private villa at the top of the hill which was absolutely beautiful: we had a full bathroom, kitchen, living room, patio with lounge chairs and a hammock, an upstairs with a double and single bed, and all of the windows (and walls basically) opened up to make it an open air villa, BUT, the negatives far outweighed the positives for us. Unfortunately, the front desk wasn't as enthusiastic and helpful as we'd hoped, especially compared to most of the other hotels / hostels we stayed at in Costa Rica which made it hard to organize surfing and get recommendations on where to eat, etc. You're also not allowed to bring guests up to your room or to the pool area, which I kind of understand, but it just hurts the hotel because it makes it strictly a place to hang out by yourself and with the people you're traveling with and not anybody you meet, which is one of the best parts of traveling. One other negatives is that we woke up after the first night with rows of bites all over ourselves despite using mosquito nets. Yup, bed bugs.

Ultimately this place is really nice and if I was traveling with a girlfriend I'd probably stay here (as long as there were no bed bugs) but if you're traveling with friends and like a social scene where you can meet people and party a bit, this isn't the place for you. It's very quiet and exclusive.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank coconuthunting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milano
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

The hotel it's really fine: nice location, beautiful swimming pool, cordial and helpful staff.
But the surprise are the rooms (not so clean, even the sheets were dirty) and their residents: lots of likable roaches!!! They were everywhere, one even fell on my head form the ceiling!!!
So, if you can stand them, go there, the rest of the hotel it's fine.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fedec80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

We stayed in two different rooms, one was a stand-alone cabin (US$65 low-season price) and the other was a room with a balcony in front of the pool (US$50 low-season price). The rooms were adequate, but pretty basic.

Some good things:
- location, close to everything
- refrigerators in the rooms
- A/C
- the pools are very pretty
- hammocks outside the rooms

Not so good:
-no TV in either room
-the cheaper room only had shower gel available, the more expensive one had a mini soap bar as well. No shampoo/ conditioner.
-beds unimpressive
- one room had some bugs that looked like wasps, but maintenance cleared them out for us.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montezuma
0.3 mi away
Hotel Amor de Mar
Hotel Amor de Mar
#3 of 19 in Montezuma
4.5 of 5 stars 353 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Celaje
Hotel Celaje
#1 of 2 in Cabuya
4.5 of 5 stars 154 reviews
1.3 mi away
Kalapiti Luxury Jungle Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#15 of 19 in Montezuma
3.5 of 5 stars 183 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Los Mangos
Hotel Los Mangos
#9 of 19 in Montezuma
3.5 of 5 stars 226 reviews
4.2 mi away
Tango Mar Beachfront Boutique Hotel & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel El Jardin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Jardin

Property: Hotel El Jardin
Address: Montezuma Beach, Montezuma 6000, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Montezuma
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in Montezuma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel El Jardin 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel El Jardin is located in the center of Montezuma less than 100 meters from the beach.Its constructions are dispersed in various independent buildings, immersed in a exhuberating tropical garden,which is located on a hill, dominating the centre of Montezuma. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Despegar.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel El Jardin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Jardin Hotel
El Jardin Montezuma

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing