We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Raccomanded to roaches lovers!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel El Jardin

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel El Jardin
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in Montezuma
Milano
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Raccomanded to roaches lovers!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

The hotel it's really fine: nice location, beautiful swimming pool, cordial and helpful staff.
But the surprise are the rooms (not so clean, even the sheets were dirty) and their residents: lots of likable roaches!!! They were everywhere, one even fell on my head form the ceiling!!!
So, if you can stand them, go there, the rest of the hotel it's fine.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fedec80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    89
    49
    25
    16
See reviews for
37
141
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

We stayed in two different rooms, one was a stand-alone cabin (US$65 low-season price) and the other was a room with a balcony in front of the pool (US$50 low-season price). The rooms were adequate, but pretty basic.

Some good things:
- location, close to everything
- refrigerators in the rooms
- A/C
- the pools are very pretty
- hammocks outside the rooms

Not so good:
-no TV in either room
-the cheaper room only had shower gel available, the more expensive one had a mini soap bar as well. No shampoo/ conditioner.
-beds unimpressive
- one room had some bugs that looked like wasps, but maintenance cleared them out for us.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sask
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

We spent a couple of days in Montezuma and stayed at the hotel one night, overall location was good within walking distance to everything, pool and the grounds were excellent, the rooms were just ok. They could use new beds for they were wore out and very uncomfortable, The rooms were clean, good showers, and the fridge was keeping items cold. Dollar value was high for what you received however your chioces are limited in a small town.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lsunseekers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northwest
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

We stayed 2 nights. The rooms are dark and small. Beds are old and noisy. We paid $95USD/night, and $65 would have been more reasonable for what you get. Pool is nice, and our room overlooked the main road. I didn't think I would appreciate the a/c, but it was pretty nice to have the white noise. Our patio area was much more relaxing when the room next door was vacant due to the close proximity of neighbours.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bufnbufr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

We loved our week at El Jardin. For us it was a luxury stay. The grounds were amazing as were the cabins. The two pools and jacuzzi were awesome. The only drawback was it was a little overpriced. The location was perfect. We could see the town from our patio and hear the awesome music during the evening. Staff very friendly.

Room Tip: We like number 5 with a view of the downtown but I think all rooms were good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mallory H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

This hotel is in a great location, you can walk to the waterfall, beach and town. Get a room behind the pool, we had a great view of their beautiful pool and great personal hammock. Room are big and clean. Hotel is luxury at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katebossaust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bodo, Norway
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Came to Montezuma vere early in the morning and got a room for one night. The lady in the reception was very helpful.
The room itself could have been cleaner and the fridge didn't work.We got a room with two quenn size beds and we had enough space.The pool area was nice and worth a try.
The location was perfect, 3 minute walk to the beach and 2 minutes to everything else.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank UncleTravelingCrap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montezuma
0.3 mi away
Hotel Amor de Mar
Hotel Amor de Mar
#3 of 19 in Montezuma
4.5 of 5 stars 358 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#12 of 19 in Montezuma
3.5 of 5 stars 190 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Celaje
Hotel Celaje
#1 of 2 in Cabuya
4.5 of 5 stars 155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Kalapiti Luxury Jungle Suites
0.2 mi away
Hotel Los Mangos
Hotel Los Mangos
#9 of 19 in Montezuma
3.5 of 5 stars 226 reviews
4.2 mi away
Tango Mar Beachfront Boutique Hotel & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel El Jardin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Jardin

Property: Hotel El Jardin
Address: Montezuma Beach, Montezuma 6000, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Montezuma
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in Montezuma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel El Jardin 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel El Jardin is located in the center of Montezuma less than 100 meters from the beach.Its constructions are dispersed in various independent buildings, immersed in a exhuberating tropical garden,which is located on a hill, dominating the centre of Montezuma. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Odigeo, Travelocity, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel El Jardin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Jardin Hotel
El Jardin Montezuma

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing