We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not impressed, but ok” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel El Jardin

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel El Jardin
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in Montezuma
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Not impressed, but ok”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2007

The El Jardin was not the highlight hotel of our trip. Although not terrible or a bad experience, I would not stay there again. The hotel is dated and does not have the extra amenities that other hotels have, but it was also the cheapest hotel of our stay. It was clean enough, but reminded me a bit of a camping or dorm room experience. Something in the bathroom was leaking (water on the floor). The breakfast consisted of a banana, graham cracker type cookies, and coffee. On the other hand, the staff was friendly, the grounds were nice, there was AC, and the pool was ok. Also, there was a night watchman. Plus, it was a great location.

You might want to spend the extra money on Ylang-Ylang. We only went to happy hour there, but it suggested nice rooms.

As for activities, if you are the adventurer and an active traveler, we suggest the El Chorro hike (not horseback) and a day trip to Cabo Blanco followed with a drive to Mal Pais to have a gourmet pizza beachside (four wheel drive absolutely required to get to Mal Pais from Cabo Blanco). Also, head over to the Artista Italian restaurant - wow.

  • Liked — AC
  • Disliked — the rooms
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bradfomj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    91
    50
    25
    16
See reviews for
38
143
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2007

I first stayed in Amor del Mar in Montezuma and switched to El Jardin the next time and was very happy I did.
I was there during the low season (July 07) but hotels were surpisingly booked so make a reservation if you can. El Jardin was sold out the 1st nigth I got there.
I was in one of their cheaper rooms ($60) and the room itself was actually not that great: very dark wood from wall to ceiling, the bathroom was a bit questionable but it had an a/c and a little fridge. The outdoor , especially the pool was very nice to have. Their jacuzi though is just the same pool water with jets, it is not a real one but sti ll it is nice. As far as Montezuma goes, this is probably the nicest hotel.

  • Liked — The pool area
  • Disliked — the questionable cleanliness, the dark rooms
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
5 Thank vouvoune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2007

We stayed at the El Jardin in Montezuma for 3 nights. To get there, we took the Zuma Tours speed boat across the bay from Herradura/Jaco to Montezuma. We loaded from the beach with lots of luggage -- "No problema!" It was a relatively fast trip,over some big swells, just a little over an hour. (We felt very safe with this company and used them for our return trip and a snorkle tour to Tortuga). We off loaded at the beach and had to lug our stuff across the sand and up a steep hill to the hotel. The people working at the front desk were very helpful, friendly and proficient in English. They made arrangements for our tours, and the return trip to our next destination Manuel Antonio.

The rooms are really small with not a lot of storage space. The beds were OK, but the sheets became a tangled mess overnight since they weren't fitted to the matteras, and there weren't any blankets. The air conditioning was very efficient in cooling the room, but it was so noisy that we had to wake up to turn it off just to get some sleep, and then wake up again to turn it on when the room got hot. We would have gotten by with a ceiling fan, but our room did not have one. Another drawback at night is that since the town is so small we could hear the motorcycles, and trucks from the road. The pool is lovely with a lower level swimming area, and then an upper level jacuzzi with cool water and jets. I would have liked to have stayed in one of the rooms near or overlooking the pool. Our room was furthur up the hill and we had a beautiful terrace With lounge chairs and hammocks. There were lush gardens all around with birds and howler monkeys. The hotel does not have a restaurant , but there are many restuarants close by and we had exceptional meals at all of the restaurants we tried. We expecially enjoyed Sano Banano across the street from El Jardin. Their seafood dinner specials were delicious, and the Brazilian style ceviche was outstanding. Free movies were shown each night on a large pull down screen or the flat screen TV at the back of the restaurant. This restaurant also has a coffee shop with delicious frozen yogurt, blended coffee drinks.

Six of us also went on the Waterfall Canopy Tour and had a great time. I have been on four different canopy tours in Costa Rica and this was one of the best with a swim stop at a waterfall with a deep pool.

Also, the best beach was a short walk from the hotel in front of the Ylang Ylang hotel--Soft, white sand and fun waves for swimming or body surfing.

  • Liked — Beautiful gardens and pool. Friendly, helpful front desk.
  • Disliked — uncomfortable beds, noisy air conditioning
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ladsummer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telfair County, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2007

An excellent hotel in Montezuma within walking distance of everything (although the same could be said about most of the town). El Jardin is a lush, tropical garden cut into a hillside overlooking the town center and the Pacific Ocean, and it boasts a lagoon-like waterfall jacuzzi set about six feet above a lagoon-like pool. No television, but plenty of hot water and air conditioning. Besides, only a madman or a fool would spend his time watching television in this beautiful setting. Large tile verandas with hammocks and chaise longues in front of all of the rooms. We really enjoyed our stay and were sad to leave. $75 a night with a credit card. You could squeeze four persons in a room, but at this price, why do it?

El Capitan de Espana

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank mpeachhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach Gardens, FL
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2007

Our stay at El Jardin was delightful! It is a very unique property, with both rooms and casitas. We were in a 2nd floor room with a beautiful view of the magnificant gardens and ocean, a full balcony with hammock and 2 deck chairs. The room furnishings were comfortable. Good water pressure in the shower! My absolute favorite was the pool area - plenty of chaises for lounging around the unique bi-level pool/jacuzzi. Relaxation was complete! This is a sister property of La Hacienda de Malpais, another very unique property.

  • Liked — gardens and pool area
  • Disliked — no on-site parking
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mfs524
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2006

We enjoyed the nights we stayed at El Jardin so much.
The hotel is so beautiful, a vision of tropical gardenscape! The landscaping with all the different colors of flowers and the wonderful pool area with waterfall were a pleasure for relaxing after our visits to Cabo Blanco, Curu and Isla Tortuga. One afternoon we saw a family of six Kongo monkeys in the tree above our room while we were swimming. Two of the mothers had tiny babies on their backs. The room was very nice and clean and the cabinets with sections for our suitcases made it so easy to stay organized. I wish all the hotels had this feature! I'm going to write a special letter to Christopher Baker, author of the Moon Guide to Costa Rica telling him how much I enjoyed Montezuma and particularly our stay at El Jardin de Montezuma. Muchas Gracias, El Jardin, for a very lovely visit!

Pura Vida,
M. K., Palo Alto, CA

  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank tropicalmango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2006

El jardin was one of the best things about my trip to Costa Rica! After a long day of sweating and feel gritty from hiking, swimming in salt water, or horseback riding, el jardin made my experience very enjoyable. I suppose if you are traveling on a budget and can fall asleep anywhere, the comforts of el jardin aren't necessary, But if you want a clean and comfortable room, el jardin is the place to stay! Our cabin was cleaned daily, the airconditioning was like heaven in the hot and humid weather, and the pool was so relaxing at night. The ground are very pretty!

  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank akm98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montezuma hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#13 of 19 in Montezuma
3.5 of 5 stars 191 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Amor de Mar
Hotel Amor de Mar
#4 of 19 in Montezuma
4.5 of 5 stars 360 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Celaje
Hotel Celaje
#1 of 2 in Cabuya
4.5 of 5 stars 157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Kalapiti Luxury Jungle Suites
0.2 mi away
Hotel Los Mangos
Hotel Los Mangos
#10 of 19 in Montezuma
3.5 of 5 stars 228 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cabinas Mar y Cielo
Cabinas Mar y Cielo
#9 of 19 in Montezuma
4.0 of 5 stars 50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel El Jardin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Jardin

Property: Hotel El Jardin
Address: Montezuma Beach, Montezuma 6000, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Montezuma
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in Montezuma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel El Jardin 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel El Jardin is located in the center of Montezuma less than 100 meters from the beach.Its constructions are dispersed in various independent buildings, immersed in a exhuberating tropical garden,which is located on a hill, dominating the centre of Montezuma. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel El Jardin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Jardin Hotel
El Jardin Montezuma

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing