We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (922)
Filter reviews
923 results
Traveler rating
758
97
41
17
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
758
97
41
17
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews breakfast and dinner beachfront bungalow tent cabins beach front land rover costa rica joe's bungalow tree top canopy in town our honeymoon couples massage walk along the beach playa grande your luggage tuna yoga studio sister hotel
Filter
Updating list...
40 - 45 of 923 reviews
Reviewed November 18, 2018

This was our second at Ylang Ylang. The first time was just myself and husband last Nov. and as the title suggests, I did not think it could get any better.

Woah.

The service is impeccable, spa is world class, food is very good. I absolutely recommend Ylang Ylang to anyone looking for a memorable stay.

Side Note: Food prices are what they are (over priced if you read other reviews) for good reason. Many of the dishes made at the restaurant require ingredients difficult to find in the area, and I'd imagine cost of transportation to such a small town is high. Mind you part of the reason you choose Ylang Ylang is for the seclusion. It's silly to think prices would be anything but, given the circumstances...

Ylang Ylang is great and we'll be back (again, and again)

Room tip: I personally do not trust iguanas, of which there are many roaming the property. Exotic!
Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Climber68478767540
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YlangYlangManagement, Owner at Ylang Ylang Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2018

Thank you for your wonderful review of Ylang Ylang Beach Resort! We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us (again!) and that you took advantage of our open air jungle spa and our beach front restaurant.

Our location is secluded (which is part of the magic and charm) and you are correct that the cost to get the types of high quality ingredients we use and organic produce here is higher than other places you may see in Costa Rica. Offering these products is important to us and maintaining our high standard of food in our restaurant.

We look forward to having you back again!

Sincerely,
Emma and Moraya Iacono

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2018

We stayed there in September 2018 and had to leave due to numerous reasons. We found many insects (cockroaches, spiders, crabs) in the rooms and in the beds. The room was dirty and musty and overall a bad experience, enough that had us pack our bags and leave early. The management was not on -site or reachable during our stay which left us with nobody to speak to, except staff who seemed to not want to be involved. When asked for any type of refund the management was rigid and not understanding.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank LoveTravel0805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YlangYlangManagement, Owner at Ylang Ylang Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2018

As you mention twice that you stayed with us in September 2018, we are certain that you are either referring to a different hotel or did not actually stay with us because our entire resort was closed for the months of September and October 2018. We have asked Trip Advisor to remove this review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2018

Very clean nice rooms. Top of the line staff! The resort has tons of wildlife including monkeys! Food portion was a little small and a hair over priced. Drinks were great but also over priced. We loved the staff and will return again soon we hope!

Date of stay: November 2018
Thank racejudge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YlangYlangManagement, Owner at Ylang Ylang Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2018

Thank you for your review of Ylang Ylang! We are happy to hear you enjoyed your time with us. We do have incredible wildlife to be seen from just outside your room because we are on the edge of a nature preserve and biological corridor. We also do not have a road, which means that animals love to hang out around Ylang Ylang. Also because of our location and lack of road access, it is more expensive for us to bring in all of our own products. Our restaurant prices are not much higher than what you'll find elsewhere, but we guarantee high quality products and organic produce. We are pleased that you enjoyed the food and drinks and included meals in our restaurant.

We look forward to welcoming you back again sometime!

Sincerely,
Moraya and Emma Iacono

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2018

Stayed in the resort with 3 friends.
Our room had an amazing view to the ocean and the beach.
It's not so far from the village just 15/20 min walk, the places where you can swim are also near by.
The restaurant has many options for all types of tastes with generous amounts of food.
The dishes and the drinks were fantastic.
They also have many activities like yoga, horse riding, massages, canopy tours, etc.
We couldn't have chosen a better place to end our 2 weeks of vacations, relaxing before going to work again.
The place to stay if you are in Montezuma.

Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank joaoamorim92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YlangYlangManagement, Owner at Ylang Ylang Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2018

Thank you for much for your wonderful review! We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your ocean and beach front room and your time in Montezuma. Our restaurant has many options for all types of eaters. We are happy you took advantage of our many activities and left feelings relaxed.

We hope to have you back again someday!

Sincerely,
Emma and Moraya Iacono

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2018

We very much enjoyed our stay at Ylang Ylang; a very nice resort , walking distance from the village and on a stretch of beautiful beach. Too rough to swim in, but swimming areas are only a small walking distance away. The restaurant is great when you havevegetarians in your party: lots of veg options and very nice staff. Definitely recommended when you stay in the MOntezuma area.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank MarinaT69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YlangYlangManagement, Owner at Ylang Ylang Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2018

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with other travelers! We appreciate your recommendation. We are located on a beautiful stretch of beach, just a short walk into town. Swimming can be nice in front of Ylang Ylang, depending on the waves, but there are also many great spots for swimming along the same beach.

Our restaurant is great for vegetarians, seafood fans, chicken lovers, vegans or gluten free eaters. We've got something for everyone!

We hope to have you back again sometime.

Sincerely,
Emma and Moraya Iacono

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews