We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A wonder full oasis. Great New-years in Montazuma!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ylang Ylang Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Montezuma
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A wonder full oasis. Great New-years in Montazuma!”
Reviewed January 7, 2009

We arrived via Sansa airlines into Tambor where we where picked up at the airport by a cab which I pre arranged with Ylang Ylang. The transfer is $40 and so with 2 couples we split the cost. We where transported across the beach via a land-rover to the hotel which was a unique experience.

We had Dome #3 right on the beach it was great. There where a few small ants in the room but what do you expect when your near a jungle. The monkeys went by every morning and afternoon. That was the closest I have ever seen them in the wild. They are so funny to watch and are very curious of people they would jump from tree to tree and then come and have a closer look at us sitting on our balcony I was able to get some great pictures.

We stayed at YY for 6 nights and had the all inclusive program which includes breakfast and dinners. The food was amazing just as good as any 4 or 5 star restaurant. Our server was Jorge who was awesome he is a great asset to YY with his friendly smile and excellent service. Its always nice to have someone serve you who seems to genuinely enjoy their job which I believe he does.

Although I love YY, next time though I think I would only spend 4 nights at YY then move to another part of costa rica because you do get tired of the same menu every night although thats not to say they do not have a great selection and variety of food its just nice to eat out at different places after a while.

We rented the ATV's or quads for the day I would defiantly recommend doing this it was a lot of fun and you get to see alot of the back roads of Montazuma. It cost $80 for the day.

On New Years Eve Montazuma has a street party it was packed full of people tourists and locals. What a great time. At 12 fireworks went off and everyone welcomed in the New Year with a bag. There was lots of loud music and people dancing in the street.

I would definitely go back to Ylang Ylang it is a beautiful oasis and defiantly worth the money.

  • Liked — Amazing location.
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank rv4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

793 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    649
    84
    36
    17
    7
See reviews for
179
441
17
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York, NY
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2009

We stayed 2 nights at Ylang Ylang, the 2 longest nights of our lives. Let me be quick : my husband got up in the middle of the night with a cockroach crawling on his face, we had an ant invasion, the windows or door let any insects in, no hot water everyday, backpack stolen on the beach IN FRONT OF THE SECURITY GUARD!, staff not accomodating at all.
It wants to be a luxury resort and it is no more than a tent with hard walls between jungle and beach. We lost $255 a night in this hell hole!

  • Liked — the overpriced restaurant
  • Disliked — where do I start?
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
11 Thank pinkyhoneybunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uumatter, Administrator at Ylang Ylang Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 17, 2009
In response to "Save your money & run" review.

First off, none of our accommodations are priced at $255/nite.
All of our accommodations offer hot water.
No backpack was reported stolen in front of our hotel over the last few months, let alone in the last year.
Our staff goes out of their way to make our guests happy.
Did you actually stay at Ylang Ylang Beach Resort?


Lenny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilkley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2009

Having spent 5 days in this resort hotel in November, I find myself agreeing with a mixture of both the positive and negative comments about this place.

The positive points are: the setting was lovely, the Jungle King room where we stayed had a/c and were cleaned daily, there were no problems with bugs thanks to a good spray of insect repellant in the room every evening before dinner and closed windows, the beds were comfortable, the food was very good (but not generous in proportion), access to the beach a few yards away was fantastic, all staff were fine (as they should be for the price you pay). The beach access to the hotel adds to the lovely sense of isolation although this can be a problem at night.

The negative points: both breakfast and dinner consisted of one course plus coffee and a fruit drink. No basics such as bread or fruit was offered unlike all the other, much cheaper places we stayed at in Costa Rica.

I'm not sure that it is good value really. Ylang Ylang displays lots of attractive posters exhorting residents to be at one with themselves and the world in this fairly isolated and beautiful tropical setting. Yoga classes, the air of peace which pervades the place and other features tend to emphasis this 'alternative lifestyle' philosophy. It's also reflected in the fairly spartan bed rooms with very little storage space, no shelves in the bathroom, no hot water at the wash basin (shaving was a nighmare!), one very small tablet of soap for 5 nights (although the shower had liquid soap and hot water) and no such luxuries as hair conditioner (admittedly a trivial issue).

In a way, the place seemed to be 'up its own rear-end' in an attempt to offer an experience which was different from the usual expensive hotel in a luxury setting. I find it difficult to explain this conflict but I'm sure that most will understand what I'm getting at.

Both of us felt that there was quite a strong tipping culture despite the additional charges and taxes to the bill but this attitude was evident throughout our 3 weeks in Costa Rica. It's a lovely but expensive country which seems to have 'sold its soul' to tourism.

  • Liked — Situated on the beach with a sense of isolation and peace
  • Disliked — The lack of relatively simple and cheap extras such as furnishings, fruit, bread, soap etc.
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank UKHappy-Wanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uumatter, Administrator at Ylang Ylang Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 17, 2009
In response to your "Questionable value for money" review.

Thanks for mentioning the positives.

We feel you are getting excellent value for your money and here is why;
At $195/nite double occupancy, your rate comes down to $97.50 each.
This includes 16.23% hotel tax (as well as the 13% restaurant tax and mandatory 10% service fee), Breakfast & Dinner, AC, 24 hour security, swimming pool, free internet and all the other amenities... plus our location is right on the beach.

Regarding the food being delicious but not of generous portions, that entirely depends on the specific plate you order. Many of our entrees are very large while the more concentrated dishes are more compact. We use only the best ingredients and all are prepared with love. A large portion of our produce is organically grown.

It is true that Costa Rica has a tipping culture, a result of the proximity and majority of visitors coming from the U.S.
However, whenever you eat in a restaurant, there is a mandatory 10% service fee that goes directly on your bill. You do not have to tip in Costa Rica. That mandatory service fee is a guarantee the restaurant staff will receive their fair share and, according to law, must be included in the price of a meal. Add to that the mandatory 13% sales tax and every plate has a 23% premium imposed.

For accommodations, each daily rate must include a 16.23% combo sales and hotel tax.

The reason for all this lump sum taxation is a result of no income tax being levied on the population. As a business, however, income tax is paid on a quarterly basis.

Add to that the fact that we donate a dollar a day per person to the local Ecological Association, ASEPALECO, and I think you can understand our prices are more than reasonable.

Thanks for your understanding,

Lenny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2008

The Ylang-Ylang resort is supposed to be a fantastic, serene getaway. However, at every step our trip was met with disaster. Upon arriving in Montezuma we trucked our luggage up the beach to the sister hotel in the city centre. The reception there informed us that our transport would not be ready for 2-3 hours!. You can of course walk along the beach 15 mins to reach the resort but with suitcases, rather than backpacks, this would be quite impossible. We decided to see the town, which we personally found less than pleasing--bad food, slow service, no fans or a/c--but many people do seem to enjoy it. When we made our way back to the hotel they told us that the transport for our luggage was not there still!! They decided to inform us then about the beach path we could take and so we left our luggage there and got ready to walk.

The resort is very pretty and on the outside seems serene enough. We had booked two luxury tents because we were excited to really immerse ourselves in the outdoors--see the monkeys, and avoid the bugs as best as possible--and the tents themselves were fine. They had workable sinks and comfortable beds, but they were really, really small. However, the bathroom facilities were disgusting. They were not cleaned up and one of the toilets was not cleaned up after repeated requests by my family. The pool was beautiful but too cold even for the humid air. The bar claimed to have a happy hour but whenever we requested our second drink it never came.

We had expected the food to be good because of the reviews we had read here. But I'm not sure if something drastically changed because our food was inedible. From the soups, to the appetizers to the chicken nothing was cooked right or even bordering on acceptable. We couldn't even finis hour meals it was that gross. Although we are avid eaters I have never returned a plate and we were forced too that night. The service which had been very rude and abrupt didn't even offer us a replacement meal. They literally took the plate walked off and after 30 minutes sitting there waiting for someone to wander over to our secluded corner of the restaurant we got up and went to bed.
This kind of service was not the exception sadly and everyone seemed too busy or too engrossed with their walkie-talkies too help us or even be friendly. We were so disappointed with our stay that we didn't stay for the next night. We decided to return to Playa Hermosa rather than waste another night in hell!

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank trojan22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uumatter, Administrator at Ylang Ylang Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 20, 2009
First off, I'd like to clarify a few details.
Upon arriving in Montezuma, our receptionist informed you there would be a 15 minute wait for your drive to Ylang Ylang Beach Resort.
It was your decision to remain in Montezuma so you could check out the town and were only happy to do so. There was no rush on your behalf and you would let us know when you were ready. Instead, you decided to walk and have your luggage arrive later.
It seems there was a mis-understanding.

Regarding the sanitary shared bathroom facilities for the tents, we offer four flushing toilets and four showers with hot water. From the time you made a complaint to the front desk regarding one of our toilets, the problem was resolved within 30 minutes. This is rather long by our standards, but due to other outstanding issues taking place at the moment, it took one of our maintenance crew around 20 minutes to get to the task and just a few more minutes to get the toilet to flush.

It turned out that someone had placed too much toilet paper in the bowl. At the time of your visit, Christmas to New Year, we had many families with young children. We attribute this to the reason. Christmas & New Years can be rather hectic.

However, there were three other toilets available at the time. Let me emphasize that the Luxury Tent bath and toilet facilities are well kept, sanitary and tiled structures.

You are the first guests to ever complain that the pool water is too cold. With an outside air temperature between 80 and 90 degrees, doesn't it sound nice to cool off in a spring fed pool dipping into the relatively warm temperature of 76 degrees...

During Happy Hour, you write that whenever you requested your second drink, it never came. I can only attribute this to mis-communication in some way or manner.

And lastly, your dinner was less than you expected. I find it truly difficult to fathom that everything you tried was gross & inedible. According to our waiter staff, you never expressed your dis-satisfaction and the majority of your food was consumed. Your complaints to our manager Jose Ramirez was received in earnest and he offered you special treatment for the remainder of your stay.

We make it a priority to please our guests... but if we are truly responsible for all of the above, it is your choice to forget and forgive and let us make amends.

It was your choice to decline and the next morning at 8am you departed.

Reflecting on all of this, I can only establish that there was misunderstanding as well as miscommunication. I might also mention incompatibility as well.

We don't presume to be the best at what we do, but we do try to do our best. It is up to our guests to have a good time, that's one thing we cannot do for them...

Thank you,

Lenny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford, Oregon
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2008

My bofriend and I stayed at Ylang Ylang for a few days our 2 week trip to Costa Rica. If you want nightlife - dont stay here. The hotel is actually a 10 minute walk from town via the beach. The walk is gorgeous in the day but at night the tide can actually overtake part of the beach ( I know that is what happens at the ocean) - making it impossible to pass without at the very least wading - no so fun after a few drinks! Also you want to think about hauling your luggage on the beach to get to there. There IS a hotel shuttle that drives along the beach BUT it only operates twice a day at 730AM and 6PM. Because of our arrival and departure times we had to haul our luggage both ways.

Now - about the rooms..... We paid $215USD a night. The rooms had a space between the roof and the top of the wall all the way around - which was great for airflow, but let tons of bugs in. I was eaten alive each night! I am generally not a picky person, and I do understand what is entailed in staying in a rainforest. With the slots at the top of the wall , we could hear our nieghbors talking! - not so great if you are there with your significant other!
Also the rooms had no A/C, no phone, no TV, no radio ALLOWED AT ANYTIME, no noise after 10PM, and no alarm clock. We had to get up early to leave our last day so we had to pay the securiry guard to come knock on our door and wake us up. The beds were very uncomfortable, and it was miserably hot and humid, needless to say we didnt sleep well.

Aside from these problems ther were some greaty things about Ylang Ylang. The employees were super nice and as helpful as they could possibly be. The restaurant was fabulous! Everything we tried was tasted wonderful, with beautiful presentation. The waiters were very friendly
The resort itself is verrrry nice. The grounds were truly a tropical paradise - so many animals! The aritechture and syle of the place was very pleasing to the eye. They also had a great yoga studio overlooking the beach with classes every sunset - if you are into yoga.

Overall I personally would never stay there again, but it might be nice if you have money and want to detach from the world ( even the town the resort is in). El Sano Banano would be a better choice if you want to walk around town, access better beaches, and for nightlife. Hope this was helpful to someone!

  • Liked — You cooud hear the roar of the ocean waves from your room
  • Disliked — Privacy
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank whimsicalwarthog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uumatter, Administrator at Ylang Ylang Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 16, 2009
Thanks for choosing Ylang Ylang!

Let me clarify a few tidbits here;

You mention that there are only two shuttles a day.
Fact: We shuttle our guests upon arrival at El Sano Banano Village Hotel with an average 15 minute wait time.
On your day of departure, our shuttle leaves at 8am and 11am. You can choose to send your luggage only and stay and use the facilities beyond that time... walking into town at your preferred hour.

You did not stay in the Downstair Rooms, but rather the Upstair Suites. The Rooms (3) have AC, the Suites (3) do not have AC yet, but will in the near future.

Your heading is "Beautiful Resort but not worth the $$$". A bit misleading I might mention. Here is the breakdown;
$215 a night for 2 persons ($107.50 per person)
Includes 16.23% tax as well as the following;
Breakfast and Dinner, 24 hour security, hot water, pool, free internet and all the other amenities... not to mention ON THE BEACH!. If you pay via credit card, we absorb the 4% fee as well.

In my book, you are getting a great deal! There are no hidden costs!

And you're right, in all accommodations, there are no phones, no TV's, no radios and no alarm clocks... on purpose. It's a getaway!


Though only the Suites have no AC yet (clearly listed on our website) we offer all the other accommodations with AC.

If you do the math, you will find the price to be honest and fair. There are no hidden costs.

With all the other positives you mention, how could you not want to return?

Don't you just love the sound of the ocean!

Lenny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augusta, Georgia
Level Contributor
140 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2008

My wife and I stayed at the resort for just 3 days in the end of November. This place is wonderfully unique. If at all possible, we will definitely be back.

Excellent customer care started from the moment of reservations. All e-mail communications and confirmations were very prompt. The hotel also arranged for a driver to pick us up at the Tambor airstrip. Our flight was unfortunately delayed for almost 2 hours. We called the resort and they notified the drive.

Resort is located ¾ mile away from Montezuma. Mario met us the Sano Banano Hotel, owned by the same family, with his Range Rover. There’s no road leading to the Ylang-Ylang. We just drove along the beach. When you check out, they will take you back to the Sano Banano. Check out time is at 7 or 11 am. Your luggage will be picked up 30 minutes earlier.

If during your stay you want to go to Montezuma, you just walk along the beach. It takes about 10-15 minutes. The locals advised us to be cautious walking the beach after sunset. There are no TVs at the Ylang-Ylang; bring plenty of books. The resort has a variety of books you can borrow. Also, in Montezuma there’s a “library.” For 900 colons and 5K deposit you can check out a book for about a week.

The check in process was flawless. We stayed at the Jungle King room. It had a 2 queen beds, a large shower, a small fridge, a safe, an air-conditioner, and two fans. Furnishings were otherwise very Spartan. There was no table and no closet. We piled our luggage on one of the beds. Otherwise, there was little room to unpack. Even though the bathroom was very large, the sink was tiny; no room for toiletries. Pillows were large and soft. The mattress had a pad that tended to slide off at night.

The few shortcomings of our room mattered little. After all, we didn’t spend much time indoors. The beach was just a few steps away. Two hammocks outside were a great place to read and watch the sunset.

The resort has its own restaurant. Breakfasts and dinners are included with your stay. They do not serve meat. To our taste, some of the dishes were a bit too fancy. We rather prefer simple local fare. Never the less, their pastas and Buddha Delight soup were excellent. Drinks are a bit overpriced; about twice what you pay in town. We just stuffed our fridge with beer.

The resort can arrange various tours and excursions. One day, we went to the Tortuga Island to snorkel, swim, and sunbath. Delicious lunch was cooked on the spot. Next day we visited the Curu Wildlife Reserve. We saw myriads of monkeys, birds, iguanas, bats, and other animals.

If you like tranquility, the sound of waves, and the smell of the jungle and don’t need a TV, go to the Ylang-Ylang resort. You will not be disappointed

  • Liked — Location, location, location!
  • Disliked — Room furnishing
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Gene_Augusta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2008

What a beautiful slice of heaven...sounds corny but accurate. The grounds are absolutely beautiful, the capuchin monkeys abound....the staff, especially Mario are so helpful and kind and full of great sentiment, it makes all the beauty so much better...Our bungalow was very private, but with the ocean just a few steps away....the restaurant and yoga deck was wonderful; the relaxation just poured down through you....the food is truly amazing and with such a large selection for breakfast & dinner, which does come with the price of your room, it's hard to beat. I would recommend this resort whole-heartedly, and I don't think any reasonable person could be disappointed!

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank mattise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montezuma
3.6 mi away
Tango Mar Beachfront Boutique Hotel & Villas
2.9 mi away
Kalapiti Luxury Jungle Suites
0.9 mi away
Hotel Amor de Mar
Hotel Amor de Mar
#4 of 19 in Montezuma
4.5 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel El Jardin
Hotel El Jardin
#6 of 19 in Montezuma
4.0 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
4.0 mi away
Hotel Celaje
Hotel Celaje
#1 of 2 in Cabuya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#14 of 19 in Montezuma
3.5 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ylang Ylang Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ylang Ylang Beach Resort

Property: Ylang Ylang Beach Resort
Address: Montezuma Beach | 10-12 minute walk North along the beach, Montezuma 00000, Costa Rica (Formerly El Sano Banano Beach Hotel)
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Montezuma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Montezuma
#1 Romantic Hotel in Montezuma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ylang Ylang Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This family-owned resort is known for its natural tropical beauty, variety of wildlife roaming the grounds and outstanding customer service. Located a 10-15 minute walk on the beach from Montezuma, one will find romantic Beach Front Bungalows with A/C, a Spa nestled in the jungle, and a tropical pool edged by waterfalls. If you're looking to get away, this is the getaway place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Ylang Ylang Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ylang Ylang Beach Hotel Montezuma
Ylang Beach Hotel
Ylang Beach Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing