We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Wonderful place to stay in Montezuma” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ylang Ylang Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Ylang Ylang Beach Resort to your Saves list
Ylang Ylang Beach Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Montezuma Beach | 10-12 minute walk North along the beach, Montezuma 00000, Costa Rica (Formerly El Sano Banano Beach Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Montezuma
Certificate of Excellence
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful place to stay in Montezuma”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

Loved the beach, restaurant, lovely paths, spring fed pool and the walk to Montezuma, a charming town that has not been commercialized. Staff was helpful and told us to catch the baby turtle release on the adjoining beach. A highlight of our trip to Costa Rica.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Kathy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

722 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    588
    78
    31
    17
    8
See reviews for
150
406
16
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

This hotel is so beautiful--right on beach but also surrounded by wild forests, so you feel very removed from civilization. Also great food and plenty of cool activities nearby like surfing, horseback riding, waterfalls, zip lines, etc,

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Eric M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

It´s a great place. Easily the best one in Montezuma. The pool is beautiful, the service is great. The food is magnificent and the spa is really relaxing. At night the sound of the waves is wonderful and all the wild life living free is awesome.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Luis C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014 via mobile

This resort is easily the best one in Montezuma. The pools are extraordinary with the beach right beside them. Howler monkeys everywhere just giving that great tropical paradise feel. The staff is great and fast and it feels safe all around. Highly recommended resort

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank MalyMalz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, Washington
Level Contributor
88 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

Beautiful property right on the beach with breakfast and dinner included. The staff is just fantastic and so pleasant. The food is excellent and the views unparalleled. The pool is small but just gorgeous. The beach is lovely but due to the surf it is not a swimming beach. The yoga studio overlooks the beach and yoga instructors are great. Best view from a yoga studio ever. There are at least two yoga classes a day. They are not part of the inclusive price but are not expensive. Its a good resort if you want to just get away from it all, eat good food and relax.

A few things to be aware of: it is in the jungle..there are spiders, lizards, monkeys and yes, even scorpions. I was actually stung by a scorpion in the room but it wasn't bad and I have had bee stings that were worse. I had lavender oil with me that took care of it right away. The scorpions aren't poisonous but just be aware if you have small children. The other piece to be aware of is the walk to town. There is no paved road. You will need to walk partly on the beach and then on an unpaved road about 1/3 mile or more. It gets dark at 6:30 pm so you need a flashlight to walk to town and back in the evening. My daughter and I did it every day for yoga class and had no problems. The hotel provided us with a flashlight for the walk. However, if you are elderly or bringing a senior (like my Mum) be aware that there is no shuttle to town and back. Although it was fine for my daughter and I ..I may have reconsidered the stay for my Mum if I had known in advance there was no shuttle to town and back from the resort. The distance and lack of stable walking environment was a bit tough for her.

All in all it is a beautiful property that is very relaxing with amazingly wonderful staff. The only drawback is the walk to town on an unlighted rocky dirt road. That really didn't trouble my daughter and I ..just was a bit tough on Mum. Again, I would recommend Ylang Ylang if you are looking for a romantic spot or just want to get away from it all. The couples there seemed to be having a wonderfully romantic time.

Room Tip: The surf is very loud by the cabins on the beach. If you don't mind the loud Pacific surf then...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank allyson360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

The service was the best I've ever received in Latin America. I was very pregnant while traveling and they did an amazing job of catering to my specific needs no matter the scenario. I was able to partake in more low key versions of many activities. The staff was super friendly and professional, not to mention the value you got for what you paid was out if this world. Definitely would recommend Ylang Ylang if your looking for a relaxing all inclusive at good value with great service and connections to all of the activities in the area.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emacy001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Level Contributor
106 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

Fantastic park with monkeys "flying" all around.
Howler monkeys as well as the white-faced capucin monkeys.
This is really on the edge of the jungle right on the beach.
The restaurant is very good, although I would try something else than the mixed seafood next time (not bad, but I think they have other and better options).
The restaurant has also a fantastic view on the pacific.
Also the service is perfect.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank TheBelgianBrussels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montezuma
1.9 mi away
Kalapiti Luxury Jungle Suites
3.6 mi away
Tango Mar Beachfront Boutique Hotel & Villas
2.1 mi away
Hotel Amor de Mar
Hotel Amor de Mar
#3 of 19 in Montezuma
4.5 of 5 stars 351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel El Jardin
Hotel El Jardin
#7 of 19 in Montezuma
4.0 of 5 stars 278 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel Celaje
Hotel Celaje
#1 of 2 in Cabuya
4.5 of 5 stars 154 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#15 of 19 in Montezuma
3.5 of 5 stars 183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ylang Ylang Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ylang Ylang Beach Resort

Property: Ylang Ylang Beach Resort
Address: Montezuma Beach | 10-12 minute walk North along the beach, Montezuma 00000, Costa Rica (Formerly El Sano Banano Beach Hotel)
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Montezuma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Montezuma
#1 Romantic Hotel in Montezuma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ylang Ylang Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This family-owned resort is known for its natural tropical beauty, variety of wildlife roaming the grounds and outstanding customer service. Located a 10-15 minute walk on the beach from Montezuma, one will find romantic Beach Front Bungalows with A/C, a Spa nestled in the jungle, and a tropical pool edged by waterfalls. If you're looking to get away, this is the getaway place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your Ylang Ylang Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ylang Ylang Beach Hotel Montezuma
Ylang Beach Hotel
Ylang Beach Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing