We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We felt the love...” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ylang Ylang Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ylang Ylang Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Montezuma
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Rosa, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“We felt the love...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2014 via mobile

This was our 2nd trip to Ylang Ylang and we really sank into that "sweet spot " that often is elusive other places
The pounding surf lulled us to sleep as we felt completely safe leaving patio door open as our bungalow ie dome sat right on beach. The property employs 24 security and we embraced that feeling of safety throughout our 6 day stay.
Can only say a bit frustrating was the bottom sheet would roll off at night and cause a stir .
Also, our fault for leaving doors open at night a few Mosquitos were attracted in. I think there's a candle that attracts them with a smell that would solve that problem
Other then that: PURA VIDA!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Virginia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

770 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    630
    82
    34
    17
    7
See reviews for
163
435
16
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Morrison, Colorado
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2014

This was our 6th visit here and we will be back. It just seems to get better. Next time we will stay longer. Don't miss the Garden Tour by Patricia. It is better to end your vacation here. It you start here the rest of your experience in Costa Rica cannot match it.

Room Tip: Every room is great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Travelgrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Niguel, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2014

This was our 1st stop in Costa Rica and it is a wonderful, small resort. We stayed in a tent cabin which is rustic (wood slat floors, bathroom outside the cabin). I hate bugs so this was a stretch for me, but at night the sound of the ocean and wind blowing through the billowy curtains is really romantic. The grounds are beautiful, and the resort is right on the beach. Our adult children stayed in a very basic room, with concrete floors. They have "Dome" rooms which would have been a better fit for me. The town is really small, 2 streets, but the people are very friendly and shopping for trinkets was fun. The inclusive breakfast and dinner was great and a very good value. Our vegetarian daughter appreciated that every item had a vegetarian/vegan alternative. 4 days at Ylang Ylang was a perfect start to our trip!! Heard the spa is wonderful, but ran out of time to give it a try :(

Room Tip: Bring bug spray, lots of mosquitos
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
US
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2014

Four of us came here after a cruise thru the Panama Canal. While that was relaxing enough we had no real beach time before heading back to cold weather. The Ylang Ylang Beach Resort filled the bill. Beautiful long, white, sandy beach with water warm enough you can spend the day in it. If the beach is not your thing, the pool area is very pleasant with plenty of reclining lounge chairs. The resort property is lovely with beautiful trees and flowering shrubs everywhere. We stayed in one of the Domes facing the Pacific. Even felt safe enough to leave the sliders open a bit (but not too much or you might have some monkey visitors) so we could hear the ocean at night. Nice comfortable bed, lots of fresh, fluffy towels and a big shower with plenty of soaps and shampoos. Hairdryer & coffee maker too. The restaurant had fabulous meals off a menu or order a delicious, freshly caught fish. All served by a very friendly and helpful staff. They also have a nice gift shop that carries unique local jewelry and gift items along with tee-shirts, hats and some of their fabulous Costa Rican coffee. Take a 20 minute stroll along the beach (bring shoes or flops for HOT sand) to the town. Or you could walk to town along the road above the beach if you need some shade. Either way, the town's a fun place to visit. There's a number of shops and some good places to have tacos or a burger and toss back a few cervezas. All in all a really fine place to spend some time.....I hope to return someday.

Room Tip: We stayed in Domes 1 & 2 which face the ocean and are a very short walk from the restaurant and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Marymadd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2014

A truly wonderful small resort full of peace and beauty. Owners have over 34 years developed a tropical botanical paradise right on the beach, where flora and fauna delighted us. Take a Garden Walk with the owner to fully appreciate what is there. Understated environmental consciousness is present in local food selections, composting of garden clippings and food waste, energy produced 25% from solar, even the fact that you have to walk here from town or take the land rover they use for transport because cars cannot traverse the beach "road" to the resort. We loved being here...on the beach, in a hammock, at the pool, spa, yoga studio, and restaurant, in our rooms falling asleep to the sound of the surf.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank bjg650
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2014

We stayed at Ylang Ylang for our Honeymoon and we couldn't have asked for a better time. The staff was amazing and exceeded my expectations for Costa Rica. Their food was top notch and the view from our jungle bungalow was amazing. We saw monkeys in the trees around us everyday. The beach was amazing and the tours they suggested were fantastic. I can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: Jungle Bungalows are the way to go!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank joelikiespi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
winnipeg
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2014

We have had the good fortune to travel a fair bit. This is perhaps the best place we have ever stayed. The beauty of the beach is actually surpassed by the beauty of the grounds and the pool. The food was fantastic, the service was superb. Complete rest and relaxation away for any city noises but a short ten minute walk to an eclectic little town with a variety of nature excursions. Do not miss this gem!

Room Tip: We stayed at one of the tent cabins - the low cost choice. They are perfectly charming and clean and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank canuckpeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montezuma
1.9 mi away
Kalapiti Luxury Jungle Suites
3.6 mi away
Tango Mar Beachfront Boutique Hotel & Villas
0.7 mi away
Hotel El Jardin
Hotel El Jardin
#6 of 20 in Montezuma
4.0 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Amor de Mar
Hotel Amor de Mar
#3 of 20 in Montezuma
4.5 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel Celaje
Hotel Celaje
#1 of 3 in Cabuya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#14 of 20 in Montezuma
3.5 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ylang Ylang Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ylang Ylang Beach Resort

Property: Ylang Ylang Beach Resort
Address: Montezuma Beach | 10-12 minute walk North along the beach, Montezuma 00000, Costa Rica (Formerly El Sano Banano Beach Hotel)
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Montezuma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Montezuma
#1 Romantic Hotel in Montezuma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ylang Ylang Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This family-owned resort is known for its natural tropical beauty, variety of wildlife roaming the grounds and outstanding customer service. Located a 10-15 minute walk on the beach from Montezuma, one will find romantic Beach Front Bungalows with A/C, a Spa nestled in the jungle, and a tropical pool edged by waterfalls. If you're looking to get away, this is the getaway place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Ylang Ylang Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ylang Ylang Beach Hotel Montezuma
Ylang Beach Hotel
Ylang Beach Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing