We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My wife says best vacation ever”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ylang Ylang Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Montezuma
Certificate of Excellence
The Villages, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“My wife says best vacation ever”
Reviewed January 22, 2014

We stayed for a week with our adult children and had a blast. The resort is beautiful with clean rooms, an outdoor restaurant, and very friendly staff. Our kids had the garden bungalows that had decks tree level so sitting on the deck was like being in the jungle canopy. We hung out in the pool during the day which is close to the bar and restaurant so we had pool service for drinks. There is a town close by, Montezuma, and the kids (our adult children) went there at night to have fun. There was no problem with safety and you do see guards patrolling the area and beach. The staff is top notch with Esteban, Rafael, and Christian providing excellent service in the open air restaurant. When my wife and I would walk back from town during the day they would provide ice water and wet towels for us which is just one example of this friendly staff. Our kids got to know the bartenders and really liked them. Both Ariel and Jeffrey in reception were very helpful and knowledgeable about what to do during the day. And Eric was very helpful with our bags and transportation. We did do the snorkeling at Tortuga island and this was great too. Also the food was exceptional we could not believe how good it was, and I started to look forward to dinner during the day. So if you want a beautiful place in terms of colorful plants and trees, food that is very tasty, and a friendly staff that is truly glad that you are staying with them, well please consider Ylang Ylang. This was our first stay and we will be doing our second stay as soon as possible.

Room Tip: You can hear the ocean from most if not all the rooms or huts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Donna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

798 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    653
    85
    36
    17
    7
See reviews for
179
446
17
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami Beach
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2014

My partner and I had the good fortune to have been able
to stay at this wonderful hotel for 3 nights last week!
The setting, the beauty of the vegetation and beach,
the food, and the friendly and efficient staff all combined
to make our experience a magical one.
I can highly recommend, Enrique, who is hired by Ylang
Ylang to do tours. I had a glorious "sunset" tour to
Santa Teresa (whose beach is one of the most spectacular
I've ever seen) with Enrique.
It truly was a privilege to stay at this very special hotel!

Room Tip: We stayed in Coco Joe's Bungalow, which had a fabulous terrace overlooking the beach and incred...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MiamiBeachFrank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2014

My wife and I have travelled in Europe, the Middle East, Africa, Caribbean, Canada, and Mexico-- never have we stayed in a place so beautifully conceived and executed. It is a small paradise. The rooms are well-appointed, the pool is a jewel, the beaches are excellent, the tour options excellent, the food superb, and the service as good as it gets.
We liked that their service model is not to hover over you. There is not someone at your side immediately when you sit down on the beach or at the pool. But you quickly learn the staff's names and if you ask Christian, Estaban, Merissa, or anyone for anything they respond as if you are the only guest there.
The owners have been gradually developing the facility for years and every plant, every guest room, and every amenity has been crafted with extraordinary attention to detail and congruence with the themes of nature, the local flora and wildlife, and environment. Their personal tour of the facility is a valuable experience by itself. (Even the door numbers are hand painted by the owner.)
If it gets too quiet, nearby Montezuma is a bustling little town with great restaurants and a good mixture of young and old enjoying themselves.
It is hard to see how anyone could have less than an exquisite time.

Room Tip: My brother and his wife stayed in the tent and were very pleased. It is great value. We stayed in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Batavia, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 17, 2014

Paradise! From the setting, to the food, to the staff, and the value. Absolute perfection! My daughter is studying abroad in Costa Rica for one year so I decided to take my other two children to Costa Rica to visit her half way through her stay. I wanted to take her somewhere quiet, but still fun. Somewhere where we could enjoy family time without a lot of commotion going on. Of the 14 days we spent in Costa Rica visiting our daughter, three of them were spent at the Ylang Ylang, and they are by far the most talked about days from all three of my children! Loved every minute! Even when my daughter was stung by a Jelly Fish. The staff was incredible and caring (and she was fine within in few hours). Thank you Ylang Ylang for making our vacation PERFECT!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jill R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 13, 2014

My wife and I spent 6 nights at Ylang Ylang and had a truly fantastic stay. We stayed in one of the beach-front bungalows, which was small but well-equipped with air conditioning, fridge, and large walk-in shower. The private terrace mere yards from the beach was a true delight - we spent time there in the morning and evening every day. Breakfast and dinner (included in your room cost) were both quite good, with many entree choices varying from local foods to sushi, pancakes, and pasta. The pool is lovely and great for kids (saw many children enjoying it), but doesn't get much use since the warm ocean is so close.

The reception staff are friendly and very helpful - they even knew us by name and chased us down a few times when they believed we were going to be late for an excursion. The wait staff and bartenders are also personable and attentive. The housekeeping was mainly good, with a few problems (e.g., we ran out of toilet paper one day).

A few suggestions: There are no alarm clocks in the room, so be sure to have a phone or travel alarm if you need to be up early. I highly recommend the weekly nature walk with Patricia, one of the owners. She described the local wildlife and plants, and lets you try a few native fruits. The massages by both practitioners on site were well-priced and wonderful. There's nothing like a relaxing spa treatment with the sound of (real!) ocean waves in the background. Definitely make the 20-25 minute walk to beautiful, empty Playa Grande. The best restaurant in town (a 15-20 minute walk from Ylang Ylang) is called Playa de los Artistas. It's only open for lunch (not covered in your room rate) on Saturdays. If you can, definitely visit. It's delicious.

Room Tip: Dome 1 (a beach-front bungalow) is right off of the pool, so it may be a little louder than the othe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelsam13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MTL
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2014

This place absolutely amazing. Great check in with a passion fruit drink that is very refreshing the food is amazing the breakfasts were amazing! Try the french toast. the rooms are awesome we stayed in the beachfront bungalow which was really cool just dont take Dome2 as there is no outdoor shower. the beach front suite was also cool if you are more people. The staff is all incredible, very helpful and always smiling. The town is really cool and just a 10 minute walk from the resort. Make sure to eat at Cocolores

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank korib78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larkspur, California
1 review
Reviewed January 12, 2014

PROS
+Absolutely beautiful property set in the jungle just off the beach.
+wildlife
+incredible food
+The funky town of Montezuma-good restaurants, bars

CONS
- trashy beaches...given the remote setting on national park in an ecolodge, I was disappointed that the beaches had so much trash on them. Worse than any beach in California. We'd fill up 2 shopping bags on our 10 min walk along beach into town.
-long rough road to get there
-rooms a little funky-shower and AC not great.
-snorkeling off Tortuga island mediocre.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montezuma
3.6 mi away
Tango Mar Beachfront Boutique Hotel & Villas
2.9 mi away
Kalapiti Luxury Jungle Suites
0.9 mi away
Hotel Amor de Mar
Hotel Amor de Mar
#3 of 18 in Montezuma
408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel El Jardin
Hotel El Jardin
#6 of 18 in Montezuma
327 reviews
6.9 mi away
Hotel Tropico Latino
Hotel Tropico Latino
#2 of 26 in Santa Teresa
555 reviews
5.1 mi away
Tambor Tropical Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ylang Ylang Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ylang Ylang Beach Resort

Property: Ylang Ylang Beach Resort
Address: Montezuma Beach | 10-12 minute walk North along the beach, Montezuma 00000, Costa Rica (Formerly El Sano Banano Beach Hotel)
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Montezuma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Montezuma
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Montezuma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ylang Ylang Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This family-owned resort is known for its natural tropical beauty, variety of wildlife roaming the grounds and outstanding customer service. Located a 10-15 minute walk on the beach from Montezuma, one will find romantic Beach Front Bungalows with A/C, a Spa nestled in the jungle, and a tropical pool edged by waterfalls. If you're looking to get away, this is the getaway place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Ylang Ylang Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ylang Ylang Beach Hotel Montezuma
Ylang Beach Hotel
Ylang Beach Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing