We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A magical place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ylang Ylang Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Montezuma
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 19, 2014

My partner and I had the good fortune to have been able
to stay at this wonderful hotel for 3 nights last week!
The setting, the beauty of the vegetation and beach,
the food, and the friendly and efficient staff all combined
to make our experience a magical one.
I can highly recommend, Enrique, who is hired by Ylang
Ylang to do tours. I had a glorious "sunset" tour to
Santa Teresa (whose beach is one of the most spectacular
I've ever seen) with Enrique.
It truly was a privilege to stay at this very special hotel!

Room Tip: We stayed in Coco Joe's Bungalow, which had a fabulous terrace overlooking the beach and incred...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MiamiBeachFrank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (831)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

361 - 367 of 831 reviews

Reviewed January 17, 2014

My wife and I have travelled in Europe, the Middle East, Africa, Caribbean, Canada, and Mexico-- never have we stayed in a place so beautifully conceived and executed. It is a small paradise. The rooms are well-appointed, the pool is a jewel, the beaches are excellent, the tour options excellent, the food superb, and the service as good as it gets.
We liked that their service model is not to hover over you. There is not someone at your side immediately when you sit down on the beach or at the pool. But you quickly learn the staff's names and if you ask Christian, Estaban, Merissa, or anyone for anything they respond as if you are the only guest there.
The owners have been gradually developing the facility for years and every plant, every guest room, and every amenity has been crafted with extraordinary attention to detail and congruence with the themes of nature, the local flora and wildlife, and environment. Their personal tour of the facility is a valuable experience by itself. (Even the door numbers are hand painted by the owner.)
If it gets too quiet, nearby Montezuma is a bustling little town with great restaurants and a good mixture of young and old enjoying themselves.
It is hard to see how anyone could have less than an exquisite time.

Room Tip: My brother and his wife stayed in the tent and were very pleased. It is great value. We stayed in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2014

Paradise! From the setting, to the food, to the staff, and the value. Absolute perfection! My daughter is studying abroad in Costa Rica for one year so I decided to take my other two children to Costa Rica to visit her half way through her stay. I wanted to take her somewhere quiet, but still fun. Somewhere where we could enjoy family time without a lot of commotion going on. Of the 14 days we spent in Costa Rica visiting our daughter, three of them were spent at the Ylang Ylang, and they are by far the most talked about days from all three of my children! Loved every minute! Even when my daughter was stung by a Jelly Fish. The staff was incredible and caring (and she was fine within in few hours). Thank you Ylang Ylang for making our vacation PERFECT!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jill R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2014

My wife and I spent 6 nights at Ylang Ylang and had a truly fantastic stay. We stayed in one of the beach-front bungalows, which was small but well-equipped with air conditioning, fridge, and large walk-in shower. The private terrace mere yards from the beach was a true delight - we spent time there in the morning and evening every day. Breakfast and dinner (included in your room cost) were both quite good, with many entree choices varying from local foods to sushi, pancakes, and pasta. The pool is lovely and great for kids (saw many children enjoying it), but doesn't get much use since the warm ocean is so close.

The reception staff are friendly and very helpful - they even knew us by name and chased us down a few times when they believed we were going to be late for an excursion. The wait staff and bartenders are also personable and attentive. The housekeeping was mainly good, with a few problems (e.g., we ran out of toilet paper one day).

A few suggestions: There are no alarm clocks in the room, so be sure to have a phone or travel alarm if you need to be up early. I highly recommend the weekly nature walk with Patricia, one of the owners. She described the local wildlife and plants, and lets you try a few native fruits. The massages by both practitioners on site were well-priced and wonderful. There's nothing like a relaxing spa treatment with the sound of (real!) ocean waves in the background. Definitely make the 20-25 minute walk to beautiful, empty Playa Grande. The best restaurant in town (a 15-20 minute walk from Ylang Ylang) is called Playa de los Artistas. It's only open for lunch (not covered in your room rate) on Saturdays. If you can, definitely visit. It's delicious.

Room Tip: Dome 1 (a beach-front bungalow) is right off of the pool, so it may be a little louder than the othe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelsam13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2014

This place absolutely amazing. Great check in with a passion fruit drink that is very refreshing the food is amazing the breakfasts were amazing! Try the french toast. the rooms are awesome we stayed in the beachfront bungalow which was really cool just dont take Dome2 as there is no outdoor shower. the beach front suite was also cool if you are more people. The staff is all incredible, very helpful and always smiling. The town is really cool and just a 10 minute walk from the resort. Make sure to eat at Cocolores

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank korib78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014

PROS
+Absolutely beautiful property set in the jungle just off the beach.
+wildlife
+incredible food
+The funky town of Montezuma-good restaurants, bars

CONS
- trashy beaches...given the remote setting on national park in an ecolodge, I was disappointed that the beaches had so much trash on them. Worse than any beach in California. We'd fill up 2 shopping bags on our 10 min walk along beach into town.
-long rough road to get there
-rooms a little funky-shower and AC not great.
-snorkeling off Tortuga island mediocre.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014

Wildlife everywhere you look. Two kinds of monkeys, many lizards, iguanas, and other four legged creatures. So much fun to explore and never knowing what you may find. Food was incredible though you don't want to be in a hurry as meals are never shorter than an hour and a half, no reason to be in hurry though as you are in an open area dining room looking out at the ocean. Wonderful beach a short walk away and nice pool on property. Our only caveat is our room was too snug for five people. We were in the beach front suite so would not recommend that one. Walls were also thin so you hear everything the unit next two you is saying/doing. Won't judge them on that as it's a personal preference and the property was just so amazing. I would give the property an excellent revues but can't give it for the beach front suite.

Room Tip: I would stay in any of the accommodations with the exception of the beach front suites. Domes and te...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank libbysmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montezuma
3.6 mi away
Tango Mar Beachfront Boutique Hotel & Villas
2.9 mi away
Kalapiti Luxury Jungle Suites
0.6 mi away
Hotel El Jardin
Hotel El Jardin
#5 of 18 in Montezuma
345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Hotel Tropico Latino
Hotel Tropico Latino
#3 of 27 in Santa Teresa
608 reviews
1.1 mi away
Anamaya Resort & Retreat Center
0.6 mi away
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#15 of 18 in Montezuma
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ylang Ylang Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ylang Ylang Beach Resort

Address: Montezuma Beach | 10-12 minute walk North along the beach, Montezuma 00000, Costa Rica (Formerly El Sano Banano Beach Hotel)
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Montezuma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Montezuma
#1 Romantic Hotel in Montezuma
Price Range: $235 - $371 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ylang Ylang Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This family-owned resort is known for its natural tropical beauty, variety of wildlife roaming the grounds and outstanding customer service. Located a 10-15 minute walk on the beach from Montezuma, one will find romantic Beach Front Bungalows with A/C, a Spa nestled in the jungle, and a tropical pool edged by waterfalls. If you're looking to get away, this is the getaway place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Ylang Ylang Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ylang Ylang Beach Hotel Montezuma
Ylang Beach Hotel
Ylang Beach Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing