We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Fantastic!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ylang Ylang Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ylang Ylang Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Montezuma
Certificate of Excellence
alberta
Level Contributor
63 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

We had a great time at Ylang Ylang beach resort. The staff are so friendly and nothing is too much trouble. Food and service were excellent. It's the location of this resort that makes it so unique. Right on the beach, you can almost touch the Pacific ocean it's that close. It is a short walk down the jungle path into Montezuma village, were everyone is so friendly. We saw lots of wild life and spent one afternoon on our patio watching monkeys playing tag. Very entertaining! The separate bungalows are very nicely laid out, and make you feel that you are definitely "one with nature". We would recommend this resort to everyone!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunseeker087
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

734 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    598
    80
    31
    17
    8
See reviews for
156
411
16
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

We are a young couple that stayed there for a few days during Apr 2012.
It was amazing, worth getting there.
The food was excellent and the beaches are no quiet and peaceful.
We saw there more animals than in the rain forests :)
The best hotel in our Cotsa Rica trip

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tott1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We booked Ylang Ylang last minute And stayed in one of the beach bungalows. So glad we did!we loved this place. It was beautiful and quiet and the location was stunning. The nights were spent listening to the waves and watching fireflies. We even had an armadillo in the front of our bungalow at night.

The walk along the beach into the small village was also really nice.we loved montezumas.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travel_Addict001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Our family ( with 2 kids, ages 8 & 10) stayed here for 8 days and couldn't have been happier. The place was beautiful and inviting.The food was very good and the staff was excellent. Should you need a driver, contact Eduardo Sanchez. He was a great guy, very reliable and friendly, with excellent English.

Highly recommend!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Aquarius1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

We stayed in the treehouse for four nights in August of 2013 for our honeymoon! We absolutely loved it! The room is very private, roomy, and romantic. The accommodations, service, food, and staff were amazing! We couldn't have been happier with our stay at Ylang Ylang! We will definitely be back and highly recommend this resort to our friends!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank BBHSaratoga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chico, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Our first visit to Ylang Ylang was for four nights in January ’09. When we planned our January ’13 vacation we said to ourselves, “why look elsewhere” and booked 16 nights. This year we’ve booked another 16 nights. Nuff said?

From our garden dome, we dubbed the sliding glass door “Cine Mono,” (Monkey Cinema). Every day we were entertained by scores of Capuchin monkeys and the occasional family of Howlers. On the days we were in the tents, you could practically reach out and touch them in the banana trees. Iguanas are common, loved the Gray-necked wood rails – they sound like a bird doing an impression of a donkey. We even saw a kinkajou a few times from our garden dome. One day coming back from town we got to see sea turtles being released into the ocean. Other guests commented that they saw more wildlife at Ylang Ylang than in the rest of CR combined.

Now for the food. Wow! We looked forward to dinner every day. Our favorites were the jumbo shrimp kabobs, the chicken kabobs, the seared tuna, the curry, the daily seafood special, and the sushi. Yeah, pretty much everything. We had the Namaste rolls and wraps for lunch a few times and they were delicious. (When we had lunch, we always split something and it was plenty.) Breakfast was always tasty and they were willing to accommodate special requests. (No bacon, but I did get a fried egg with my pancakes.)

Patricia took us on a tour of the property one day and it was very interesting to hear how she and her family had “reclaimed” a former pasture and turned it into such a beautiful oasis over the years. Take the tour with her if you get a chance. Takes about an hour.

We’ve traveled across CR over the last 20+ years. Ylang Ylang is just so perfect, though, for us there’s just no point in staying elsewhere. The food is outstanding, the servers incredibly friendly, and the location couldn’t be better. Try it, you’ll love it!

Room Tip: We prefer the garden and beach domes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ken S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We stayed in the beach front bungalow in August of 2013 for our honeymoon and it was fabulous! We could not of asked for a better location and a better resort right on the beach. The resort is about a 5 minute walk from the town of Montezuma which makes it just the right amount of remote. We did the spa - couples massage - best massage ever!!! The food was amazing, never had a bad meal. I'm a vegetarian who eats fish, so I was in heaven, so many great options. The staff was so friendly and accommodating. We also did the private dinner on the beach (check out their website) on our last night and it was so perfect and so good. Definitely recommend it. This resort is so pretty, it's like a little jungle paradise right on the water. Hope to return some day!!

Room Tip: I recommend the beach front bungalow, definitely worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Christine_travelbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montezuma
1.9 mi away
Kalapiti Luxury Jungle Suites
3.6 mi away
Tango Mar Beachfront Boutique Hotel & Villas
0.9 mi away
Hotel Amor de Mar
Hotel Amor de Mar
#3 of 19 in Montezuma
4.5 of 5 stars 358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel El Jardin
Hotel El Jardin
#7 of 19 in Montezuma
4.0 of 5 stars 281 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel Celaje
Hotel Celaje
#1 of 2 in Cabuya
4.5 of 5 stars 155 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#12 of 19 in Montezuma
3.5 of 5 stars 190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ylang Ylang Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ylang Ylang Beach Resort

Property: Ylang Ylang Beach Resort
Address: Montezuma Beach | 10-12 minute walk North along the beach, Montezuma 00000, Costa Rica (Formerly El Sano Banano Beach Hotel)
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Montezuma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Montezuma
#1 Romantic Hotel in Montezuma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ylang Ylang Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This family-owned resort is known for its natural tropical beauty, variety of wildlife roaming the grounds and outstanding customer service. Located a 10-15 minute walk on the beach from Montezuma, one will find romantic Beach Front Bungalows with A/C, a Spa nestled in the jungle, and a tropical pool edged by waterfalls. If you're looking to get away, this is the getaway place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Ylang Ylang Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ylang Ylang Beach Hotel Montezuma
Ylang Beach Hotel
Ylang Beach Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing