We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great trip- take the side trips” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ylang Ylang Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ylang Ylang Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Montezuma
Certificate of Excellence
Lexington, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great trip- take the side trips”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013

The resort was lovely. We had one of the 'jungle' huts- it was very secluded, and up in the trees- great deck for watching the wildlife, the ocean just visible through the trees. Room was comfortable and cute- not at all like the places we have to stay when traveling for work. The grounds are lovely, and green all year. The beach in front is dramatic and beautiful but a bit strong and rocky for swimming- but a few minutes walk in either direction takes you to more swimable spots. Things to check out: The river (10 minutes walk to the left along the beach, with the interesting rock piles there). The waterfall (on the other side of the town of Montezuma). Excursions with Edwuardo Sanchez to the Sunset beach and Curo wildlife reserve were highlights of the trip. Edwuardo was super- knowledgeable, good driver, full of interesting tidbits, well worth having private tours. We also did the group snorkeling expedition and the canopy tour (not good if you have vertigo, great fun if you don't. They do have an easy 'way out' half way through the trip). The front desk people were so helpful in arranging all this! The breakfasts and dinners were in a lovely setting, very relaxed (not fast service so plan on being leisurely and relaxed). and the best of all was the prettiest yoga room ever (above the restaurant, open the beach) with excellent yoga teachers too- very accommodating to beginners.

Room Tip: The 'tents' are cute but don't offer a lot of privacy. We stayed in a garden dome, very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank signemspencer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

740 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    603
    80
    32
    17
    8
See reviews for
156
417
16
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chapel Hill, NC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

We stayed here on a family vacation.
Overall this was a very nice resort, not at all plush, but very nice.
The best things about it--
The dinner and breakfast that come essentially free (etoh not included) were great. The dinners were the best food we had in CR.
It is right on the beach, and really takes you away from everything. Beach pretty secluded and nice. If you walk on the beach AWAY from town you get to a huge, non-rocky, beautiful beach.
My wife had a great am yoga session. Views were great.
The grounds were really nice.
Montezuma is a short walk and was a cool hippie/rasta expat kind of town.
Downsides--
Again, this was a secluded beach resort. NO TV, spotty internet. Pool was OK.
My wife went to the spa and said it was OK.
Not too much else going on at the site.

Overall it was good, but for comparison we stayed at Nayara resort in Arenal later and there is absolutely no comparison between the two--with Nayaral being amazing and Ylang-Ylang being good.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeSteiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

This place is magical! I got married here last month and had the most beautiful beach wedding of my dreams (thanks to Moraya Iacono, my Ylang Ylang wedding planner and all the incredible staff at the resort!), but that was just the cherry on top of my experience at this resort. The grounds are immaculate and beautiful, the food is delicious, the people are so kind and helpful, my beach bungalow was a dream, the pool is so lovely and refreshing, the smell of ylang ylang flowers is everywhere, there are all sorts of cool wild animals (monkeys, birds, iguanas, etc) mulling about.....I could go on and on!! All my guests loved it here and no one wanted to leave. The best part is the sound of the ocean waves crashing against the rocks, combined with the all the crazy sounds of the jungle lulling me to sleep every night. I loved it! I keep thinking I need to travel more and take more vacations, but honestly, I just want to keep coming back here. It was perfect.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank missamanda78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

We stayed 5 days at Ylang Ylang, Very easy to get lost in another dimension of no responsibilities, no hassles, and no problems. Time just slips by. You may not come back to reality, and if you do, you won't want to. Montezuma is pretty standard for the little town by the beach, great restaurants including Ylang Ylang, Superb coast line,"God did a good job here", and amazingly nice people. I rarely ever travel to a same location but this may be one of the few that brings me back. If you can, grab one of their ocean side bungalows, and just enjoy. God, it is nice to be alive!
We have been back for a couple of weeks and what I would give up to be walking the 1/4 mile to town just to mail a postcard at the bookstore. During those travels the only thing that was on my mind was can I was the sand off my feet when the next wave comes in. Now that a tough day. Enjoy

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BULALY1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

This was the most amazing trip! This resort is definitely first class! The rooms were great, the food was unbelievably good (with HUGE portions), and the staff always went above and beyond. Truly a wonderful place to go. I would, and already have, recommend Ylang Ylang to anyone! Thank you for a truly wonderful experience! ~Jenn and Brady---Florida, USA

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jenn2424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

Was here in march 2007 and again in March this year. Love the setting. Love the friendly staff. Love Patricia and Lenny, the owners. And find the food orgasmic. But since our first visit this hotel has been discovered by families with small kids. This seems odd to me -- the surf and ripping tide on Montezuma are too much even for many adults, and it's a long an arduous trip to get there with young'uns in tow.
Nontheless young families came in great numbers, transforming ylang ylang's small, shaded pool -- which can be an oasis during midday when the sun is blaring down hard -- into something akin to a neighborhood pool back home. Don't bother bringing a book to the pool because the noise from kids running along the banks, shouting and doing cannonball jumps makes reading impossible.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank djcarney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

I read reviews of this place almost daily in excitement for our trip. Yes, it was all these awesome things you read about and more. On the way in, the driver told us they released baby sea turtles the day before we arrived (2/27) at a sanctuary next door. The grounds were beautiful, just like all the pictures, and we saw and heard monkeys daily and up close. Our first night was right after a full moon and the phosphorescents in the water were stunning, I've never seen anything like this glow. We also saw coati and monkeys. The food was absolutely amazing, I was turned from a vegetarian into a pescetarian with that seared tuna. I'll go back just for that but I want you to know about the exceptional staff. After a 7hr trip from Fortuna, in the heat and humidity, we had a delicious meal, and BF was suddenly not well. He stood up, walked a few feet, and collapsed at the restaurant. The staff and a guest rushed to help and gave us ice cold towels and water. They reassured me this was dehydration and helped get him back to the room. We had no phones but they said to call to the nearby security guard if needed and this was reassuring. The next day at the restaurant Christian was very welcoming and caring and we so appreciated this. We were staying a few days and planned to have many meals there so this instantly made BF feel at ease and able to relax and enjoy our stay. Thanks again Christian, Moraya, and guy from Ohio with the dentist brother! :) You guys are the best! We will be back!

Room Tip: We had a beach front room but would probably spring for an upgrade next time. It felt a little tight...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MaineEdith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montezuma
1.9 mi away
Kalapiti Luxury Jungle Suites
3.6 mi away
Tango Mar Beachfront Boutique Hotel & Villas
0.7 mi away
Hotel El Jardin
Hotel El Jardin
#7 of 19 in Montezuma
4.0 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Amor de Mar
Hotel Amor de Mar
#3 of 19 in Montezuma
4.5 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel Celaje
Hotel Celaje
#1 of 2 in Cabuya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#14 of 19 in Montezuma
3.5 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ylang Ylang Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ylang Ylang Beach Resort

Property: Ylang Ylang Beach Resort
Address: Montezuma Beach | 10-12 minute walk North along the beach, Montezuma 00000, Costa Rica (Formerly El Sano Banano Beach Hotel)
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Montezuma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Montezuma
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Montezuma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ylang Ylang Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This family-owned resort is known for its natural tropical beauty, variety of wildlife roaming the grounds and outstanding customer service. Located a 10-15 minute walk on the beach from Montezuma, one will find romantic Beach Front Bungalows with A/C, a Spa nestled in the jungle, and a tropical pool edged by waterfalls. If you're looking to get away, this is the getaway place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Ylang Ylang Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ylang Ylang Beach Hotel Montezuma
Ylang Beach Hotel
Ylang Beach Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing