We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“An amazing Resort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ylang Ylang Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ylang Ylang Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Montezuma
Certificate of Excellence
Palm Beach, Florida
1 review
“An amazing Resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

This was the most amazing trip! This resort is definitely first class! The rooms were great, the food was unbelievably good (with HUGE portions), and the staff always went above and beyond. Truly a wonderful place to go. I would, and already have, recommend Ylang Ylang to anyone! Thank you for a truly wonderful experience! ~Jenn and Brady---Florida, USA

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jenn2424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

734 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    598
    80
    31
    17
    8
See reviews for
156
411
16
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Was here in march 2007 and again in March this year. Love the setting. Love the friendly staff. Love Patricia and Lenny, the owners. And find the food orgasmic. But since our first visit this hotel has been discovered by families with small kids. This seems odd to me -- the surf and ripping tide on Montezuma are too much even for many adults, and it's a long an arduous trip to get there with young'uns in tow.
Nontheless young families came in great numbers, transforming ylang ylang's small, shaded pool -- which can be an oasis during midday when the sun is blaring down hard -- into something akin to a neighborhood pool back home. Don't bother bringing a book to the pool because the noise from kids running along the banks, shouting and doing cannonball jumps makes reading impossible.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank djcarney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

I read reviews of this place almost daily in excitement for our trip. Yes, it was all these awesome things you read about and more. On the way in, the driver told us they released baby sea turtles the day before we arrived (2/27) at a sanctuary next door. The grounds were beautiful, just like all the pictures, and we saw and heard monkeys daily and up close. Our first night was right after a full moon and the phosphorescents in the water were stunning, I've never seen anything like this glow. We also saw coati and monkeys. The food was absolutely amazing, I was turned from a vegetarian into a pescetarian with that seared tuna. I'll go back just for that but I want you to know about the exceptional staff. After a 7hr trip from Fortuna, in the heat and humidity, we had a delicious meal, and BF was suddenly not well. He stood up, walked a few feet, and collapsed at the restaurant. The staff and a guest rushed to help and gave us ice cold towels and water. They reassured me this was dehydration and helped get him back to the room. We had no phones but they said to call to the nearby security guard if needed and this was reassuring. The next day at the restaurant Christian was very welcoming and caring and we so appreciated this. We were staying a few days and planned to have many meals there so this instantly made BF feel at ease and able to relax and enjoy our stay. Thanks again Christian, Moraya, and guy from Ohio with the dentist brother! :) You guys are the best! We will be back!

Room Tip: We had a beach front room but would probably spring for an upgrade next time. It felt a little tight...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MaineEdith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

It really does live up to all the excellent reviews previously received!

Driving in from the main road you will wonder where on earth you are off to. And please note, your taxi (or hire car) will have to drop you at El Sano Banano in Montezuma itself to await a transfer pick up by the hotel's 4x4. This is becuase the hotel is down the beach and very few vehicles can make it there, plus they don't have any parking. However, once there, it really does feel like paradise!

We stayed in a lovely little bungalow/dome (number 1) overlooking the beach with indoor and outdoor shower, aircon and sea view. It was utter bliss. Some of our friends stated in the tents which were pretty basic and a little warm without aircon but a decent price if you're on a budget or there at a cooler time.

The food is really, really good and there is a brilliant swimming pool and spa.

We were here for our friends' wedding and they couldn't have picked a more beautiful spot. Ylang Ylang hosted it and held a lovely ceremony followed by brilliant drinks party, wedding breakfast (Costa Rican style) and bonfire on the beach!

The only downside is you can wait quite a while for your transfer so make sure you are clear with the hotel/El Sano Banano how long it will be so you can decide whether to walk (with your bags following later) or chill out in Montezuma itself.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CFTG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

I don't usually review hotels i didn't stay in, but i kicked myself for not picking this place. We spent happy hours here, and pouted when we had to leave at the end of the day. This is the best location in montezuma. On the beach but not the busy one, in the trees beautiful accomodations.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
Helpful?
Thank nancy t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
61 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

Situated on a beautiful wild beach with various rooms dotted around the gorgeous gardens, the dome rooms are best, the tent ones quite basic with communal washing and wc facilities, I was in a jungle king which had a great view of the beach but was quite dark inside. The food is excellent and the staff v friendly and helpful, apparently the spa is fantastic -my husband went and so did many friends and loved it . It's set high above the beach amongst the trees with sounds of the crickets and monkeys all around.The pool is small but pretty with a waterfall at the back and often monkeys are in the trees all around it . There are yoga and dance lessons most mornings above the main resturant too. It's a very eco friendly place but we all really felt this was the real costa rica and really found our stay magical, would highly recommend a visit.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alexandra h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sihanoukville, Cambodia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

Ylang Ylang was recommended by some good friends and it has lived up to expectations. Set between the ocean and the jungle the location is perfect - in fact from the beach you don't even know the resort is there until you're on top of it.

The tent cabins are rustic with great character. The noise of the waves combined with the noise of the monkeys is a unique and unforgettable experience. Just don't leave any fresh food unsecured otherwise you might have some little visitors!

The pool is beautifully set and the food in the restaurant is excellent with a wide menu of fresh fish, sushi and local Tico dishes. There are a wide range of activities available too - the mountain biking was the highlight.

Ylang Ylang is a super resort, surrounded by nature and stunning views - it certainly offers something a little different. Recommended.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RippedNipper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montezuma
1.9 mi away
Kalapiti Luxury Jungle Suites
3.6 mi away
Tango Mar Beachfront Boutique Hotel & Villas
0.9 mi away
Hotel Amor de Mar
Hotel Amor de Mar
#3 of 19 in Montezuma
4.5 of 5 stars 358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel El Jardin
Hotel El Jardin
#7 of 19 in Montezuma
4.0 of 5 stars 282 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel Celaje
Hotel Celaje
#1 of 2 in Cabuya
4.5 of 5 stars 155 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#12 of 19 in Montezuma
3.5 of 5 stars 190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ylang Ylang Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ylang Ylang Beach Resort

Property: Ylang Ylang Beach Resort
Address: Montezuma Beach | 10-12 minute walk North along the beach, Montezuma 00000, Costa Rica (Formerly El Sano Banano Beach Hotel)
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Montezuma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Montezuma
#1 Romantic Hotel in Montezuma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ylang Ylang Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This family-owned resort is known for its natural tropical beauty, variety of wildlife roaming the grounds and outstanding customer service. Located a 10-15 minute walk on the beach from Montezuma, one will find romantic Beach Front Bungalows with A/C, a Spa nestled in the jungle, and a tropical pool edged by waterfalls. If you're looking to get away, this is the getaway place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Ylang Ylang Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ylang Ylang Beach Hotel Montezuma
Ylang Beach Hotel
Ylang Beach Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing