We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Worth Every Penny!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ylang Ylang Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Ylang Ylang Beach Resort to your Saves list
Ylang Ylang Beach Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Montezuma Beach | 10-12 minute walk North along the beach, Montezuma 00000, Costa Rica (Formerly El Sano Banano Beach Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Montezuma
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Worth Every Penny!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

We opted to spend more and stay in one of the beach front bungalows. WORTH IT!! The "Dome" we stayed in was secluded, a few yards up from the beach and tucked into the jungle. Each Dome has a/c (needed when taking a break from the heat and humidity), a fabulous bathroom with an endless supply of delicious smelling ylang ylang shampoo, shower gel and conditioner, hairdryer, an in room safe, fridge, ceiling fan, decent sized patio with view, and a private outdoor shower for washing off saltwater and sand. They also provide you with free wifi and U.S. electrical outlets so no need for adapters. Forget clocks, television and in room telephone, because thankfully there are none! Bring an appetite for some of the most delicious food you will ever eat, consistently meal after meal (breakfast and dinner is included). Highly recommend the stuffed Mahi Mahi and the Fresh Catch of The Day. They also have an extensive raw live vegan menu and loads of sushi. The hotel is remote and there is no real road to get to it. When you arrive to town they pick you up in an off roading Land Rover. The walk to/from town is about 15 minutes (in sand) so leave sexy strappy heeled shoes at home!! If you are staying at the hotel when they offer a garden tour with the owner, Patricia, take it! A lovely hour spent combing the grounds learning about Costa Rica, the plants, the animals, ylang ylang and how it all began. If your lucky and fruit is on the trees, she will happily cut it for sampling. Our tour was a Friday around 4:30pm. I can't say enough wonderful things about Ylang Ylang and what they stand for. Health, beauty, wellness, love and happiness. If you make the trip to montezuma, pony up the few extra bucks and stay here, it's worth every penny. Quite the hidden paradise. And yes, there are ylang ylang trees if you were wondering! A+ and we will definitely make the trip again and again.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michele N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

722 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    588
    78
    31
    17
    8
See reviews for
150
406
16
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

While my husband and I opted to stay in the more primitive tent cabins, it didn't feel like it at this lovely beach oasis. From the moment that David picked us up in town with a giant smile and warm welcome, we knew that we were in for a treat. Most of the staff were extremely friendly, going above and beyond what we expected. The grounds are beautiful, with just a stones throw to the beach. The beach is clean and uncrowded, and we spent a whole day in the ocean's warm waters. Definitely get a spa treatment while there- my deep tissue message was absolutely blissful! The pool area is relaxing and tropical. It was extremely convenient to have the restaurant on the premises, and we ate breakfast and dinner there everyday. The food was amazing! I would have liked to know up front that my selection of beverage on my first day was $12 each, as I was quite surprised at our first night's bill! In addition, we noticed that there were some people on the resort, using its facilities, but not actually staying there. We were approached by someone who we thought was also staying there, only to find out that he was camping on the beach but needed to shower. However, there are security guards that cover the area 24/7- it is just hard for them to determine who is staying there, versus who is a patron using the restaurant, versus who is squatting. Overall, we had an amazing stay at Ylang Ylang and would highly recommend it to anyone interested in a few days of R&R! From what we saw of the other options in Montezuma, Ylang Ylang far surpasses any of them, and it is far away from the dusty roads, but only a short walk to town.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AndreaMarsCO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Ylang Ylang beach hotel is situated on the Pacific coast of the country.The hour long ferry ride across the mouth of the "Golfo de Nicoya" and the tranfer by road(also about an hour)to the township of Montezuma adds to sense of remoteness that pervades this experience.
The design of this retreat is truly beautiful,no rooms are more than 80 yards from the beach most are much closer,we stayed in a "dome" which was less than 25 yards from the waters edge.A "dome" is a small beehive shaped bedroom,almost hobbit like in appearance,which has a shower room and toilet attached.They are well furnished and brightly decorated.A small verandah ensures that you don't miss any sunshine.None are overlooked.There are other types of rooms available but if you want to be near the sea,book a dome.
The pace of life is leisurely,the setting idealic.
Pelican,frigate birds as well as macaws are in good number and add to the scene.
The beach is wide,the palms offering some shade and the sea is inviting.The waves pound in and some bays,including that at the resort, warn of rip wides and cross currents however if you are sensible and don't venture in alone(unless you are a strong swimmer) all should be well.
The staff were very friendly and eager to make the visit as enjoyable as possible.
There is a small pool surrounded by lush tropical gardens which are a stricking feature of the resort.
The restaurant is open on three sides which offer fantastic views of the lawns and the bay beyond.There is also a spacious patio to the restaurant and I would recommend that meals are taken there as this just adds to the whole tropical experience.The food is amazing and choices are made from a wide selection. The fish dishes are great.One disappointing feature is that there is no dress code and while the vast majority dressed smartly(albeit leisurely)for dinner a very small minority didn't(coming in STRAIGHT from the beach and with 2 teenagers that seemed to be in the "Kevin and Perry" mode this detracted from the experience)
The small town of Montezuma is a 10 minute stroll along the beach(beware the temperature hit 108 degrees F one morning) or along the shaded track which runs parallel to the waterfront.The town is a throwback to the hippie days of the 60's and is a charming place to just sit in one of the many bars and absorb a gentler way of life.Locals peddle wares for those who are interested and ignore those who are not.There are 2 small but well equipped supermarkets to enable stocks of virtually anything to be replenished.

Room Tip: Nothing more to add to above however the rooms offered in a small block "flats" at the far...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lee P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Not necessarily the easiest place to get to, but once there, superb. The staff, facilities and food were outstanding. Have travelled the world, and worked in fine dining for many years, and have rarely encountered staff and food of this consitant high quality. The variety of rooms should suit everyone and every budget. The beaches and pool are intimate and the hospitality is unrivaled.

Room Tip: The rooms, while small, are everything you need. One thing to note is that there is a conspicuous la...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

We intended to stay three nights and stayed the remaining nine nights of our trip.

Start your day with coffee on your private cottage patio, have a shower either indoors or outdoor, and a tasty breakfast. Head off East along the coast and explore three beaches until arriving at a secluded lagoon for a refreshing dip. Attire not required as you will likely be the only ones there. Continue East a little further until you reach the waterfall cascading into the ocean. Upon your return to the resort, take your favorite book and curl up in one of the hammocks among the palm trees on the beach. While relaxing with the waves crashing, keep an eye out for the monkeys that arrive around 4 pm for their daily show. Keep back packs and purses nearby as these cute creatures will empty the contents in search for food.
At some point you need to go for a swim in either the resort's pool or better yet in the Pacific. Towel off, grab your bottle of wine and watch the sunset into the Pacific. Watch for the varied wildlife that will saunter across your path on your way to the restaurant for dinner outside under the palm trees. A nightcap back on the beach under the moon and your day is complete. As you drift off to sleep to the sound of the waves, think of repeating the experience the next day, and the next and....

The complete package of setting, accommodation, food, staff service and the monkeys made this place our favorite on six continents. Interested yet?

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

This was my third time to Montezuma, but I had always stayed in town. We came down this time for a wedding, which was held on the resort (and was beautifully done). This resort is about a 10 minute walk from town, so it's close enough if you want to go into town, but it's far enough that it is quiet and very relaxing. The food is outstanding. My only complaint is that a week is not long enough to try all the delicious menu options. Everything we tried was incredible! Lots of vegan and vegetarian options, too. The staff are very friendly and helpful if you have any questions about the area or even the wildlife (which is abundant within the resort). The grounds are exceptionally maintained, and we would see monkeys and lizards almost daily. The housekeeping was excellent, and the cleaning staff would always fold our towels into various animal shapes - a very nice touch. I honestly cannot complain about anything during our stay. The only thing is that the rates are somewhat expensive, but having said that, the level of quality and service more than justifies the price tag. I wouldn't hesitate to stay there again.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Beach Front Suite. It faces the ocean and has huge windows that allow for an amazi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BackpackAddict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orillia, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Ylang Ylang is wonderful! The staff are all so friendly, happy and accomodating. The food is excellent and beautifully presented! The grounds and accomodations are amazing. The resort is intimate and classy, yet laid back. It is perfect in every way!

Room Tip: All accomodations are great! Their website is also amazing and a very good representation of the act...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montezuma
1.9 mi away
Kalapiti Luxury Jungle Suites
3.6 mi away
Tango Mar Beachfront Boutique Hotel & Villas
2.1 mi away
Hotel Amor de Mar
Hotel Amor de Mar
#3 of 19 in Montezuma
4.5 of 5 stars 351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel El Jardin
Hotel El Jardin
#7 of 19 in Montezuma
4.0 of 5 stars 278 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel Celaje
Hotel Celaje
#1 of 2 in Cabuya
4.5 of 5 stars 154 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#15 of 19 in Montezuma
3.5 of 5 stars 183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ylang Ylang Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ylang Ylang Beach Resort

Property: Ylang Ylang Beach Resort
Address: Montezuma Beach | 10-12 minute walk North along the beach, Montezuma 00000, Costa Rica (Formerly El Sano Banano Beach Hotel)
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Montezuma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Montezuma
#1 Romantic Hotel in Montezuma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ylang Ylang Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This family-owned resort is known for its natural tropical beauty, variety of wildlife roaming the grounds and outstanding customer service. Located a 10-15 minute walk on the beach from Montezuma, one will find romantic Beach Front Bungalows with A/C, a Spa nestled in the jungle, and a tropical pool edged by waterfalls. If you're looking to get away, this is the getaway place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Ylang Ylang Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ylang Ylang Beach Hotel Montezuma
Ylang Beach Hotel
Ylang Beach Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing