We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Beautiful hotel, awesome town” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ylang Ylang Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ylang Ylang Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Montezuma
Certificate of Excellence
Escazu, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel, awesome town”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

My husband and I visited Ylang Ylang for a weekend trip from Escazu. We took the ferry across, and were able to get there in about 3.5 hours total time from San Jose. The hotel is impeccably designed. The lush gardens, monkeys above, and beautiful pool are amazing. The beach itself is one of our favorites in the whole country. The included dinner and breakfast were both outstanding. My husband had the red snapper and tuna, and I had the shrimp kebabs and a chicken dish. All were delicious. Our server Harold was wonderful, and eager to talk to us about things to do in the area. The on site yoga was very nice, loved staring out into the beautiful ocean! The front desk people could have been slightly nicer. On our check out day, we asked if we could sit with our luggage by the pool until we were ready to leave and then have the car take us into town to our car. We were told if we wanted a ride we would have to leave at 11, otherwise they would take our luggage for us and we would have to walk into town later. The walk isn't bad, but when it's 99 degrees out and you are about to sit in a car for a few hours we didn't want to be all sweaty. We didn't really appreciate that. Also, we were in the second floor of the beach house, and had no hot water when showering. Considering the price of this place, we were highly disappointed in this.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lindsey l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

734 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    598
    80
    31
    17
    8
See reviews for
156
411
16
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Ylang Ylang Beach Resort is beautiful. Our vacation was an amazing adventure and Ylang Ylang was a big part of the reason. The facility is efficiently run, clean, very comfortable, beautifully landscaped; everything we could have imagined a tropical resort to be. The meals were delicious with a varied selection of freshly prepared foods. A great variety of activities: horseback riding over beaches and dry forest to a waterfall; watching newly hatched sea turtles make their way to the sea; a private tour of a dry forest with naturalist, Eduardo, where we interacted with white face and howler monkeys and viewed toucans, hawks and other wildlife. From dosing off in hammocks, swimming in the outdoor pool and receiving relaxing, therapeutic massage all while listening to the ocean; to a wonderful Christmas Day dinner and show, Ylang Ylang is an excellent choice. We loved it!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RobinGL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I are not the hippy type but still wanted to visit the town of Montezuma on our last per-baby vacation. Ylang Ylang was sucha beautiful and charming resort situated amongst a tropical jungle at the and of the Montezuma beach. The walk is short and enjoyable and the hotel provides flashlights for any nighttime exploring on the beach. We did have some ants that visited us during our stay, but I'm sure they can't be avoided in the jungle. This hotel has impeccable service and unbeatable meals. Breakfast and dinner are top notch (think fine cruise cuisine but local and very fresh) and are included with your stay. The pool is shaded amongst tropical foliage, a perfect retreat from the sun. If you are wanting to stay in the Montezuma area, you will not find a better place.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Katelyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astoria, Oregon
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

On our first trip to Costa Rica, my husband and I wanted to stay someplace that was on the beach, away from the hustle and bustle, so that we could relax in the sun and view the natural beauty and wildlife of this country. We found our tropical paradise and it is called Ylang Ylang. We stayed 5 nights and could not have been happier with our choice of accomodations.
The resort itself is beautiful. The grounds are expansive and lush, and each of the bungalows is private, spaced well away from the others. Some are almost hidden from view. We stayed in Dome 6 and loved its location. We enjoyed sitting on our balcony each afternoon and watching the birds, iguanas, and monkeys. Every day we were visited by a family of capuchins that played and rested behind our bungalow. We were able to snap some great photos.
At home I sometimes have trouble sleeping, as does my husband. But here we both slept soundly. The bed was comfortable, and the sound of the sea lulled us to sleep.
We thought the meals were superb, especially the dinner selections. We always were surprised by the unique flavor combinations. And the wait staff were so friendly, courteous, and professional. Christian, Andre, and Harold are especially good.
The location of the resort makes it very peaceful, yet it is also quite convenient to town as it takes only 5 minutes to walk there. The village of Montezuma is quaint, but has a pretty beach and a few nice shops and places to eat. And although the beach at Ylang Ylang is small, it is beautiful. You can easily walk northward along several other scenic beaches as well.
In summary, Ylang Ylang is a fabulous place to stay providing comfort, relaxation, and serenity. We did not want to leave, and we most definitely will be back some day.

Room Tip: The garden bungalows are a good choice. We saw a lot of wildlife close by, and we could still hear t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gayle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Ylang Ylang is a fantastic resort! We came for a 3 night stay in the beach front bungalow as part of our honeymoon, and we could not have been happier with everything! The food was delicious. Every member of the staff was fun, entertaining, prompt, and extremely helpful. The entire resort was beautifully landscaped with exotic animals (white-faced monkeys, howler monkeys, iguanas, birds) able to run around in their natural environments. The beach view was breathtaking, and the short walk to the town of Montezuma always made our evenings enjoyable. The trip could not have been more perfect, and we hope to be able to return!! Thanks Ylang Ylang!!!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lboaen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

There are not enough nice things to say about this lovely place. It's beautiful, feels like you are way away, but thre's always stuff to do! Our extended family of 10-74 year olds was spoiled and treated like honored guests. The staff is absolutely amazing, especially Patricia, Harold, Christian and Anna in the restaurant and Esteban and Jeffrey in the office. Our entire family did the "romantic" beach dinner for Christmas eve - it was sublime. Ireni is an AMAZING yoga teacher - make sure you try her river yoga class. The grounds are exquisite, with monkeys, iguanas and all sorts of birds. The rooms are lovely and innovative, the pool is great, the food is AWESOME and the walk into town is pleasant. Make sure to check out the turtle sanctuary down the beach - in season, they are releasing baby Olive Ridleys and even Leatherbacks! Also, surfing with Manny of Young Vision is the only way to go!! The only thing I would stay away from is the horseback riding - the outfitters Ylang Ylang is currently working with are not taking care of their horses, who are often lame. The beach ride up to the falls sounds great, but it's actually a hot trudge for you and the horses. Look up El Pinto instead - Marvin is amazing, with happy healthy horses and it's well worth the short trip to him so that you can see the rainforest, and he can also arrange a gorgeous sunset beach ride at Malpais.

Room Tip: Everything is beautiful - garden domes a bit more private, with monkeys outside your windows each mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WanderingWs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethel, Alaska
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We got married here in August 2012 and it was the most amazing experience ever!!!! The staff was helpful! The food was delicious! The room was gorgeous and the views were to die for! My husband and I had amazing couples massage, and the full package! The spa room was perfect, the massage therapists were awesome! Our wedding planner Moraya was amazing! I reccommend anyone who wants to get married Ylang Ylang is the #1 location! He was helpful, he made all our dreams come true. Everything was just right! I didnt have to lift a finger!!!! And the owners were awesome! The room at the end of the night was gorgeous! Our photographers Juan & Ruth were the best!!!! Just talking about our perfect experience at Ylang Ylang gives me butterflies! We had the best wedding! The best location, service, photographers, planner, and owners!!!! Thanks again for everything!!!!

Pura Vida!
Nikki

Room Tip: Any room! They are all gorgeous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NikkiCorb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montezuma
1.9 mi away
Kalapiti Luxury Jungle Suites
3.6 mi away
Tango Mar Beachfront Boutique Hotel & Villas
0.9 mi away
Hotel Amor de Mar
Hotel Amor de Mar
#3 of 19 in Montezuma
4.5 of 5 stars 358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel El Jardin
Hotel El Jardin
#7 of 19 in Montezuma
4.0 of 5 stars 281 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel Celaje
Hotel Celaje
#1 of 2 in Cabuya
4.5 of 5 stars 155 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#12 of 19 in Montezuma
3.5 of 5 stars 190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ylang Ylang Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ylang Ylang Beach Resort

Property: Ylang Ylang Beach Resort
Address: Montezuma Beach | 10-12 minute walk North along the beach, Montezuma 00000, Costa Rica (Formerly El Sano Banano Beach Hotel)
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Montezuma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Montezuma
#1 Romantic Hotel in Montezuma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ylang Ylang Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This family-owned resort is known for its natural tropical beauty, variety of wildlife roaming the grounds and outstanding customer service. Located a 10-15 minute walk on the beach from Montezuma, one will find romantic Beach Front Bungalows with A/C, a Spa nestled in the jungle, and a tropical pool edged by waterfalls. If you're looking to get away, this is the getaway place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Ylang Ylang Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ylang Ylang Beach Hotel Montezuma
Ylang Beach Hotel
Ylang Beach Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing