We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THE BEST VACATION”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ylang Ylang Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Montezuma
Certificate of Excellence
Collinsville, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“THE BEST VACATION”
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Me and my husband stayed here for a week. (we got married here). The staff were the most friendly people ive ever met! They bent over backwords to make sure all of our needs were met. We stayed in dome 7, it was perfect!!!!!! we were in the rainforest and could still see the gorgeous beach! The food was soooo delicious as were the drinks. ive seen some people say it was a long walk to do anything.... Not true. The walk to town was nothing and with all the beauty surrounding you how could you not enjoy a 10 minute walk????????????????? REALLY????? the town people were also very friendly. It was the best vacation of my life!!!! we will be going back every year!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! p.s. Go to the spa and get a nice stone massage!!!!!

Room Tip: stay in a bungalow. very private and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Isaiah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

798 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    653
    85
    36
    17
    7
See reviews for
179
446
17
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Davidson
1 review
Reviewed August 17, 2012

All of the wonderful reviews for this resort and restaurant don't do it justice. From the moment we arrived and were handed glasses of passion fruit drinks to our departure 2 days later, this place was fabulous. The lush, tropical landscape full of blooming flowers and fruit trees was gorgeous. We saw monkeys, iguanas, lizards, frogs, black & orange land crabs, numerous birds, a conti and an agousti, all which the helpful staff will identify for you. The ocean was steps away from our room in the beach-front suite. Most of the rooms are spread out on the property so you have tons of privacy. We signed up for a canopy tour through the resort and had a blast. It was a workout climbing the various platforms and mountains (you get to walk down to a waterfall and swim halfway into the tour) but the sweeping views of the rainforest and coastline were incredible. I would highly recommend Ylang Ylang!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
Reviewed August 7, 2012

My boyfriend & I came here for his birthday. It feels so private, romantic & remote... We had to take a land cruiser on the beach to get there. The ocean waves, the hammocks, the multi-colored crabs & lizards that scamper on the pathways, the cocktails, the food, the friendly people. We really loved that they put fresh flower petals all around the sink and made a birthday cake out of towels decorated with flowers, spelling out his name. Clean, dreamy, an oasis, your own tropical jungle... This place rocks!!! :) Here's a video... http://youtu.be/aF7_uRTLSQI

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PixieVision
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverton, Utah
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2012

Despite the weird name of this hotel, my wife and I had a marvelous experience. We stayed 3 nights in a beach-front bungalow, falling asleep to the sounds of the ocean each night. Even though it was the "rainy season," we only experienced short showers at night, so enjoyed marvelous weather.

The Ylang Ylang Resort was very clean, our bed was perfect, the a/c worked great (which helped us dry out from the humidity at night). The restaurant was superb: definitely the best food we ate in Costa Rica.

The grounds were crawling with interesting lizards, which was delightful for us. The location is a short walk from the town center, which was perfect: far enough away from the traffic to keep the beach empty, but close enough to easily get to Montezuma for excursions.

The way the landscaping and architecture are set up, visitors are afforded a great deal of privacy. You would be very comfortable and happy here as a couple, group, or family.

Room Tip: Go for the Beach-front Bungalow. Close to the sand, but you will not be exposed to foot-traffic goi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 31, 2012

My husband (<--still weird to say) and I spent 6 days at Ylang Ylang in Montezuma, and we couldn't have been more blown away. We knew that we didn't want to honeymoon in a massive resort that isolated visitors from the local culture, but we also didn't want to "rough it" like we usually do. It was in this mindset that we found Ylang Ylang reviews here on Trip Advisor, and we were glad to see that they were (mostly) accurate.

The best thing about Ylang Ylang is that it's the perfect balance of comfort and an authentic experience. If you walk in one direction down the beach, you'll reach the town of Montezuma. If you walk the other way, you'll find freshwater streams, amazing seaside boulders, and what we affectionately started calling "The Pirate Beach". (It seemed like the perfect place for old school pirates to dump their treasure.) And no matter how sweaty you get, no matter how hard you hike/climb up those boulders, you know you have a hut w/ AC, a shower, and a comfortable waiting for you.

As others have mentioned, the food was excellent. Our package included breakfast and dinner everyday, and it was enough food to where we only ate lunch on one day. We looked forward to every meal, and none of them disappointed. I was really surprised with how large their menu was--perfect for those staying for more than a couple nights.

The spa was nice, too. We had a couple's message, and the spa itself was beautiful and relaxing. My husband says his masseuse was great, as she communicated with him to assure she was applying the right amount of pressure, etc. My masseuse, however, was a little less impressive. Basically, she didn't go hard enough. I was a little disappointed, but I chalked it up to the fact that she was most likely newer. Regardless, I still found my spa experience to be relaxing and enjoyable, and I would book another message in a heart beat.

The only activity we did was the horse ride to the world's only (?) waterfall into the ocean. We had the front desk book it for us, and I believe they booked it with "El Pinto". If you're adventurous, you should definitely do this. It was our favorite day! Marvin was an amazing guide, he takes very good care of his horses (which we heard through the grapevine), and he even brought along a snack. Neither of us were experienced horseriders, and we were sore for a couple days. But man was it fun!

Finally--do the beach side dinner, or "Dinner Romantico" as it's called. It really is romantico.

Can't wait to back to Ylang Ylang, maybe next time with our families.

Room Tip: We stayed in D-1 (there was something about "helaconia" tiled into the hut.) Even though i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SammyPlap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryan, Texas, United States
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2012

My wife and I had high expectations of our trip to Costa Rica, and the experience we had at Ylang Ylang made it a dream vacation come true. Things we liked: the remoteness (some of our friends thought that we were weird to choose a hotel that requires a 10-15 min beach walk to get to, but having the whole beautiful beach to ourselves made it well worth it); the food (you've gotta try to the shrimp kabobs for dinner); the beach bungalow (rainforest out the back door, stunning beach view out the front door); the customer care from beginning to end (we had flower pedals sprinkled all over our bungalow when we arrived, and the staff was nice enough to ship the pair of glasses I left behind at no charge). I'm a penny pincher, so the $250/night price was hard to swallow at first, but I can honestly say it was worth every single penny.

PS-- The colored rock beach which is a 5 min hike up the beach was one of the coolest beaches I've ever been on.

Room Tip: We liked the beach bungalows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 24, 2012

From the moment I contacted Ylang Ylang about a possible trip until my departure after a week on the property, the staff took me in their care and made me feel comfortable and welcome. The property is absolutely beautiful, the food simply terrific, and the yoga retreat with Ireni Stamou, calming and somewhat life changing! Spa fabulous, activities fun (enjoyed Pinto horseback riding), and accommodations unique. To me, beaches rival Hawaii.

Room Tip: Beach front bungalo was fabulous but tents look really cool as well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montezuma
3.6 mi away
Tango Mar Beachfront Boutique Hotel & Villas
2.9 mi away
Kalapiti Luxury Jungle Suites
0.9 mi away
Hotel Amor de Mar
Hotel Amor de Mar
#3 of 18 in Montezuma
409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel El Jardin
Hotel El Jardin
#6 of 18 in Montezuma
327 reviews
6.9 mi away
Hotel Tropico Latino
Hotel Tropico Latino
#2 of 26 in Santa Teresa
556 reviews
5.1 mi away
Tambor Tropical Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ylang Ylang Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ylang Ylang Beach Resort

Property: Ylang Ylang Beach Resort
Address: Montezuma Beach | 10-12 minute walk North along the beach, Montezuma 00000, Costa Rica (Formerly El Sano Banano Beach Hotel)
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Montezuma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Montezuma
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Montezuma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ylang Ylang Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This family-owned resort is known for its natural tropical beauty, variety of wildlife roaming the grounds and outstanding customer service. Located a 10-15 minute walk on the beach from Montezuma, one will find romantic Beach Front Bungalows with A/C, a Spa nestled in the jungle, and a tropical pool edged by waterfalls. If you're looking to get away, this is the getaway place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Ylang Ylang Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ylang Ylang Beach Hotel Montezuma
Ylang Beach Hotel
Ylang Beach Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing