We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Blissful Honeymoon!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ylang Ylang Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Montezuma
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Blissful Honeymoon!”
Reviewed February 28, 2012

My wife and I had an absolutely wonderful time at Ylang Ylang! We spent a week there for our honeymoon, and given that we wanted to just chill out in paradise, this place was perfect.

As it is not accessible by public roads, it is well off the beaten path and very peaceful. The beachfront is beautiful and contrary to some reviews, actually somewhat swimmable - if you are willing to keep an eye on the rocks. Still, there are better beaches for swimming nearby. In any case we got in the water as much as we wanted, and mostly just hung out on the beach, in the hammocks provided by the resort, and the beach chairs too.

We spent a few hours on the nearby beach that has a river running down through the jungle to the beach; there we climbed up the riverbed and enjoyed splashing around in the natural cool pools and little waterfalls!

We had the couples' swedish massage which was so beautifully presented and such a tranquil experience; the massage therapists are very skilled and incredibly kind and sensitive. We only wish we had budgeted for more massages, as they have many options on the spa menu.

We stayed in the tree-top canopy and it was an amazing place, and are so happy that it worked out to book it! we understand it is actually built by and for Moraya, the reservations manager and son of the owners, but now that he spends a lot of time elsewhere, they have made it available to guests! And in fact it really is so private, so spacious, so peaceful, and with the beautiful view of the sunrise each morning, we felt it was worth every penny. We saw plenty of monkeys in the nearby trees and lots of lizards too! none of these creatures actually visited us on the deck of the house so perhaps they are just more comfortable in the trees, although we were warned to not leave any food out. Also, the details from the comfortable furniture to the outdoor shower to the large safe, were exceptionally appropriate and appreciated! although it has air-conditioning we never used it, preferring to feel the warm breeze through the mesh windows. we feel lucky we were able to stay there!

The restaurant and the staff there were so wonderful too! We really enjoyed all the food, and especially the exceptional service offered by Harold and Gisele, Anna, Cristian, and Christi! We made friends with all of them, and think Harold is a real saint - such a sweet and generous man! We even practiced yoga together with Harold and Cristian {my wife is a yoga teacher}.

Getting to Ylang Ylang via Nature Air and returning via Taca Regional from Tambor airport was overall very smooth, although it is a little scary to be in those small planes. {the planes from each airline seemed identical, and are apparently modern and well-maintained} However, if you can relax and enjoy the ride, the views are stunning! Moraya was very helpful with guiding us through the local transportation options. Taking the local flights, plus direct flights to and from LA to San Jose, meant that we really minimized the travel time and avoided the need to stay in a hotel in San Jose.

One thing to be aware of when leaving Costa Rica is that you have to pay a "departure tax" at the airport, so you must queue up in a separate line to pay [about $30 per person] before you check in with your airline. This has nothing to do with Ylang Ylang of course, but in all of our research it was still an unwelcome surprise so I thought I'd alert fellow travelers.

Room Tip: The Tree Top Canopy is the most spectacular and private and spacious, however all the rooms and suit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

791 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    648
    84
    35
    17
    7
See reviews for
177
441
17
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2012

Ylang Ylang is like paradise! We had a wonderful stay for two nights including the romantic dinner on the beach. The casita was beautiful, secluded with a wonderful view of the ocean from our private balcony. The food was amazing--gourmet. The location was quiet but convenient to Montezuma. We would highly recommend it to anyone travelling to Montezuma. The service at the restaurant, in particular, was friendly and welcoming.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NYCTraveller23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa Rica
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2012

This is one of the most beautiful places in Costa Rica! I have been there several times, and each time has been even better! The owners, Leni and Patricia, their children, Moraya and Syska, and the employes, all them are great people, great friends, great human beings! My heart mingles every time I know I'll be there again!

Room Tip: All rooms are a great experience with nature, the ocean, quietness and privacy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnaCastroCostaRica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2012

My wife and I recent took or second trip together to Costa Rica, a delayed honeymoon of sorts, and we decided to head to Montezuma. Our research led us to Ylang Ylang Beach Resort and planning our trip was a breeze, as their website is amazingly clear and comprehensive and their customer service is excellent.

Our stay was luxurious, incredibly comfortable and peaceful. We stayed in one of the beach front bunglaows, with the gorgeous playa montezuma right at our door step. It was the most relaxing vacation we've ever had and I can't recommend it highly enough. Special thanks to Andre, Christian, Kristi and all of the staff who made our time at Ylang Ylang unforgettable. We will most certainly be going back :).

Room Tip: Hotel rooms seem just as nice and near the beach as bungalows, if you're looking to save a littl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonathan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thornhill, Canada
Level Contributor
224 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2012

Their web site is one of the most comprehensive - and honest - I have ever seen. Read it and you will know what to expect. The negative reviews are obviously written by people who did not do their homework or, as is often the case in all reviews, inveterate complainers.

My wife and spent four nights. This is a 3 to 4 star resort, but with 2 star prices. Where else do you find the best rooms for a little over $300 per night - including breakfast and dinner for two?

The rooms are somewhat rustic but not out of keeping with the setting. We did note that general maintenance is not perfect, minor annoyances including faulty or missing sink plugs, burned out light bulbs on public paths not replaced, worn sliding door hardware. In addition, the quality of bedding and condition of drapes could use improvement

My average rating for Location is due to the fact that it is not easy to get to one's car. This requires a 15 minutes walk across a very hot beach. Had this not been the case, we would have been encouraged to take a couple of side trips. Of course, we knew about this in advance; however, it is an inconvenience. Had we not been driving, I would have rated Location as at least 4.

The included meals were just fine and a reasonable range of wines is available. Restaurant service is friendly and competent, although the kitchen service seems to be a tad slow, even when there are only very few other guests in the restaurant.

Although we found the beach to be clean and well cared for, and the sand to be better than many other beaches we have seen around the world, we have been spoiled by the pink coral sand beaches of the out-islands of the Bahamas.

For all of Ylang Ylang's little imperfections, we did enjoy a very relaxing few days between the beach and the manicured jungle, in the company of a variety of wildlife. We understand why it is important to reserve up to 12 months in advance.

Room Tip: Coco Joe's for beach view and loud roar of waves. Domes 7 or 8 for trees view and no beach view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zippy22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed February 23, 2012

My husband and I went for our anniversary. We stayed for a week in one of the garden bungalos at the back of the property. Every morning we watched the iguanas climb the trees. Each afternoon we sat on the balcony to watch the monkey traffic in the trees and by sunset the iguanas were climbing back down. The bungalo was very private, with lush jungle around us. We were just a few steps to the main path, the pool and the beach, but it felt like we had the whole place to ourselves.

It's amazing how beautiful this place is and how much work has gone into making it so. The owners took a cleared cattle grazing land and turned it back into lush jungle. If you are a nature lover, you will *love* this place. I highly recommend you take the garden tour with the owner. She is a lovely lady and will tell you all about their history and will point out what everything is.

The cool thing about this resort is it is small and family-owned. There are several different types of housing, from the bungalos in the jungle or on the beach, to other room options in a more hotel type building to a jungle canopy house (we've been in this and it was AWESOME!), to solid tent-like structures that are a bit cheaper. All lodging options come with breakfast and dinner at the restaurant. Let me tell you, you're going to love the restaurant!

We visited the spa (glorious!) and had a couples Sweetish massage. Best massage ever! Those little ladies have magic hands and the setting was so relaxing.

The pool area is beautiful, but we didn't hang out here much. There is a wonderful covered hammock structure next to it that I somehow passed out in for an hour. That was a nice nap.

Every day we came back to our cleaned room and found fresh flowers and towel art decorating our bed and bathroom. There is so much detail and work put into everything they do here. I've never had better service from any hotel/resort and I've stayed at a lot of them. Ylang Ylang is what we think of when we think Costa Rica. You deserve to treat yourself once in a while, why not do it there? Oh, I can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: The garden/jungle bungalows have great views of the wildlife!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jg1234567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed February 21, 2012

Outstanding customer service. We loved our waitstaff, Kristi and Harold. The pool was lovely and quiet and it was fun to see the monkeys amble by every afternoon. The food was wonderful and very fresh. We came to this resort via friends who have been going there for 7 years. And we met people there who have been traveling there for 17 years. If that doesn't say something I don't know what does. If you need the ultimate relaxing, small resort this is the one for you.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mjw1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montezuma
3.6 mi away
Tango Mar Beachfront Boutique Hotel & Villas
2.9 mi away
Kalapiti Luxury Jungle Suites
0.9 mi away
Hotel Amor de Mar
Hotel Amor de Mar
#4 of 19 in Montezuma
4.5 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel El Jardin
Hotel El Jardin
#7 of 19 in Montezuma
4.0 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
4.0 mi away
Hotel Celaje
Hotel Celaje
#1 of 2 in Cabuya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#14 of 19 in Montezuma
3.5 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ylang Ylang Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ylang Ylang Beach Resort

Property: Ylang Ylang Beach Resort
Address: Montezuma Beach | 10-12 minute walk North along the beach, Montezuma 00000, Costa Rica (Formerly El Sano Banano Beach Hotel)
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Montezuma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Montezuma
#1 Romantic Hotel in Montezuma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ylang Ylang Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This family-owned resort is known for its natural tropical beauty, variety of wildlife roaming the grounds and outstanding customer service. Located a 10-15 minute walk on the beach from Montezuma, one will find romantic Beach Front Bungalows with A/C, a Spa nestled in the jungle, and a tropical pool edged by waterfalls. If you're looking to get away, this is the getaway place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Ylang Ylang Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ylang Ylang Beach Hotel Montezuma
Ylang Beach Hotel
Ylang Beach Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing