We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Paradise in Costa Rica” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ylang Ylang Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ylang Ylang Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Montezuma
Certificate of Excellence
Morrison, Colorado
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Paradise in Costa Rica”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2012

We have been to YlangYlang 4 times and will continue to go there. It is always the highlight of our annual trip to Costa Rica. We love the walk on the beach, the views, and especially the fantastic food. The beautiful landscaping and monkeys always enhance the experience. It is so wonderful to return and have the same wait staff and welcoming reception. It is better to go at the end of your trip, however, because the rest of the your experiences may be not as relaxing or enjoyable. We love Costa Rica and have been there 7 times and this resort is the best of the many we have tried.

Room Tip: The Jungle Rooms are always great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelgrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

734 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    598
    80
    31
    17
    8
See reviews for
156
411
16
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2012

This is one of the most naturally exquisite places I've ever stayed. The garden tour is especially interesting as exotic flowers are blended in the natural environment. The cabinas, restaurant, staff and activities are excellent. The management team is very welcoming and accomodating to make for a very pleasant stay. Highly recommend for a couple or families as there is something for everyone.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AshaChotard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moorpark, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

Ylang Ylang and tripadvisor have several photos to share with you, but none of the photos gives you the amazing experience you will have at this secluded beach resort. That's a good a thing if you have already made your reservation, because none of these reviews nor photos will spoil it for you.

The resort is well kept and maintained, including the beautiful tent we stayed in that gave us a panoramic view of the jungle and ocean. If I could give the hotel one recommendation, it would be to call these tents, "Cabana Tents", because this felt like luxury instead of camping. The resort also runs their own solar energy in which the tap water here is filtered through a UV system. The tap water tastes better than bottled water. What tasted even better though was the candlelit dinner that is included in your room rate(breakfast is also included in the room rate). Watching the sky full of stars and hearing the waves crash to shore while tasting fresh mixed seafood is a moment everyone dreams of. This place can give you that.

From the service to the ambience, my fiance and I were truly elated to know that in February of 2013, we will be holding our wedding at this special place(this is why we visited the resort). We were even able to meet the General Manager, Kaya, who truly is passionate about this property and gave us as much information as possible to make our wedding and stay here memorable. Kaya even cared to give my fiance and I a little bit of advice by telling us to step away for 5 to 15 minutes after the ceremony in order to appreciate a moment alone with one another prior to returning to the reception. Kaya is a person who not just cares about the resort, but truly cares about the experience of the resort.

Thank you to the front desk for all of the assistance and information, the restaurant staff for great recommendations and politeness, as well as the resort driver who picked our luggage from the prior resort and later dropped us off in the village after our stay.

Ylang Ylang Beach Resort is the only place you should stay, because it was the best part of our trip. You cannot fully appreciate Montezuma without the Ylang Ylang experience.

Room Tip: The tents are much better than advertised. Each tent has a sink inside and there are four separate r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zareh G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

My family and I spent a week here over Christmas and New Years, and had a wonderful time. In many ways, it was a perfect resort for our needs... small, along the lines of a boutique hotel, but with full services when needed. The location is astounding... tucked into the palms looking onto a spectacular beach. The rooms themselves were not stunning -- there are nicer hotel rooms in the world for that much money -- but you're not coming here to sit in your room, and if you are, well, don't come.

I'm not giving the resort 5 stars (which I am stingy with) for two reasons: the location is slightly (slightly!) inconvenient. It's a ten minute walk into town, and the beachfront in front of the hotel is not safe for swimming... the best swimming beach is a mile walk away. And despite the fact that everybody who worked there was kind, friendly, hospitable and spoke excellent English, at times during dinner service esp. they were just overwhelmed, and couldn't keep up... getting visibly frazzled sometimes as they tried. Not their fault, to stress: but I think the owners should get some more help when possible for busy season.

But, otherwise, a wonderful hotel in a wonderful place.

Room Tip: There are some private cabins which are lovely, but be aware they're no privacy inside... ie, it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bunkysdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2012

Thank you Ylang Ylang. You exceeded our expectations. My brother recommended this resort to us because it is not a big resort. It is beutifully built into the jungle. The food was delicious, the atmosphere was so relaxing and the staff was awesome. We especially enjoyed getting to know the waitstaff; Cristian, Harold, and Andrei. Try the banana pancakes! To die for!
Our little bungalow on the beach was perfect. We will definately be back. Thanks for everything!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cokandice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2012

This neatly tucked away resort is the epitome of a family run business. The owners, Lenny and Patricia Iacono, live on the resort and treat everyone as their personal guests. Patricia is a regular at morning yoga, and Lenny can be found anywhere there is work to be done. They are always around and willing to answer any questions. Lenny and the impressive Reservations Manager Moraya, actually hand built many of the buildings and laid each piece of the walk.

Your dining experience is perhaps the cherry on top of a great resort experience. Each meal is made fresh with organic and all natural foods. I highly recommend the tipico for breakfast and the curry for dinner. Now ladies, this resort is renowned for its customer service, but the male wait staff is a sight to see (full of real charmers). Harold, Christian and Andrei are incredible to say the least. They love to converse if they have time, but if not, just watch their long black hair glisten in the candle lit dining area. They will serenade you with their low Central American accents. Harold offered to take us on a private hike, while Christian looks like a Costa Rican Rafael Nadal. Each member of the staff is very knowledgeable having grown up in or near Montezuma.

At Ylang Ylang, everybody wins.

Room Tip: All living options are great. The less expensive cabanas are smaller of course, but the rooms are no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gus B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2012

My husband and I had a relaxing vacation over Christmas at Ylang Ylang. We wanted to get away from the usual hustle and bustle and have someone take care of us. The staff was most attentive to any request and the people in the restaurant friendly and remembered each day any eating preferences we had. We could sit on the beach, take walks, use the Spa, look at the ocean view from our little patio. A lovely way to spend a holiday.

Room Tip: Chose one of the bungalows with a view of the ocean. The sound of the ocean at night is relaxing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank M E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montezuma
1.9 mi away
Kalapiti Luxury Jungle Suites
3.6 mi away
Tango Mar Beachfront Boutique Hotel & Villas
0.9 mi away
Hotel Amor de Mar
Hotel Amor de Mar
#4 of 19 in Montezuma
4.5 of 5 stars 359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel El Jardin
Hotel El Jardin
#7 of 19 in Montezuma
4.0 of 5 stars 282 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel Celaje
Hotel Celaje
#1 of 2 in Cabuya
4.5 of 5 stars 155 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#12 of 19 in Montezuma
3.5 of 5 stars 190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ylang Ylang Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ylang Ylang Beach Resort

Property: Ylang Ylang Beach Resort
Address: Montezuma Beach | 10-12 minute walk North along the beach, Montezuma 00000, Costa Rica (Formerly El Sano Banano Beach Hotel)
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Montezuma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Montezuma
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Montezuma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ylang Ylang Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This family-owned resort is known for its natural tropical beauty, variety of wildlife roaming the grounds and outstanding customer service. Located a 10-15 minute walk on the beach from Montezuma, one will find romantic Beach Front Bungalows with A/C, a Spa nestled in the jungle, and a tropical pool edged by waterfalls. If you're looking to get away, this is the getaway place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Ylang Ylang Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ylang Ylang Beach Hotel Montezuma
Ylang Beach Hotel
Ylang Beach Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing