We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Lazy time in Montezuma” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Luz de Mono

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Luz de Mono
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Montezuma
Certificate of Excellence
Stockholm
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lazy time in Montezuma”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2014 via mobile

We had a great stay at this hotel which is really a lot of value for the money! The room we had was very basic, however it was clean and not without its charm. The garden of the hotel is like a little rain forest which gives a really nice atmosphere when walking or having breakfast in the semi-outdoor dining area. The pool has ocean view which can be enjoyed for a looong time! We had no car but the town is small so possible to walk everywhere.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank KellertSwe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    116
    26
    11
    9
See reviews for
52
162
16
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
54 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2014

We absolutely loved this hotel! We had a double room on the ground floor which only had a fan but it was cool enough in the evenings. The wildlife in the hotel grounds is amazing. The pool is so lovely and its nice to be able to cool off and also still hear the sound of the ocean.

The hotel is at the end of Montezuma 'downtown' so was only a few minutes walk to the shops and restaurants but it was nice to be away from it all as well.

Breakfast was nice and you get a choice of gallo pinto (local breakfast), scrambled eggs, pancakes, toast or yoghurt/granola and fruit with coffee and juice too.

Lora in reception is lovely and really helpful and she booked the canopy tour with Sun Trails for us which we both absolutely loved too.

We didn't see any other hotels in Montezuma so can't compare it but I would definitely recommend staying in Luz El Mono and its our favourite hotel we've stayed in during our travels through Mexico, El Salvador and Costa Rica.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Caroline B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2014

The hotel has the best location, just a few steps from the beach and surrounded by nature. A nice pool with ocean view.
Rooms were neat and fresh.
Breakfast is included and it was delicious, plus you get to watch birds and squirrels while having breakfast, I thought it was lovely.
The owner was super friendly and definitely made our stay even better.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2014

We planned our stay in Luz de Mono as the "chill- out" part of our Costa Rica adventure, but we were delighted to find a huge variety of wildlife right there, in the "remnant jungle" grounds of the hotel (Howler monkeys, agoutis, iguanas, blue jays,humming birds, cappuchins, possums, black-breasted whistling duck .............).
The hotel is small and friendly, with exceptional staff and an idyllic swimming pool, plus a separate children's pool.
There were fabulous views of the ocean from the pool and our room.
Our upstairs room was ideal for us, with the high ceiling and views to the treetops and the monkeys.
Whilst there is no air-con, the fan kept us cool and we slept well
We would highly recommend this hotel, and would love to return.

Room Tip: We would choose upstairs again, if we returned - but ground floor rooms may view different local ani...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lizzie26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhode Island
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2014 via mobile

I stayed at Luz de Mono for two nights last week. My boyfriend and I loved this hotel and wished we stayed longer. The property is gorgeous and looks like a jungle paradise. While eating breakfast you can see the ocean. The rooms are simple, but very clean and nice. Though I wish air conditioning were a choice, it did cool down enough at night to sleep peacefully. We woke up in the mornings to howler monkeys which was pretty fun. The location is absolutely the best! It's about a one minute walk to the beach or to the center of the small town. The owner was super sweet and helpful. I highly recommend staying here!

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Lindsay P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2014

We normally are a couple wanting all the creature comforts. The only available room was a private casita up a long, windy jungle trail with no a/c...huh? ...but as soon as we saw it we said we'll take it! It sits atop the jungle canopy with a beautiful view of the ocean. The property in a nature lovers paradise. The tropical flowers and trees were so pretty. The pool was clean and relaxing. We watched the monkeys in the evening and then again in the morning. That was awesome! We saw beautiful birds, lizards, butterflies, dragonflies, The owner is very charming and helpful. They serve a yummy breakfast that is included in your stay. The beach access is just down the driveway and across the street. This was a one of kind experience that my fiancé and I will never forget. Jungle love!

Room Tip: The casitas are fairly close to the upper main road and we were there on a busy Saturday night so th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Webster Groves, Missouri
Level Contributor
141 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2014

I rented a cabin for $100/night. It was spacious and it had A/C (a big plus). The room smelled a bit musty, but it ended up being fine. Bed was comfortable enough, but not luxurious. Owner is quite accommodating and pleasant to deal with. The property is private and at the end of one of the main streets of the town (which isn't very big to begin with). They sometimes have an outdoor BBQ in their garden area and there's a large open-air bar area, but almost no one was there.

Very close walk to beach and could be a good option for a family or travelers who need some space as the cabins offer quite a bit of room and the A/C does cool down the area.

Room Tip: Choose a $100 cabin with A/C over the $80 non A/C rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tuxmiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montezuma hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel El Jardin
Hotel El Jardin
#7 of 19 in Montezuma
4.0 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Amor de Mar
Hotel Amor de Mar
#3 of 19 in Montezuma
4.5 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
1.4 mi away
Kalapiti Luxury Jungle Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#14 of 19 in Montezuma
3.5 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Los Mangos
Hotel Los Mangos
#9 of 19 in Montezuma
4.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Celaje
Hotel Celaje
#1 of 2 in Cabuya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Luz de Mono? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Luz de Mono

Property: Hotel Luz de Mono
Address: Behind the Church, Montezuma 000123, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Montezuma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Montezuma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Luz de Mono 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Luz de Mono reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luz De Mono Montezuma
Luz De Mono Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing