We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“There isn't a better location in Montezuma!”
Review of Hotel Luz de Mono

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Luz de Mono
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Montezuma
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 13, 2014

We spent two nights at hotel Luz de Mono. We stayed in the premium rooms (which had not air but TV).

The room was very large and was clean. I would agree with other posters that they could use new pillows, sheets and towels. Things are getting a little thread barren. Wi-Fi in the room was excellent. They also had a small fridge which was great for storing cold drinks.

There was no air in the room (which is fine by me as we generally turn it off anyway) but had a large ceiling fan. It cooled off more than I expected to at night so we were very comfortable and I loved waking up to the sounds of the ocean and jungle.

The was a decent variety to choose from for breakfast and it was pretty good. On day one we had birds as dining companions and on day two, monkeys!

The hotel pool is very nice.

The key to this place is location. It is right across from the beach and at the end of the main road in town. Just far enough to be away from the noise!

Montezuma beach was spectacular! The ocean must of been 85 degrees and there was hardly a soul on the beach. The beach is different than places like the Caribbean. The sand is black but super soft. The water "looks" different because of the silt that gets turned up from the waves breaking. However, once you got over the difference in how it looked, it was amazing. Warm, warm water, NO seaweed, no rocks (other than the obvious large ones) and you could walk right in. No water shoes needed!

We thoroughly enjoyed our time in Montezuma and Hotel Luz de Mono was the best location we could of picked!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cheryl K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (349)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

124 - 130 of 349 reviews

Reviewed March 10, 2014

Ideally located 5 min from the beach. The room do not have windows so you will hear the waves sound. The breakfast is ok, staff is very friendly and helful. Wifi available in the room
Nice swimming pool.
Birds watching.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Reb285
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2014

Luz de Mono was the perfect place for us to stay. We were traveling with a large group so we rented 2 casitas up the hill. They were perfect; hammock, little fridge, "hot tub" on the deck and the most beautiful view. We only stayed one night but would definitely stay there again.

The breakfast was fresh and had just enough options. They fired up a big grill the night we were there which was convenient and delicious. Rocio was a pleasure to work with and I was happy she was there to greet us upon our arrival. We even saw a monkey enjoying the mango tree. We were recommended by a friend to bring flashlights, which definitely came in handy. The walkway is pretty well lit but it gets pretty dark out. It was a wonderful stay balance with equal parts rustic and comfort. See you next time! Thank you!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mle1616
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2014

On a two day tour of Nicoya Peninsula, we had the good fortune to get a room at Luz de Mono in Montezuma.
Our accommodations allowed easy viewing of jungle life from our room which was an awesome experience for us. Also included is a tasty breakfast, while being entertained by monkeys and Magpie Jays... Good memories!
The pool is very clean and dimly lit, a wonderful way to end a day of hiking the beaches and waterfalls.
I definitely recommend Nicoya Peninsula and Luz de Mono in Montezuma.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Conrad P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2014

I've stayed at Luz De Mono many times. After seeing or staying in several different accommodations, I recommend the cabinas up on the hill, or the superior rooms. Don't stay in the ground floor. The staff is very nice - especially Rocio. And the owner is helpful and willing to be flexible to assist you in getting the right room. I would stay there again. The cabinas are hidden gems in Montezuma - 2BR up near the monkeys, with outdoor Jacuzzi tubs. Nice place - and, the hotel now has a pool... right near the beach. Overall, like it.

Room Tip: Superior or Cabina
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GoldenViewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2014

The amazing lush forest garden surrounding this hotel is full of interesting wildlife - no need to go to Manuel Antonio! Perfectly located at the end of the commercial area but still very near the beach, Luz de Mono offers a tranquil paradise with friendly and helpful hosts.

We had an upper storey room, and particularly enjoyed the huge screened windows which afforded a great view of the local capuchin monkeys , and a cooling ocean breeze in the mornings.

The grassed pool area with ocean view was much appreciated, as the ocean can be rough here.

Breakfast was generous, with some selection possible. Entertainment was provided by the magpie jays.....

Some aspects are on the basic side (e.g. Bedding, lounge chairs), but overall this is excellent value for a tropical experience.

Their website doesn't really do justice to this property.

Room Tip: Choose an upper storey room . If you need any kitchen facilities or a balcony, you will need to rent...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank greenever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2014

I cannot say enough great things about this place. The hotel is beautiful, the owners and the staff are the friendliest people in Montezuma, and the free breakfast is delicious! The wildlife that surrounds this place is quite amazing too. We saw howler monkeys every day, either right outside our window, or just walking out of our room! The property is a two minute walk to the beach. The rooms are clean and spacious. I would suggest getting the second floor room. (Better breeze, more privacy)

The hotel also does an outdoor dinner Thursday-Saturday. It's a little pricey, but totally worth it. Ernesto is the server and is charming, funny, and fast. The food is fantastic. We got a GIGANTIC Lobster (literally the biggest lobster I've ever seen) and a whole fish cooked in banana leaves. Both were cooked to perfection and delicious. Along with 4 drinks and an appetizer, we spent about $84 USD (Including partial tip), so overall very reasonable, especially for the quality.

I feel like any negative reviews about this place could only possibly come from complete divas who don't like nature and who never stayed outside of an "all inclusive" or a chain hotel. We will definitely be back!!

Room Tip: Room 10. Upper rooms get more breeze/privacy. Fell asleep to ocean waves every night, woke up to How...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephanie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montezuma hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel El Jardin
Hotel El Jardin
#6 of 18 in Montezuma
330 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Amor de Mar
Hotel Amor de Mar
#2 of 18 in Montezuma
420 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#15 of 18 in Montezuma
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Kalapiti Luxury Jungle Suites
3.6 mi away
Hotel Celaje
Hotel Celaje
#1 of 2 in Cabuya
168 reviews
1.5 mi away
Nature Lodge Finca los Caballos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Luz de Mono? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Luz de Mono

Address: Behind the Church, Montezuma 000123, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Montezuma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Montezuma
Price Range: $45 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Luz de Mono 2.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Luz de Mono reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luz De Mono Montezuma
Luz De Mono Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing