We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (348)
Filter reviews
348 results
Traveler rating
166
130
29
12
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
166
130
29
12
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews costa rica nice pool surrounded by trees casita mono luz laura wildlife monkeys jungle town nature sheets bugs fans paradise nets
Filter
Updating list...
130 - 135 of 348 reviews
Reviewed February 2, 2014

Not a 5 star but the friendly staff, free breaky, awesome assortment of birds, monkeys lizards and clean pool, more than make up for it. Rooms basic but clean and beds are pretty good. Fall asleep every night to the crashing surf and awaken to birds howler monkeys and crickets. Will definitely return. Ample parking and walking distance to all.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank jimimy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2014 via mobile

More of a hostel feel instead of b&b. great view from the pool and the gardens and paths are beauitful! Came very close to a lot of monkeys! Which was great. But I did see a huge spider and lizard on the ceiling as I was sleeping and it terrified me! Gross! That was the only downside!!

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Neenerzzzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2014

We had a fabulous three night stay here. Room was spacious and clean. Pool area is lovely. Monkeys, squirrels, geckos and loads of birdlife in the grounds. We had been concerned about the lack of air conditioning but this was no problem at all as the rooms were breezy and the ceiling fans very effective. Staff were really friendly and couldn't do enough for us. Only a two minute walk into the centre of the town. A big thank you to Lora who runs the hotel for making us so welcome. Oona & David.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2014

We felt very welcome here, there staff were very kind & friendly . Thank you Rosio & Laura you made our stay special. The hotel is right by the beach the sound of the waves Lulls you to sleep at night and the birds & oceaan wake you in the morning. Right in town but the thick jungle gardens full of monkeys & birds keep the noise out. Lovely jungle graden full of Howler monkeys and white facet cappuchins. Lots of birds and plants. Monkeys Greet you at breakfast and Laura gives you Bananas to feed them. We had a delux room which was great for the price plenty of room , good sized bathroom with powerful shower and plenty of hot water. good breakfast choice so something different everyday. We had really good and One really bad experiences with hotels in Costa Rica but we would certainly recommend Luz de Mono to everyone who wants a pleasant comfortabel stay in Montezuma for a good price.

Room Tip: Take a delux room iTS worth that little extra
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank I W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013

In Montezuma you want to be close to the beach and the small town (actually, about one block) where the restaurants, shops and street crafts vendors are. Luz de Mono is right next to all that, but its surrounding thick jungle garden isolates it from the noise and the hassle. All you hear from your room are the birds and the waves (plus the occasional motorcycle, of course). No restaurant service is offered now, except for breakfast, when white-faced monkeys and magpies actually stop by the tables. The place needs some maintenance, but everything basically works.

Room Tip: Ask for a second floor room. They have high ceilings, better ventilation and view,
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank soyviajeroEscazu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews