We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$81
$73
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel El Jardin(Montezuma)(Great Value!)
$62
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Aurora(Montezuma)
$41
$20
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
$199
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sano Banano Beachside Hotel(Montezuma)(Great Value!)
$50
$43
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Celaje(Cabuya)(Great Value!)
$40
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Amor de Mar(Montezuma)(Great Value!)
$60
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Howler Monkey Hotel(Cabuya)(Great Value!)
$25
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 24% below average rates

The price you found is 24% lower than this hotel's average rate of $33/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Luna Llena Hotel(Montezuma)(Great Value!)
$29
$26
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cabinas Mar y Cielo(Montezuma)(Great Value!)
$45
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (348)
Filter reviews
348 results
Traveler rating
166
130
29
12
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
166
130
29
12
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsluz de monocosta ricanice poolsurrounded by treesloracasitalaurawildlifemonkeysjungletownnaturesheetsbugsfansparadisenets
Filter
Updating list...
142 - 147 of 348 reviews
Reviewed August 2, 2013

I think this is probably the best place we stayed in 4 our 4 week trip of costa rica. The big advantage is the pool and surrounding gardens, think we saw almost as much wildlife sitting by the pool as doing walks in national parks! (Well, no snakes, don 't panic!) the pool is a decent size so you can actually do a few laps and it is super clean.

We stayed in a downstairs room and negotiated discount because we planned to stay 4 nights (we ended up staying a week!) the room was clean, big enough, with fridge and fan, no air-co but we weren't used to that anyway so it wasn't a problem.

The breakfast was really good, they have a small menu to choose from, from typical pico gallo with eggs to fruit and yogurt and it was all delicious.

The owner and all staff are very helpful and friendly, we asked for advice on tours and they were honest and non bias or pushy. They also called places to enquire about prices, info for us as well.

Wifi works most places on the site, inc. room and by the pool!

In the lp it looks quite a bit further out of town than it is, in reality it is about 30 second walk from reception and you're on the main street.

The only negative thing is it can be noisy depending on your neighbours but that is something you have to be lucky with (or not!)

Room Tip: Rooms downstairs are good, room 5 and 6 have an adjoining door between them which was a bit noisier but we asked to move and it was no problem at all. This would be a great option for families or groups though.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrsdutchburger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

2nd time to Montezuma. Found it by just wandering around. Rented the cabin and was really nice. The only knock is no AC, but no problem. The pool is a plus and super well maintained. We did have a safe, fridge, and a stove will all kitchen utensils. Two hammocks outside and a nice dining table as well. The cabins are above the regular hotel rooms, and were spacious and blended in well with the enviroment. Will stay there again.

Room Tip: for a little bit more money (10USD I think) you can get the mini suite. Much better than the rooms.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Johnny_Bird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

I recently decided to visit Montezuma on a whim. We didn't have a reservation to stay anywhere so we started looking at TripAdvisor reviews and came across this place, and I am so happy we did! We called to see what they had available, and then when we arrived we decided to take the Casita with a jacuzzi. This casa was huge! It was only two of house, but the balcony with hammock, jacuzzi and ocean views was very romantic and private. Perfect for what we were looking for. You have to go up quite a few steps to get to the Casita which might be a problem for some, but for us it was great. For $80 a night for a two bedroom casa with kitchen and HUGE deck, plus breakfast included we were very happy and are already talking about when to go back with friends.
Montezuma is such a beautiful place to visit and Hotel Luz de Mono is a hidden gem. Highly recommend it!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FabianADR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

I was pleasantly surprised by this place. When my friends and I arrived we thought we had been swindled because we had to walk up this very big hill to get to the entrance of the hotel and it didn't seem to be very close to the beach at all. However, when we finally located reception, it was a long hot walk back down, we realized that we were right on the beach (2 minute walk) in a jungle like paradise. Breakfast was included which is a major plus for people traveling on a budget and the rooms/bathrooms were clean. There was plenty of hot water and the pressure was a welcome change from the showers in San Jose. Birds, butterflies, and iguanas could be seen on the property regularly. The staff was very nice and accommodating. I would definitely stay here again. It was a perfect choice for us!

Room Tip: Request a room near the hotel's reception area. They have villas which are nice but are up a nestled in the trees, a further walk to the beach and could be troublesome at night if you have been drinking.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DanielaTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

We stayed two nights here, no reservations, just asked around and inquired on the advice of locals. The location, on the east end of the village is very convenient, it is close to the beach, yet situated in the jungle so the howler monkeys were within a few meters of the window of our room. There is a pool on the property, and breakfast was included in the room rate so it is a decent value. Clean, reasonably well kept, we liked the property and would stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ed4_vida_rica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews