We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!”
Review of Hotel Luz de Mono

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Luz de Mono
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Montezuma
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 2, 2013

I think this is probably the best place we stayed in 4 our 4 week trip of costa rica. The big advantage is the pool and surrounding gardens, think we saw almost as much wildlife sitting by the pool as doing walks in national parks! (Well, no snakes, don 't panic!) the pool is a decent size so you can actually do a few laps and it is super clean.

We stayed in a downstairs room and negotiated discount because we planned to stay 4 nights (we ended up staying a week!) the room was clean, big enough, with fridge and fan, no air-co but we weren't used to that anyway so it wasn't a problem.

The breakfast was really good, they have a small menu to choose from, from typical pico gallo with eggs to fruit and yogurt and it was all delicious.

The owner and all staff are very helpful and friendly, we asked for advice on tours and they were honest and non bias or pushy. They also called places to enquire about prices, info for us as well.

Wifi works most places on the site, inc. room and by the pool!

In the lp it looks quite a bit further out of town than it is, in reality it is about 30 second walk from reception and you're on the main street.

The only negative thing is it can be noisy depending on your neighbours but that is something you have to be lucky with (or not!)

Room Tip: Rooms downstairs are good, room 5 and 6 have an adjoining door between them which was a bit noisier...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrsdutchburger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (349)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

143 - 149 of 349 reviews

Reviewed August 1, 2013

2nd time to Montezuma. Found it by just wandering around. Rented the cabin and was really nice. The only knock is no AC, but no problem. The pool is a plus and super well maintained. We did have a safe, fridge, and a stove will all kitchen utensils. Two hammocks outside and a nice dining table as well. The cabins are above the regular hotel rooms, and were spacious and blended in well with the enviroment. Will stay there again.

Room Tip: for a little bit more money (10USD I think) you can get the mini suite. Much better than the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Johnny_Bird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

I recently decided to visit Montezuma on a whim. We didn't have a reservation to stay anywhere so we started looking at TripAdvisor reviews and came across this place, and I am so happy we did! We called to see what they had available, and then when we arrived we decided to take the Casita with a jacuzzi. This casa was huge! It was only two of house, but the balcony with hammock, jacuzzi and ocean views was very romantic and private. Perfect for what we were looking for. You have to go up quite a few steps to get to the Casita which might be a problem for some, but for us it was great. For $80 a night for a two bedroom casa with kitchen and HUGE deck, plus breakfast included we were very happy and are already talking about when to go back with friends.
Montezuma is such a beautiful place to visit and Hotel Luz de Mono is a hidden gem. Highly recommend it!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FabianADR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

I was pleasantly surprised by this place. When my friends and I arrived we thought we had been swindled because we had to walk up this very big hill to get to the entrance of the hotel and it didn't seem to be very close to the beach at all. However, when we finally located reception, it was a long hot walk back down, we realized that we were right on the beach (2 minute walk) in a jungle like paradise. Breakfast was included which is a major plus for people traveling on a budget and the rooms/bathrooms were clean. There was plenty of hot water and the pressure was a welcome change from the showers in San Jose. Birds, butterflies, and iguanas could be seen on the property regularly. The staff was very nice and accommodating. I would definitely stay here again. It was a perfect choice for us!

Room Tip: Request a room near the hotel's reception area. They have villas which are nice but are up a nes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DanielaTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

We stayed two nights here, no reservations, just asked around and inquired on the advice of locals. The location, on the east end of the village is very convenient, it is close to the beach, yet situated in the jungle so the howler monkeys were within a few meters of the window of our room. There is a pool on the property, and breakfast was included in the room rate so it is a decent value. Clean, reasonably well kept, we liked the property and would stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ed4_vida_rica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2013

Pros: Great location, very friendly staff, beautiful pool, good breakfast, comfortable beds.
Cons: Accommodations are fairly basic, "jacuzzi" is more like an outdoor bathtub, $120/night is too high.

Like happytravelerdude, I was not upset with the accommodations, I just want to provide some more information for other travelers. Four of us stayed in a casita, which consisted of two rooms with queen beds, a galley kitchen/entry area with fridge and stove, and a bathroom with shower. The porch had a hammock and a "jacuzzi". Everything was clean and in good shape in the casita. We were satisfied with our stay, but felt that $120/night was too much and that $75-90 might have been a more reasonable price. Montezuma does have nicer places to stay in the same price range, but I recognize that in general it can be tough to find high quality moderate priced accommodations there.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pbc315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

We booked a casita for a special rate and we got a separate little studio with ocean view and a jacuzzi. Lots of wildlife and I especially loved the monkeys :) We were traveling with our 9 month old son, so we enjoyed the clean baby pool with the little slide. The people were very helpful especially when we needed to heat up our baby food. Lovely and friendly staff!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tinnelox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montezuma hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel El Jardin
Hotel El Jardin
#6 of 18 in Montezuma
336 reviews
0.1 mi away
Luna Llena Hotel
Luna Llena Hotel
#7 of 18 in Montezuma
276 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Amor de Mar
Hotel Amor de Mar
#3 of 18 in Montezuma
427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Kalapiti Luxury Jungle Suites
1.5 mi away
Nature Lodge Finca los Caballos
3.6 mi away
Hotel Celaje
Hotel Celaje
#1 of 2 in Cabuya
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Luz de Mono? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Luz de Mono

Address: Behind the Church, Montezuma 000123, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Montezuma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Montezuma
Price Range: $74 - $88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Luz de Mono 2.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Luz de Mono reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luz De Mono Montezuma
Luz De Mono Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing