We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice room surrounded by wildlife” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Luz de Mono

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Luz de Mono
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Montezuma
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
86 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Nice room surrounded by wildlife”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

We stayed in room 7, one of the upstairs suites. It was clean, very spacious for 2 people, and overlooked the gardens/jungle. There is no air conditioning in the rooms but the ceiling fan provided more than enough air circulation to keep us cool at night. The small fridge was also convenient.

The rooms are surrounded by gardens and jungle trees so expect to hear and see lots of monkeys and birds. Iguanas liked to hang out by the pool area. Lizards were regularly running across the hotel pathways. Howler monkeys woke us up every morning at 5am (which we didn't mind but some might find this annoying - you can't close the windows to block out the noise).

Breakfast was included in our rate. There were usually 4 options - eggs and toast, pico de gallo (beans and rice), granola or pancakes. Pico de gallo was usually best. Service staff were friendly and helpful, especially Laura. Night staff may not be as fluent in english though.

I'd recommend following the advice of the staff and lock up your valuables with reception as there aren't in room safes.

Room Tip: For the extra $10, it's worth it to "upgrade" to the upstairs rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank beachE_keen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    116
    26
    11
    9
See reviews for
52
162
16
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Quebec City, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

Once you get there, you are home free. We stayed in room #3, no TV no AC = peace and nature! Clean rooms and quarters, friendly staff and good food (breakfast and Jungle BBQ – flavor of the day). If you are looking for a quiet place to spend a few days while enjoying the beach, pool and Montezuma restaurants and local culture, you’ve found the spot!

Room Tip: The 6 rooms at level one are without AC and TV's = you won't need them, the breeze of the se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephane L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Svishtov, Bulgaria
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

Very nice hotel, choose rooms upstairs...frendly stuff..all the time you have the feeling to be staying in a privite jungle...every morning waking up with the monkeys, iguanas by the pool, mapache in the garden....pool is beautiful...close to everything... a perfect place to relax in the jungle of Costa Rica meanwhile enjoing the beach

Room Tip: ROOMs ON THE SECOND FLOUR are more spaciou and cool
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lati_sps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

We stayed in the "suite" on teh seccond floor and were surrounded by the jungle. We could here the animals and the strong waves at night....what a nice way to fall asleep! The house keeper said sometimes in the afternoon we could see monkeys..which we did not get the chance too :( I would definitivly recommand this hotel since we visited all of the hotels in "dowtown" and that hotel was the best for the money spent! The easy acce sto the shops and beach was also a plus! Would definitly recommand it to everyone!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank emylie1501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012

We stayed in castias 2, it was paradise, we were surrounded by rainforest with a sea view, we saw lots of birds and little animals like a racoon, monkeys, lots of iguanas, geckos and an armadillo !, At night we sat in the jacuzzi surrounded by glow worms and we watched the night sky light up with pink lightning, the grounds were amazing and the pool was fab. The staff were so friendly and sweet. Happy days !

Room Tip: Casita No 2 was the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank acosty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montclair, New Jersey
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2012

My husband and I stayed here in January, 2012 with our two daughters (6 & 8). I found the location to be great. We had easy access to everything in Montezuma. We stayed in one of the casitas up the hill. It felt really quiet and secluded. The deck and hot tub were really nice, as was the hotel pool. The only reason that I didn't give it five stars was that the kitchen and bathroom of the casita could have really used updating. Overall, I would stay here again though.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, NC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2012

Made a last minute reservation at this hotel and it turned out very good overall. Like the previous reviewer no a\c but it was not that big a deal, in my opinion. Everything in CR, at the beach, is open air. You'll get acclimated to the heat. We paid $60 a nite and this included taxes and a very good basic breakfast each morning. $240 for a 4 night stay? I'd do it again for that price for sure. Nice pool and stunning grounds and wildlife. 200 yards to the beach. Room was clean and basic, daily maid service also.

Flew in on Sansa from SJO to Tambor airport. Hotel arranged cab p\u at airport. $35 one way, a\c taxi. He was there when we landed. 1/2 hr ride to Montezuma from Tambor.

Hotel in great location, adjacent to town and beach so you could walk to everything.
Can't say enough about Rocio and Lora at hotel reception. Very helpful, professional and were truly sincere in making our stay as pleasant as possible. Laundry service available (cheap!) and any time we used free wifi at reception area they always offered to bring a juice or coffee.

canopy Tour (ziplining): 5 minutes away for $40 included transportation. Canopy tour involved some pretty intense climbing of steps to get to next platform.

Horseback Riding (200 yard walk from hotel): I think we paid $35 each for that was fun, too. You go about 4-5 miles one way on the beach, mostly, and come to a beautiful waterfall that flows out to the ocean. Nice, non-english speaking guide. When you get to the waterfall he slices up a pineapple for you to eat while you rest. There was some rock climbing to get up to the waterfall so beware.

Note: This was my second time in CR and I've been on 5 tours. 3 of them included some intense climbing\walking. If you have bad knees, bad back or are recovering from injury you may want to think twice about some of these. At least mention it to the tour before signing up. Canopy tour and horseback riding sound reasonably passive but the two I mentioned above gave me a workout. That combined with the heat was all I could handle. I'm also 55 yrs old but had a great time anyway but I thought it worth mentioning for anyone on their 1st venture here.

Montezuma was cool. Quiet and laid back. Excellent prices for food, also. Dinner around $10-12 US. (Grilled fish, shrimp, chicken w\ rice and beans, salad...) We also ate at a "higher end" place called Playa de los Artistas. Great location about a five minute walk from town on the beach. Had the 1/2 grilled lobster for about $20 bucks. Very nice place and highly recommended. Make reservations, though.

Not a big town with a few shops and restaurants, one atm machine. Also has a good supermarket that came in handy. No bank or pharmacy here, though, just an fyi...
Got a 90 minute massage next to El Jardin for $65. See Diane for massage and she also does the yoga in town, too.

Note: Pack light and carry on. Montezuma is very casual. Shorts, tshirt, bathing suits. You won't need anything else in way of clothing. I had laundry done halfway thru and it cost $3 dollars, I think. That also leaves room in suitcase for small gifts to bring back.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank raffcat57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montezuma hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel El Jardin
Hotel El Jardin
#7 of 19 in Montezuma
4.0 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Amor de Mar
Hotel Amor de Mar
#4 of 19 in Montezuma
4.5 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
1.4 mi away
Kalapiti Luxury Jungle Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#14 of 19 in Montezuma
3.5 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Los Mangos
Hotel Los Mangos
#9 of 19 in Montezuma
4.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Celaje
Hotel Celaje
#1 of 2 in Cabuya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Luz de Mono? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Luz de Mono

Property: Hotel Luz de Mono
Address: Behind the Church, Montezuma 000123, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Montezuma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Montezuma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Luz de Mono 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Luz de Mono reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luz De Mono Montezuma
Luz De Mono Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing