We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“The best view and the best price!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cabinas Mar y Cielo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cabinas Mar y Cielo
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Montezuma
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The best view and the best price!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2014 via mobile

We came to Montezuma on the boat taxi from Jaco, so we just wanted a place to crash. When we got off the boat a woman handed us a flier and walked us over to one of the closest hotels to the beach. I was sold before we saw the room (which was nice) because of the view. It is right on the ocean and I mean feet from it. We ended up staying for five days! Great place!

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Banjo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    22
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
6
20
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rocky Ford, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2014 via mobile

This place is amazing!! Don't expect a 5 star hotel because that is not what you are getting. Very basic rooms but at great price. You shouldn't be spending much time in your room while in this beautiful country anyway. Just steps from the ocean with great views right out your front door. The owners and staff are also very helpful.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sam E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brigham City, Utah
Level Contributor
289 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2014

Right on the beach. Hammocks and beautiful gardens. Wild birds... one jay sat on our son"s hand and ate a piece of bread. Cabins a tad small with NO A/C. Fan was like a bomber and drowned out the peaceful ocean. However, after dark the reggae music came WAY UP next door at the nice adjoining cafe (the cafe is good). Music even drowned out the fan! Victor is the manager and is a great fellow. Nothing is too much to ask and he gets things done when needed. The view is simply picture postcard. I got along OK but would have taken an A/C in a room off the beach. The wife took the noise and heat for the view. Go figure. The folks upstairs and next door were beer drinkers and went bump in the night. Good price. Surf breaks over the rocks and spreads out on a gorgeous sand beach.

Room Tip: If you get upstairs it may be better for neighbor noise, but that reggae music is going to penetrate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Larry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
123 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

We were perfectly happy with the cabinas, the owner and the manager were super nice and we had a nice stay. We were walk ins and there was parking late at night.
There was a huge safe in the room, but enough for a backpack in case you are traveling with a laptop and a big camera but don't want to drag them out to dinner: it's well worth finding places like this.
We did have a storm come through and water leaked from above and from the screen window and below the door. We lost power overnight of course, and the wifi did not get restored until much later (not a hotel issue). But it was a decent signal for CR when it did work.
It is a loud location, right near the disco: this was shut down on the storm night, so we gained a bit of quiet this way! Just be prepared for a bunch of foreign youths playing cards and partying and you are all set.

Room Tip: all rooms face the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travellingsloths
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newberg, Oregon
Level Contributor
198 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here on a group trip with 7people. I was in a room of three. The room overlooked the sea and was a quick walk to the beach. They did have a hot water heater for the shower. The bathroom was pretty basic and a bit smelly. The beds were just OK and the towels were old and frayed. Beware as this place is next to Chicos bar and the music is loud. The three of us had a lot of trouble sleeping. The was a safe in the room however it seems that all safes use the same key. When we went to ask at the office for a key to the safe, they pulled it from a basket of keys and none were marked. When requested, they did bring an extra floor fan. No A/C in our room. Best feature was a set of three hammocks in front of the rooms.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StarrsySmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

As soon as my mom and I got off bus into Montezuma there was the nicest lady that gave us a flyer and walked us right down the street to the hotel. She gave us tips on what places were good to eat and introduced us to people along the way. Our room is right on the water, and they offer rooms with kitchens. Free WIFI, mini-fridge, fan, and bathrooms inside the rooms with hot water! Right next to chico's bar and all the shops and grocerys. The bar can get kind of loud but so can the waves crashing on the rocks. Hammocks area in garden with clothes lines, and patio areas with chairs outside each room. For $25 a night this is a great deal, we stayed longer and went to cabo blanco nature reserve. My only complaint is clumpy pillows, no biggie, I would recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dillon, Colorado
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

Awesome location right on the beach in Montezuma. Stayed last year after having stayed 7 years ago and the price was still the same! We had a top floor room with great views from the balcony. The town is awesome! So quiet yet so much to do. And Mal Pais is just short drive.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank msharpe03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montezuma hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#14 of 19 in Montezuma
3.5 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel El Jardin
Hotel El Jardin
#7 of 19 in Montezuma
4.0 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Los Mangos
Hotel Los Mangos
#9 of 19 in Montezuma
4.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Amor de Mar
Hotel Amor de Mar
#4 of 19 in Montezuma
4.5 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Celaje
Hotel Celaje
#1 of 2 in Cabuya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
0.0 mi away
El Sano Banano Village Hotel
El Sano Banano Village Hotel
#11 of 19 in Montezuma
4.0 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cabinas Mar y Cielo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabinas Mar y Cielo

Property: Cabinas Mar y Cielo
Address: Montezuma, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Montezuma
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Montezuma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Cabinas Mar y Cielo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cabinas Mar y Cielo Hotel Montezuma

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing