We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Your wife will love the location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Cabinas Mar y Cielo
Ranked #8 of 18 Hotels in Montezuma
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 19, 2014

Right on the beach. Hammocks and beautiful gardens. Wild birds... one jay sat on our son"s hand and ate a piece of bread. Cabins a tad small with NO A/C. Fan was like a bomber and drowned out the peaceful ocean. However, after dark the reggae music came WAY UP next door at the nice adjoining cafe (the cafe is good). Music even drowned out the fan! Victor is the manager and is a great fellow. Nothing is too much to ask and he gets things done when needed. The view is simply picture postcard. I got along OK but would have taken an A/C in a room off the beach. The wife took the noise and heat for the view. Go figure. The folks upstairs and next door were beer drinkers and went bump in the night. Good price. Surf breaks over the rocks and spreads out on a gorgeous sand beach.

Room Tip: If you get upstairs it may be better for neighbor noise, but that reggae music is going to penetrate...
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Larry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (73)
There are newer reviews for Cabinas Mar y Cielo
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 73 reviews

Reviewed August 22, 2013

We were perfectly happy with the cabinas, the owner and the manager were super nice and we had a nice stay. We were walk ins and there was parking late at night.
There was a huge safe in the room, but enough for a backpack in case you are traveling with a laptop and a big camera but don't want to drag them out to dinner: it's well worth finding places like this.
We did have a storm come through and water leaked from above and from the screen window and below the door. We lost power overnight of course, and the wifi did not get restored until much later (not a hotel issue). But it was a decent signal for CR when it did work.
It is a loud location, right near the disco: this was shut down on the storm night, so we gained a bit of quiet this way! Just be prepared for a bunch of foreign youths playing cards and partying and you are all set.

Room Tip: all rooms face the ocean
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travellingsloths
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here on a group trip with 7people. I was in a room of three. The room overlooked the sea and was a quick walk to the beach. They did have a hot water heater for the shower. The bathroom was pretty basic and a bit smelly. The beds were just OK and the towels were old and frayed. Beware as this place is next to Chicos bar and the music is loud. The three of us had a lot of trouble sleeping. The was a safe in the room however it seems that all safes use the same key. When we went to ask at the office for a key to the safe, they pulled it from a basket of keys and none were marked. When requested, they did bring an extra floor fan. No A/C in our room. Best feature was a set of three hammocks in front of the rooms.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StarrsySmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

As soon as my mom and I got off bus into Montezuma there was the nicest lady that gave us a flyer and walked us right down the street to the hotel. She gave us tips on what places were good to eat and introduced us to people along the way. Our room is right on the water, and they offer rooms with kitchens. Free WIFI, mini-fridge, fan, and bathrooms inside the rooms with hot water! Right next to chico's bar and all the shops and grocerys. The bar can get kind of loud but so can the waves crashing on the rocks. Hammocks area in garden with clothes lines, and patio areas with chairs outside each room. For $25 a night this is a great deal, we stayed longer and went to cabo blanco nature reserve. My only complaint is clumpy pillows, no biggie, I would recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kristen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Awesome location right on the beach in Montezuma. Stayed last year after having stayed 7 years ago and the price was still the same! We had a top floor room with great views from the balcony. The town is awesome! So quiet yet so much to do. And Mal Pais is just short drive.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank msharpe03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2012

This a great cheap hotel! People that complain about the creature comforts are spending to much time in there rooms! You should only be in your rooms for sleep, there is so much to do in the area! The hotel is no frills but that's a good thing. Good location good staff and a good price!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rossSavannahGa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2012

Great ocean view right in the center of town. They got hammocks and a gift shop. Clean and great service. However, it is right next to the bar which will play super loud music. Get rooms 3 or 6 unless you plan on joining the party next door!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gbcarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montezuma hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel El Jardin
Hotel El Jardin
#6 of 18 in Montezuma
329 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#15 of 18 in Montezuma
210 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Amor de Mar
Hotel Amor de Mar
#2 of 18 in Montezuma
418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Los Mangos
Hotel Los Mangos
#12 of 18 in Montezuma
249 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Celaje
Hotel Celaje
#1 of 2 in Cabuya
167 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel El Tajalin
Hotel El Tajalin
#9 of 18 in Montezuma
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cabinas Mar y Cielo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabinas Mar y Cielo

Address: Montezuma, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Montezuma
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 18 Hotels in Montezuma
Price Range: $38 - $69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Cabinas Mar y Cielo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cabinas Mar y Cielo Hotel Montezuma

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing