We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Great piece of property perfect distance from town” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Amor de Mar

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Amor de Mar to your Saves list
Hotel Amor de Mar
Apartado 24 Cobano, Montezuma, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 19 Hotels in Montezuma
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great piece of property perfect distance from town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

My friends and I rented out the casa de sol house and it was gorgeous. Definitely the priciest place we stayed in costa rica but the house and grounds were amazing. You are situated about ten mins walk from town which is perfect. When your done in town you are glad to be walking away from the loud music and not having it blaring in your ear in the middle of the night. The hotel is right across from one of the great waterfalls of montezuma. Just a fifteen or twenty minute hike and you are there. The staff was really great and answered all questions. The hammocks strung around the property make you never want to leave the grounds!! Was just a great spot and hotel! THe photos are of the house we stayed. There is no AC but they have fans strategically placed around the room! Would for sure stay here again!

Fyi the beach you want to go to is right past town about ten minute walk away. The beach in front of the hotel is kind of rocky but gorgeous.

Room Tip: casa del sol is a great choice but no ac. Fans placed everywhere!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank soccerchic12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    222
    81
    30
    11
    7
See reviews for
44
193
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

We spent 16 delightful days here in January, 2013, mostly in room #5, which deserves all the accolades it receives. The room has a great view from the porch and a wonderful cross draft during the day. Rooms #4 and #7 have been renovated since our visit in 2011 and are good for those who need more space.

We enjoyed walking to town along the road and/or the beach; we enjoyed the wonderful convenience of the nearby waterfall and cascades for picnics. For $2, the guy across the road will machete open a coconut for you to drink, then carve out the meat.

Crashing waves on rocks, blue sky, a mild breeze, and a warm sun often led us out onto the grounds to sit, or lie in a hammock, after the day's outing. Next to the property a stream meanders into the ocean, creating a fresh water pool with a short connection to the beach for a quick salt/fresh water double dip.

While not in the midst of Montezuma, Amor Del Mar is certainly nearby -- you don't need a flashlight to get back from town at night -- without the long walk or ride that Ylang requires. Along the way are some of the restaurants most worth trying as well as an inter-town bus stop.

Ammi, the hostess, bubbles charm and laid back efficiency. The maids warm the day by taking pleasure in their tasks. The hotel -- actually somewhere between a bed and breakfast and a hotel in size and operation -- is full of delightful little surprises, such as the blue jay (officially, a "white-throated magpie jay") that hopped from rafter to chair to floor to reap the peanut I'd dropped, the resplendent, wandering rooster with only a vague sense of when to crow, the quiet but potent AC, the at-cost bottled water refills, the buttery crepes, the bench by the rocks perfectly positioned to look at stars while listening to the oncoming waves, and the waitress who knows local real estate.

If you want something to complain about, I'm sure the dust along the road and noisy ATVs will do.Not a problem for us. Nothing was.

Room Tip: #5 is ideal for a single or couple -- view, porch and draft , #7 is shady, #4 has a good view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rosepol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espoo, Finland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

One of the nicest hotels I have ever seen! The staff was really friendly and helpful and the atmosphere was asolutely perfect. The rooms were nice and clean, the hotel garden wonderful (I loved their hammocks!).

The hotel don't have a swimming pool, but a really nice tide pool instead.

Also the breakfast was really good.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tanja M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

The grounds for this hotel are truly beautiful, and the bungalow we stayed in (Casa Luna) had a quirky charm. But staying over Xmas, we were charged nearly $400 for a place that had several major flaws. Chief among them were the mosquitoes. I passed the worst night of my trip eaten alive because the mosquito nets above the beds did not have clips to seal the area (bitten on the eyes, lips, and every other part of my body). You will need nets. After complaining, they gave us the nets and a 70$ reduction (but it turned out at the end, only for the first night). Moreover, the bungalow is not as large as they make out: it has three super-tiny rooms with a/c, but upstairs, the master bedroom is also a living room, and has no functioning windows. This means that mosquitoes, bats, and other creatures can come in freely. It also means that there is no security against theft from adjoining bungalows. Somebody could simply walk from his or her roof to yours unimpeded. They left a mattress tipped on one side, which we had to ask them to remove. Yes the staff is nice, but this place is charging rates for a place that does not deserve such prices. If you are fussy (like some members of my family), stay away!

Room Tip: Apparently the rooms (not the bungalows) have screens on the window (so they told me).
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank O M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmorDeMar, Owner at Hotel Amor de Mar, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
Thank you for your response. We are really sorry that you had such a difficult night with mosquitos at our Hotel. We did definitely take responsibility for the fact that there were not enough clips to close the net properly. That oversight got taken care of immediately and according to your own response you were fine the rest of the time. For that reason we gave you a discount of $70 for the first night plus a free breakfast for 4 people the next morning.
Regarding the security of the upstairs room, we'd like to point out that the windows have wooden shutters and can be closed up. However we have never found it necessary to guard against theft from our own guests. This is an intimate and trusting environment.

Kind regards,
Ori Braun
owner of Amor de Mar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, FL
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

I have been visiting Montezuma, Costa Rica every year for more than a decade, and I have always enjoyed staying at Amor de Mar. The grounds and view are magnificent, the hotel is charming and comfortable, and the staff is extremely friendly and helpful. Recently, Ori (the owner) has made some major improvements, and rooms now have air conditioning and new bathrooms. They've even added a new mascot: Solin, the One-Eyed Wonder Dog.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SusanDow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012 via mobile

I will start off by saying, this hotel and it's grounds are VERY beautiful. They have a nice open lobby area that you can sit at whenever you want. But, don't be confused this hotel is on the beach but not a swimming beach. The hotel is surrounded by large rocks, so if you want to swim or just sit on the beach, you have to go down the street. Also, the service was not good at all. I (female) was traveling alone with my two younger daughters. When we got to Costa Rica, we found that our phone did not work! We needed to call tech support, so we asked the caucasian lady with blonde hair if we could use their phone to call the USA for help with our phone. She said no, we even offered to pay and they still refused. This was a safety hazard for us and they did nothing to help.
Also, they charged us for just plain water. every. Single. Time.
Also, water pressure is terrible and sink did not dispense hot water.
In addition to that, the hotel was very noisy! Not only did a small rooster wake us up every morning but many cars and motorcycles zoomed past us several times throughout the night.
I would not reccomend this hotel.

Stayed December 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank girlsontheroad5709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmorDeMar, Owner at Hotel Amor de Mar, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Thank you for your response.
We appreciate that you mentioned our beautiful grounds.

In no way however, have we misrepresented the location of the hotel by making it out to be on a swimming beach. We are right on the ocean, and every picture on our website clearly shows the rocks out front and the tide pool. Swimming beaches are within walking distance on either side.

Since we only have one phone in the hotel we only let customers make short domestic calls. Calls to technical support centers can easily take one hour and so we helped you set up a Skype account. You were able to connect to technical service, but they were not able to fix the problem.

We have a water refill station in the lobby with bottled water. We charge one dollar to refill your water bottle instead of selling you a new one for 2.5$. it helps to reduce the amount of plastic trash that is generated. Maybe you were not aware of the fact that the water we are having there is bottled water??

Apart from that we are doing our best to provide a pleasant and relaxing stay for our guests, but not everything is in our control, like increased traffic during the holidays or roosters in the neighborhood.

King regards
Ori Braun
owner of Hotel Amor de Mar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

What a beautiful place!!! Hotel Amor de Mar on the edge of this small, but quaint town of Montezuma is the place to stay. My wife and I spent 6 nights in this small boutique property, catered to by Ori and her staff of so many. Arturo the amazing bread maker and chef, Ammi the delightful and charming hostess with the biggest smile and overflowing personality , Silvia, Sandy and Coela the front desk staff who were always helpful with suggestions and arranging taxis, yoga sessions, etc.. We awoke each morning to an amazing and different sunrise from our room on the second floor. And since we are early risers, the aroma of the local coffee permeated upwards, and was always ready when we awoke. The smell of Arturo working in the small kitchen, preparing his daily breads was truly a special experience. The late afternoons of relaxing in the many hammocks on the lawn facing the tidepool jetty was extra special. We loved this property, this great experience and would highly recommend to anyone visiting the Nicoya Peninsula of Costa Rica. The owners take great pride in making sure their guests have an amazing stay. Muchas Gracias a Ori and her fantastic staff for making us feel so welcome and well cared for....We loved this little jem of a property.

Room Tip: Room 4 with an amazing balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BradS6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montezuma
1.6 mi away
Hotel El Jardin
Hotel El Jardin
#7 of 19 in Montezuma
4.0 of 5 stars 278 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kalapiti Luxury Jungle Suites
2.3 mi away
Hotel Celaje
Hotel Celaje
#1 of 2 in Cabuya
4.5 of 5 stars 154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#15 of 19 in Montezuma
3.5 of 5 stars 183 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Los Mangos
Hotel Los Mangos
#9 of 19 in Montezuma
3.5 of 5 stars 225 reviews
5.6 mi away
Tango Mar Beachfront Boutique Hotel & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Amor de Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Amor de Mar

Property: Hotel Amor de Mar
Address: Apartado 24 Cobano, Montezuma, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Montezuma
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Montezuma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Amor de Mar is located on the Pacific Ocean next to the river in Montezuma. Planted in a natural paradise, a few miles from the Cabo Blanco National Park. Our hotel offers 9 cozy and individually styled rooms and two beach villas, Casa Luna and Casa Sol, overlooking the Pacific Ocean. All the rooms have A/C, private bathroom with hot water and a some rooms have a mini fridge. The beach villas are fully equipped but NOT A/C. All the rooms and beach villas have a safe deposit box and WiFi is available in the hotel property. The hotel is within a five minute walk from the picturesque beach town of Montezuma at the tip of the Nicoya Peninsula in Costa Rica, Central America. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Amor de Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amor De Mar Puntarenas
Amor De Mar Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing