We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Hotel El Jardin(Montezuma)(Great Value!)
$62
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Aurora(Montezuma)
$44
$30
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Mariposario Montezuma Gardens(Montezuma)(Great Value!)
$50
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$84
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Casacolores(Montezuma)(Great Value!)
$70
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sano Banano Beachside Hotel(Montezuma)(Great Value!)
$50
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$199
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Celaje(Cabuya)(Great Value!)
$60
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Luna Llena Hotel(Montezuma)(Great Value!)
$29
$25
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (450)
Filter reviews
450 results
Traveler rating
287
97
36
20
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
287
97
36
20
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeautiful lawntide poolsdirectly across the streetcosta ricapalm treesthe ownerroom numberminute walkcomfortable chairsmontezuma fallsfirst floormosquito nettingocean frontdirt roadin townair conditioningeach morning
Filter
Updating list...
228 - 233 of 450 reviews
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Located directly in front of the ocean, this hotel is by far the best we've stayed in Costa Rica.
EVERYTHING is very well kept and clean. We loved our house ( LUNA ) and the amazing location * 5 min walk from downtown, grocery store, local beaches etc * Do not hesitate to book this place !!
Yannick

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xchouinx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

We were honeymooning in Montezuma for the majority of our trip and had a private beach front paradise when we stayed in the Casa de Sol. This structure is utterly AMAZING - circular, open air, made of old style wood, porches galore with hammocks, breathtaking views, privacy, and fine touches to decor made for a cozy environment. You could hear the sounds of the ocean from our place and if our place was not cozy enough (which it was!!!) then the grounds around Casa de Sol were open and inviting - hammocks strewn everywhere, soft grass on your bare feet (but watch out for dog poo!), and a special tidal pool for a walk out your door dip. The location is amazing - we rented a car but definitely did not need it (unless we did away from town trips). Hotel Amor de Mar is out of town, right by the Montezuma waterfall, but very much so within walking distance of restaurants, grocery, and sandy beach swimming. The staff was very friendly and helpful and gave us some "local" advice. We paid a pretty little penny for this place but it was well worth it. The breakfasts are expensive as well but very delicious. The only other con that we found is that you can hear and smell the sounds of the road - but all the other stuff far outweighed these things.

Room Tip: We did not stay in any of the rooms but the Casa de Sol is PERFECT if you want privacy, a kitchen to prepare your own foods. We felt like royalty . . . its even better than the other house because its at the end of the property.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Penelope P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2012

we started visiting montezuma in 2001 with friends, we stayed at amor then and have chosen to book amor every time we've gone back, they really add the right touches to the property. they are located right on the "beach", it's actually lava rock with really cool tide pools, awesome water falls within walking distance, great town with awesome food and a level of rustic charm that hopefully never be ruined by real estate people. the rooms have ac if you want, ample choices for people that want to share a room, clean with great ocean view. REMEMBER, this is a rustic town on the edge of a jungle so if you are into the big resort with a pool and room service, do these nice people a favor and stay in the u.s. or europe instead. they do an awesome job here getting you comfortable in the middle of nature. we love it there, when i took a friend there a couple of years ago, they took one look around and said "score!"

Room Tip: all rooms are good, just depends on wether you want ac, a view etc, they are good at accommodating.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnfmclaughlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

Pros:
• Grounds are nicely kept
• Room number 5 is big, lots of windows, private porch, good and quiet A/C , small fridge, reasonable beds and pillows.
• Attentive and helpful staff.
• The restaurant serves very nice breakfast (food and drinks) from 0700-1200 and then it is closes but available for seating and eating your own food.
• The hotel is very close to the main “village” and the famous waterfall.
Cons:
• Washroom is divided from the main room by a curtain made out of fabric. This doesn’t provide any physical nor acoustical separation. For a family, this was really awkward.
• The fabric curtain smells really bad. This is neither logical nor wise to use fabric in washrooms that (obviously) produce smells and showers that produce moist. Especially in the tropical that always has a high humidity environment.
• The shower is tiny. The plastic shower curtain sticks to your body every time you move. Quite disgusting.
• The hotel does not provide hair dryer, nor shampoo or conditioner. Bring your own.
• In room # 5, which suppose to be the best, half of the (renowned) ocean view is distracted by the not very aesthetic roofing of the seating area. Not very romantic.
• Sitting at the “private” balcony, we found out that the balcony is actually exposed into the common seating enabling people to see us using the balcony. Needless to say that we didn’t use the “private” balcony.
• Seating in the garden for some ocean view didn’t turn out to be nice neither. The chairs are out in the sun (no shade) and the view of the ocean is blocked by cactuses. The logic behind planting big cactuses at the edge of the garden blocking the view of the ocean just blows our mind. Why would you do this? No wonder the seating area was always empty.
• By far, our biggest problem was that the bathroom has all mould everywhere. This is a real life hazards. People should be aware of this issue before staying there. Especially if you come with little children.

In summary: out of the three weeks vacation in Costa Rica this hotel was the worst.
We would NOT recommend staying in this hotel. Either find a different hotel or just don’t come to Montezuma.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank The_Real_Holy_Moses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmorDeMar, Owner at Hotel Amor de Mar, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2012

I would like to mention here that before this review was posted, this guest already had written to us with her complaints requesting a full refund which we denied. They stayed here for three nights without mentioning any of the above . We asked frequently if everything was alright, to which the response was positive. It is puzzling that anyone would stay in a place that is such a "health hazard", without saying anything, but instead go home and request a refund.

We never charge a guest in advance, and we never hold someone to their reservation if the room is not up to par upon arrival. In fact, we offer upgrades frequently when available.

I will not contest the opinions about the view, the placing of the cactuses and the aesthetics of the property, this is up to our past and future guests to judge, and everyone has different tastes. Until now, we have only had praise.

In regards to the mold mentioned in the bathroom and the shower's size, we have daily housekeeping, and all the walls are scrubbed down. I have personally inspected this claim and found it to be false. I am also taking this opportunity to announce that we are currently under remodeling and each bathroom is being made bigger, and will have doors.

A hair-dryer is also available - if asked for.

While all complaints are taken seriously, I am also concerned that this review is a result of this guest's denied refund request. We have never had this kind of demand, and especially not after the guest has already left and paid upon check out.

Regards,
Ori Braun
Owner, Hotel Amor de Mar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2012

We loved our too brief stay at Amor de Mar. The setting is exquisite, with a lush, beautiful lawn, bordered by rich, tropical flowers, gently sloping down to the ocean. The room was very nice, clean and convenient. I was somewhat incapacitated from a fall I had taken earlier on our trip but the hammocks provided some wonderful places for me to rest and read. The staff was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ric S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews