We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Hotel El Jardin(Montezuma)(Great Value!)
$62
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Aurora(Montezuma)
$44
$30
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Mariposario Montezuma Gardens(Montezuma)(Great Value!)
$50
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$84
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Casacolores(Montezuma)(Great Value!)
$70
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$199
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Celaje(Cabuya)(Great Value!)
$75
$60
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Howler Monkey Hotel(Cabuya)(Great Value!)
$45
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Luna Llena Hotel(Montezuma)(Great Value!)
$29
$25
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (450)
Filter reviews
450 results
Traveler rating
287
97
36
20
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
287
97
36
20
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeautiful lawntide poolsdirectly across the streetcosta ricapalm treesthe ownerroom numberminute walkcomfortable chairsmontezuma fallsfirst floormosquito nettingocean frontdirt roadin townair conditioningeach morning
Filter
Updating list...
231 - 236 of 450 reviews
Reviewed September 6, 2012

Pros:
• Grounds are nicely kept
• Room number 5 is big, lots of windows, private porch, good and quiet A/C , small fridge, reasonable beds and pillows.
• Attentive and helpful staff.
• The restaurant serves very nice breakfast (food and drinks) from 0700-1200 and then it is closes but available for seating and eating your own food.
• The hotel is very close to the main “village” and the famous waterfall.
Cons:
• Washroom is divided from the main room by a curtain made out of fabric. This doesn’t provide any physical nor acoustical separation. For a family, this was really awkward.
• The fabric curtain smells really bad. This is neither logical nor wise to use fabric in washrooms that (obviously) produce smells and showers that produce moist. Especially in the tropical that always has a high humidity environment.
• The shower is tiny. The plastic shower curtain sticks to your body every time you move. Quite disgusting.
• The hotel does not provide hair dryer, nor shampoo or conditioner. Bring your own.
• In room # 5, which suppose to be the best, half of the (renowned) ocean view is distracted by the not very aesthetic roofing of the seating area. Not very romantic.
• Sitting at the “private” balcony, we found out that the balcony is actually exposed into the common seating enabling people to see us using the balcony. Needless to say that we didn’t use the “private” balcony.
• Seating in the garden for some ocean view didn’t turn out to be nice neither. The chairs are out in the sun (no shade) and the view of the ocean is blocked by cactuses. The logic behind planting big cactuses at the edge of the garden blocking the view of the ocean just blows our mind. Why would you do this? No wonder the seating area was always empty.
• By far, our biggest problem was that the bathroom has all mould everywhere. This is a real life hazards. People should be aware of this issue before staying there. Especially if you come with little children.

In summary: out of the three weeks vacation in Costa Rica this hotel was the worst.
We would NOT recommend staying in this hotel. Either find a different hotel or just don’t come to Montezuma.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank The_Real_Holy_Moses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmorDeMar, Owner at Hotel Amor de Mar, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2012

I would like to mention here that before this review was posted, this guest already had written to us with her complaints requesting a full refund which we denied. They stayed here for three nights without mentioning any of the above . We asked frequently if everything was alright, to which the response was positive. It is puzzling that anyone would stay in a place that is such a "health hazard", without saying anything, but instead go home and request a refund.

We never charge a guest in advance, and we never hold someone to their reservation if the room is not up to par upon arrival. In fact, we offer upgrades frequently when available.

I will not contest the opinions about the view, the placing of the cactuses and the aesthetics of the property, this is up to our past and future guests to judge, and everyone has different tastes. Until now, we have only had praise.

In regards to the mold mentioned in the bathroom and the shower's size, we have daily housekeeping, and all the walls are scrubbed down. I have personally inspected this claim and found it to be false. I am also taking this opportunity to announce that we are currently under remodeling and each bathroom is being made bigger, and will have doors.

A hair-dryer is also available - if asked for.

While all complaints are taken seriously, I am also concerned that this review is a result of this guest's denied refund request. We have never had this kind of demand, and especially not after the guest has already left and paid upon check out.

Regards,
Ori Braun
Owner, Hotel Amor de Mar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2012

We loved our too brief stay at Amor de Mar. The setting is exquisite, with a lush, beautiful lawn, bordered by rich, tropical flowers, gently sloping down to the ocean. The room was very nice, clean and convenient. I was somewhat incapacitated from a fall I had taken earlier on our trip but the hammocks provided some wonderful places for me to rest and read. The staff was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ric S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Amor De Mar Hotel in Montezuma, Costa Rica was a delightful place. The Bay in front and the verdant grass between the hotel and the water with its hammocks and beautiful views of the Ocean. It is more like a cozy little Inn rather than a hotel, where children were welcome and adults were comfortable sitting on the veranda or in the hammocks on the green grass, listening to the lapping of the waves!

Room Tip: Bottom floor was quiet but also closest to the water. Nice German family owns the hotel. The juices were delicious. The little village of Montezuma was cute and at one of the cafes in town they feed the monkeys bananas so they come down from the trees and put on quite a funny show for the customers! The monkeys delight the children at the cafe and mommy monkeys come with their babies on their backs. We took our grandsons and they loved this hotel and the town itself.
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ElisaGermon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We stayed here three nights and absolutely loved it. It was so beautiful - you could walk our of your room and be right on the ocean, pick any hammock you liked and watch the waves - it was hard to leave. Breakfasts were good and served in the most gorgeous setting. The hotel is filled with beautiful wood, flowers and lights. The staff were all warm and very accommodating. If you're looking for a stunning setting on the ocean, stay here.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rebeccaloewen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights, and LOVED it. The location was great (a short walk into town, and right across the street from the Montezuma Falls trailhead). We had room #5, which had a fantastic view of the ocean.

The staff were all extremely friendly and helpful, the food (breakfast) was absolutely delicious, the rooms were great, and the grounds were spectacular. Even their dog hosts were super great! During our breakfasts, we were also greeted by exotic birds, and roosters on the grounds, which was fun. They have a number of chairs and hammocks on the sprawling patch of grass overlooking the ocean which provide a perfect backdrop for napping or reading a book. I didn't see any other property in Montezuma quite like this. We would definitely be interested in coming back - either to stay in #5 again or maybe check out one of the Casitas which look super awesome!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AdventureKate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews