We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not only overrated but health hazard as well”
Review of Hotel Amor de Mar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Amor de Mar
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Montezuma
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 6, 2012

Pros:
• Grounds are nicely kept
• Room number 5 is big, lots of windows, private porch, good and quiet A/C , small fridge, reasonable beds and pillows.
• Attentive and helpful staff.
• The restaurant serves very nice breakfast (food and drinks) from 0700-1200 and then it is closes but available for seating and eating your own food.
• The hotel is very close to the main “village” and the famous waterfall.
Cons:
• Washroom is divided from the main room by a curtain made out of fabric. This doesn’t provide any physical nor acoustical separation. For a family, this was really awkward.
• The fabric curtain smells really bad. This is neither logical nor wise to use fabric in washrooms that (obviously) produce smells and showers that produce moist. Especially in the tropical that always has a high humidity environment.
• The shower is tiny. The plastic shower curtain sticks to your body every time you move. Quite disgusting.
• The hotel does not provide hair dryer, nor shampoo or conditioner. Bring your own.
• In room # 5, which suppose to be the best, half of the (renowned) ocean view is distracted by the not very aesthetic roofing of the seating area. Not very romantic.
• Sitting at the “private” balcony, we found out that the balcony is actually exposed into the common seating enabling people to see us using the balcony. Needless to say that we didn’t use the “private” balcony.
• Seating in the garden for some ocean view didn’t turn out to be nice neither. The chairs are out in the sun (no shade) and the view of the ocean is blocked by cactuses. The logic behind planting big cactuses at the edge of the garden blocking the view of the ocean just blows our mind. Why would you do this? No wonder the seating area was always empty.
• By far, our biggest problem was that the bathroom has all mould everywhere. This is a real life hazards. People should be aware of this issue before staying there. Especially if you come with little children.

In summary: out of the three weeks vacation in Costa Rica this hotel was the worst.
We would NOT recommend staying in this hotel. Either find a different hotel or just don’t come to Montezuma.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank The_Real_Holy_Moses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmorDeMar, Owner at Hotel Amor de Mar, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2012

I would like to mention here that before this review was posted, this guest already had written to us with her complaints requesting a full refund which we denied. They stayed here for three nights without mentioning any of the above . We asked frequently if everything was alright, to which the response was positive. It is puzzling that anyone would stay in a place that is such a "health hazard", without saying anything, but instead go home and request a refund.

We never charge a guest in advance, and we never hold someone to their reservation if the room is not up to par upon arrival. In fact, we offer upgrades frequently when available.

I will not contest the opinions about the view, the placing of the cactuses and the aesthetics of the property, this is up to our past and future guests to judge, and everyone has different tastes. Until now, we have only had praise.

In regards to the mold mentioned in the bathroom and the shower's size, we have daily housekeeping, and all the walls are scrubbed down. I have personally inspected this claim and found it to be false. I am also taking this opportunity to announce that we are currently under remodeling and each bathroom is being made bigger, and will have doors.

A hair-dryer is also available - if asked for.

While all complaints are taken seriously, I am also concerned that this review is a result of this guest's denied refund request. We have never had this kind of demand, and especially not after the guest has already left and paid upon check out.

Regards,
Ori Braun
Owner, Hotel Amor de Mar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (418)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Amor de Mar
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

214 - 220 of 418 reviews

Reviewed September 1, 2012

We loved our too brief stay at Amor de Mar. The setting is exquisite, with a lush, beautiful lawn, bordered by rich, tropical flowers, gently sloping down to the ocean. The room was very nice, clean and convenient. I was somewhat incapacitated from a fall I had taken earlier on our trip but the hammocks provided some wonderful places for me to rest and read. The staff was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ric S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Amor De Mar Hotel in Montezuma, Costa Rica was a delightful place. The Bay in front and the verdant grass between the hotel and the water with its hammocks and beautiful views of the Ocean. It is more like a cozy little Inn rather than a hotel, where children were welcome and adults were comfortable sitting on the veranda or in the hammocks on the green grass, listening to the lapping of the waves!

Room Tip: Bottom floor was quiet but also closest to the water. Nice German family owns the hotel. The juices...
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ElisaGermon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We stayed here three nights and absolutely loved it. It was so beautiful - you could walk our of your room and be right on the ocean, pick any hammock you liked and watch the waves - it was hard to leave. Breakfasts were good and served in the most gorgeous setting. The hotel is filled with beautiful wood, flowers and lights. The staff were all warm and very accommodating. If you're looking for a stunning setting on the ocean, stay here.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rebeccaloewen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights, and LOVED it. The location was great (a short walk into town, and right across the street from the Montezuma Falls trailhead). We had room #5, which had a fantastic view of the ocean.

The staff were all extremely friendly and helpful, the food (breakfast) was absolutely delicious, the rooms were great, and the grounds were spectacular. Even their dog hosts were super great! During our breakfasts, we were also greeted by exotic birds, and roosters on the grounds, which was fun. They have a number of chairs and hammocks on the sprawling patch of grass overlooking the ocean which provide a perfect backdrop for napping or reading a book. I didn't see any other property in Montezuma quite like this. We would definitely be interested in coming back - either to stay in #5 again or maybe check out one of the Casitas which look super awesome!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AdventureKate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2012

The best spot in Montezuma, just on the outskirts of the small town making it nice and quiet at the late night. Amor de Mar has a magnificent natural laguna by the sea, perfect for early morning or evening dips. Breakfast is great and will advice you to taste the great fruit juices. Only 20 minutes from the hotel you will find several waterfalls just waiting to be tried. Service was great, and that is said even being in a place were most people are really forthcoming. Strong recommendation for Amor de Mar! Be ready to pay a bit more than other hotels in Montezuma, but still very reasonable and well worth the money

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tobago J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

I travelled to Montezuma two years ago and remember walking by this property and checking it out and I was amazed by the peacefulness of it. A large lawn with chairs hammocks and benches right on the ocean. Quiet and Peaceful and just a short walking distance to town. This trip I stayed there for a week and couldn't have been more pleased! The staff is amazing Ammie, Corrina, Sylvia, John Carlo and the Owner was there the week we stayed and personally gave us a ride into town to catch the boat to Jaco when we were leaving. The breakfast was the most delicious in Montezuma the eggs were from fresh chickens and you could taste the difference. The staff was like a family and ate together before all the guests awoke. Charming and peacefulwith a security guard at night. And when you wake to the view you are right on the Pacific overlooking the beauty that is Costa Rica. Iquanas and herons strutting across the lawn, a view of families fishing on a beautiful day, maps of the peninsula, bird and animal charts and a short walk into town past Montezuma Yoga studio where you can take daily classes or head into town and sign up for daily tours ATV rides to Cabuya or MalPais for a day or half day, horseback ride to waterfalls or full moon rides at night, snorkel and hike out at Tortuga Island an hour boat ride north. And there is a waterfall hike that begins right in front of the hotel ask for Sam if he is there that day he will guide you to the top safely and show you how to dive in and use the rope swing on the upper level.

I can't say enough good things. It was hard to leave Montezuma this trip.

WE toured the houses Casa Sol and Casa Luna. AMAZING deal for family and friends.

Pura Vida!! Tina

Room Tip: We stayed in room #9 two big queen beds for $80 a night and then moved to room #2 for $65. There wa...
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montezuma
0.3 mi away
Hotel El Jardin
Hotel El Jardin
#6 of 18 in Montezuma
329 reviews
2.1 mi away
Kalapiti Luxury Jungle Suites
3.2 mi away
Hotel Celaje
Hotel Celaje
#1 of 2 in Cabuya
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Tango Mar Beachfront Boutique Hotel & Villas
0.3 mi away
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#15 of 18 in Montezuma
210 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Los Mangos
Hotel Los Mangos
#12 of 18 in Montezuma
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Amor de Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Amor de Mar

Address: Apartado 24 Cobano, Montezuma, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Montezuma
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Montezuma
Price Range: $65 - $166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Amor de Mar is located on the Pacific Ocean next to the river in Montezuma. Planted in a natural paradise, a few miles from the Cabo Blanco National Park. Our hotel offers 9 cozy and individually styled rooms and two beach villas, Casa Luna and Casa Sol, overlooking the Pacific Ocean. All the rooms have A/C, private bathroom with hot water and a some rooms have a mini fridge. The beach villas are fully equipped but NOT A/C. All the rooms and beach villas have a safe deposit box and WiFi is available in the hotel property. The hotel is within a five minute walk from the picturesque beach town of Montezuma at the tip of the Nicoya Peninsula in Costa Rica, Central America. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Amor de Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amor De Mar Puntarenas
Amor De Mar Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing