We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Amor de Mar
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Hotel La Cascada(Montezuma)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Lucy(Montezuma)
View Hotel
  • Free Internet
Hotel Los Mangos(Montezuma)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Moctezuma(Montezuma)
View Hotel
  • Beachfront
  • Free Internet
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel El Jardin(Montezuma)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Aurora(Montezuma)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Hotel El Tajalin(Montezuma)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (447)
Filter reviews
447 results
Traveler rating
286
97
36
18
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
286
97
36
18
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeautiful lawntide poolsthe ownercosta ricadirectly across the streetpalm treesnatural woodocean frontroom numberminute walkmontezuma fallsmontezuma yogain townfirst floorhuevos rancherosmosquito nettingdirt road
Filter
Updating list...
246 - 251 of 447 reviews
Reviewed May 23, 2012

Room #5 is amazing! A little touch of luxury while you swing on the hammocks or enjoy the comfy chairs. Beautiful view and the hosts were sweet and helpful. Be sure to have the Sunday brunch. Many of the locals come on Sunday to join the brunch and they have the right idea. The hosts were quite to organize extras such as taxis from airport, recommend beaches and suggest amazing restaurants (Artisan is a must dine).

Highly recommend!

Room Tip: Go for room #5. A real step up in terms of size and view compared to the rest.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trudi J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2012

The hotel is on a gorgeous piece of land right on the ocean. The view from room #5 could not be beat. The back lawn looking onto the ocean is great for reading and relaxing. The tide pools were fun and a nice respite from the heat. Although the hotel is about a 5 minute walk to "downtown", it is still in a great location being right near the famed waterfalls, and many excellent, secluded beaches.

Room Tip: Stay in room 5, it's worth the extra $.
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bcbeachheads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2012

I stayed here for 4 nights in April, and loved every second of it. My first trip to Costa Rica, my first hotel - single woman travelling solo, no car. Amor de Mar exceeded my expectations - the owner and staff are wonderful, friendly and make you feel at home; the hotel itself is gorgeous, beautiful wood porches, comfortable beds, incredible views, (safes and refrig in room) and so many places to relax (hammocks/benches/lounge chairs/your porch/the breakfast area. (loved room 6 and 9) I watched the sun rise two mornings by the ocean, grabbing a cup of the early brewing coffee as I walked down the lawn to watch the sun rise in a hammock. The breakfasts are delicious - fresh fruit/home baked bread and jams, etc. Amor is across the street from a short hike to a wonderful waterfall, and a five minute walk up the dirt road to Montezuma Yoga (terrific). Playa des Artistes and Cocolories delicious restaurants - just a walk away. ziplining and other activities nearby. A great lagoon hidden by the rocks for a swim in the ocean. Amor de Mar is a very special place -- they make you feel very at home (and safe) -- and like you don't want to leave... Pura Vida!

Room Tip: Room 6 was beautiful. No AC but a good fan. Room 9 also lovely.
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ECTravelor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2012

We stayed here for two nights on our trip to Costa Rica. The hotel is just beautiful and the grounds are meticulously kept. We stayed in rooms 5 and 6. They were both beautiful. Room 5 did not have air conditioning, but it had screens all across the back of the room for great views. The hotel was right next to a waterfall that we hiked up to. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We realized late the second night that we would have to leave at about 4:30 the next morning to make the first ferry back to Puntarenas. The security guard was very helpful and called Ammi to make sure it would be okay to leave our keys with him. This was our most expensive room in Costa Rica and there were other places in Montezuma that were nice and cheaper. This hotel just had a great atmosphere. I would recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: Get a room with an ocean view on the top floor.
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kime1664
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2012

This hotel was one of the better ones that we stayed during our 2 week trip around Costa Rica. Good job it was as it was also the most expensive! The rooms were lovely, clean and well kept. The staff were friendly and the grounds of the hotel were absolutely stunning. Could very happily while away an afternoon in a hammock!
The only downside of this hotel was that you had to pay extra for everything on top of your room. Breakfast was not included (which we found strange for a higher rate hotel), they would charge you extra each time you fill your water bottle and it was the only place that tax was not included in the price of the room.
This was the only downside to a lovely 3 night stay on the Pacific coast.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Phillipsrp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews