We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Amor de Mar- loved!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Amor de Mar

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Amor de Mar
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Montezuma
Certificate of Excellence
NY
Level Contributor
36 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Amor de Mar- loved!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2008

Just returned from Amor de Mar, and enjoyed my stay immensely. The grounds are beautiful, and the hammocks are just the perfect way to relax. There is a small tide pool right off the hotel grounds that's a great way to cool off. The rooms are simple, and rustic-similar to sleepaway camp, but hopefully you won't be in there too often. The hotel is not in the center of town, but about a 7-min. walk (either on the beach or street). It's right across from the waterfalls. Highly recommend it!

  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank gidget2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    228
    82
    31
    11
    8
See reviews for
47
197
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Livermore, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2008

Montezuma was a very quant town with a relaxed tempo!

The houses we rented were SO Unique and comfortable with increadible views/sounds of the ocean. The kids and adults loved the hammocks, for very different purposes but all enjoyed!

The tidepools within 20 feet of the proprety were great fun. Go through town towards the Llang Llang for playing in the warm ocean water as the beaches are very nice up that way.

The hotel resteraunt served breakfast and lunch and was very good. Carla was the best of Hostesses!

The moon light horse back ride to the waterfalls was AWESOME! If you like riding horses (I use to own/compete horses) I can tell you this is your BEST opportunity for a great ride, view etc. etc.

We also enjoyed boating to the island for snorkling, it was very touristy but we still had a great time.

  • Liked — Unique Casas' located on the Ocean!
  • Disliked — A scorpion in our bed.
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 4FunTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2007

Everything about this place is AMAZING! The setting is gorgeous: there's a green sloping lawn that meets the ocean, jungle and waterfalls across the street, natural tidepools to explore and take a dip in, and hammocks galore to relax in just to mention a few. It's also just about a 5 minute walk to town, so close enough to get there easily on foot but far enough away to avoid the noise of Montezuma's main strip.

The actual building is quite unique with handcrafted dark wood throughout, an open air feeling, spacious and clean rooms, and extremely friendly staff. We stayed in room #5 and it was everything we were looking for and as a bonus had a beautiful private balcony overlooking the ocean. Our friends stayed in the Casa Luna and it was by far the most amazing house I'd ever stepped foot in. Spectacular accomodations!

Breakfast was delicious (not included in price) as well. I'd recommend the banana pancakes and the watermelon juice! All in all, I can't think of one thing that went wrong while we stayed here. It was the perfect beginning to our first visit to Costa Rica and I can guarantee that we'll be staying at Amor De Mar in the future. If you're looking for a spectacular place to stay in Montezuma be sure to check this place out.

  • Liked — The beautiful setting, access to jungle & waterfalls, close to town, breakfast, unique rooms
  • Disliked — Nothing! Everything was fabulous!
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank padros4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2007

Overall: We really enjoyed our stay at Amor de Mar and in Montezuma. So much so that we regretted going to Mal Pais (which severely lacked in convenience, access, and activities compared to Montezuma - the sunsets were nice though). If we were to go back we would stay in Amore de Mar and also try out the Ylang Ylang resort.

Property: The property has a beautiful green lawn, nice wood building, and an awesome reef with little safe tidal pools that you can take a dip in. It is located within walking distance to the town which was nice as we wanted to stay away from the noise. It surpassed my expectations.

Room: Very clean and had a easy to use safe. Plenty of room and was quiet on the ocean side of the building, We had a nice private deck/veranda which was a great place to have a drink as the sun went down (behind us, but still nice), We had a refrigerator in the room which was nice as well.

Food: They offer ala carte breakfast which was really good. Homemade bread and jams. Probably the best option in terms of quality and cost.

Service: Management was very helpful with setting up transfers and getting in contact with our next destination. They definitely went above and beyond which was very much appreciated.

Negatives: As a conservation type, it did seem like they watered the lawn all day. Not that that is really a negative, more a pet peave.

  • Stayed November 2007
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NBM_Seattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2007

the locations of this lovely hotel is perfect- a 5 minute walk from Montezuma's city center- you are away from all the noise yet near by if you would like going out at night for dinner and drinks. We had to extend our stay in Montezuma because we were having such a great time!!
The hotel is located right on the ocean front, Only breakfast is served downstairs but it's homemade and tasty (ocean view is served with your breakfast too). The owner, Ori, is originally from Germany but lived int he States and speaks English well. Ori and the staff were very friendly and helpful! The rooms are clean and spacious. The location of the hotel and the ocean view are the real treat though!
Check out the hotel: [--]

  • Liked — Location and the ocean view!
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveler4mSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2007

I was supposed to stay there 2 nights but left after the first.
We stayed in a room on the 2nd floor by t he stairs which actually did not have windows s imply mosquito nets. This made it very noisy as eveytime guests came in, talked in the main area, workers were cleanign at 5am or the phone rang, it would wake me up. What a horrible night.

When we took the room, I did not realize the bathroom was outside. I did not even shower that's how dirty it was.
The room itself is really dark and unfriendly.

The outside and the dinning area is actually very nice and enjoyable. The breakfast is very good but we were told twice that it was included in the price but then had to pay $8/pp for it and when you pay with a credit card they add something loke 10% on top of your bill. Whish I had known!
Will definately never go back.

  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vouvoune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas Native
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2007

My wife and I stayed at the Amor de Mar from June 4th-8th '07. From the moment we arrived I knew it would be a trip to remember. Our room was spectacular. We stayed in the Casa Luna, which has enough room to house 10 guests. It had a full kitchen which was a nice ammenity. Natural wood decor and exotic flowers throughout the whole place, provided a warm ambiance. The breakfast is all natural and it is the best in Montezuma! The staff are very courteous and willing to help you anytime. It was very peaceful and quiet, the perfect place for our honeymoon. The Amor de Mar sits right on the beach, but it is not ideal if you are looking to lay in the sand. You will have to travel a little bit down the road to find a good sandy area. The shores are rocky and the surf is a bit strong, so caution should be taken. I recommend surfer shoes to protect your feet, which can be purchased in Montezuma. The town of Montezuma has a wonderful array of shops to satisfy a shoppers appetite. If you are hungry I recommend the Italian restaurant at the corner or Pizza Net. Cocolores is one of the best places to eat, a definate stop for nice dinner. There are plenty of places to get drinks too.

Overall Amor de Mar is the perfect place to get away from the fast paced life, a place where time is a thing of the past. A place to relax and enjoy nature at its best.

We loved the Amor de Mar and hope you enjoy your stay there too.

The Bernals

  • Liked — Natural setting- exotic flowers, attention to detail
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank jdbernal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montezuma
0.3 mi away
Hotel El Jardin
Hotel El Jardin
#6 of 19 in Montezuma
4.0 of 5 stars 287 reviews
1.3 mi away
Kalapiti Luxury Jungle Suites
1.9 mi away
Hotel Celaje
Hotel Celaje
#1 of 2 in Cabuya
4.5 of 5 stars 157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#13 of 19 in Montezuma
3.5 of 5 stars 191 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Los Mangos
Hotel Los Mangos
#10 of 19 in Montezuma
3.5 of 5 stars 228 reviews
4.4 mi away
Tango Mar Beachfront Boutique Hotel & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Amor de Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Amor de Mar

Property: Hotel Amor de Mar
Address: Apartado 24 Cobano, Montezuma, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Montezuma
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Montezuma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Amor de Mar is located on the Pacific Ocean next to the river in Montezuma. Planted in a natural paradise, a few miles from the Cabo Blanco National Park. Our hotel offers 9 cozy and individually styled rooms and two beach villas, Casa Luna and Casa Sol, overlooking the Pacific Ocean. All the rooms have A/C, private bathroom with hot water and a some rooms have a mini fridge. The beach villas are fully equipped but NOT A/C. All the rooms and beach villas have a safe deposit box and WiFi is available in the hotel property. The hotel is within a five minute walk from the picturesque beach town of Montezuma at the tip of the Nicoya Peninsula in Costa Rica, Central America. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Amor de Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amor De Mar Puntarenas
Amor De Mar Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing